go to UNSW home page
UNSW logo UNSW Library Website Banner Picture

Contacts | Help
  
UNSW Library
Subject Guides
 
Art & Design
Arts & Social Sciences
Built Environment
Commerce & Economics
Engineering
Law
Medicine
Science
Subject Guides

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Health Subject Guide

Key Resources | Databases | Journals | Reference Resources | Internet Links


Australian Links

Aboriginal Health Au
  It also includes MedicineAu which maintains a mailing list devoted to clinical issues, including aboriginal health
Aboriginal Studies WWW Virtual Library 
  An internet guide to aboriginal studies
Aboriginal & Torres Strait Islander Rural Health Workforce 
  It aims to improve the access of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples to comprehensive primary health care services by providing coordinated clinical care, population health and health promotion activities to facilitate illness prevention, early intervention and effective disease management
Australian Government. Department of Health and Ageing - Indigenous Health
Indigenous health site from the Federal Department of Health and Ageing.
  It aims to contribute to improving the health of Australia's Indigenous people by making relevant, high quality knowledge and information easily accessible. It covers a wide range of issues of relevance to Indigenous health, many of which lie outside the direct responsibility of the health sector. These include cultural, social, historical and economic issues, as well as those relating to the physical environment.
Australian Institute of Health and Welfare 
  Health and welfare statistics and information
ATSIC - Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Commission (in the Pandora Archive)
  ATSIC, the Australian national policymaking and advocacy organisation for indigenous people has now been disbanded. This site has been archived in the Pandora Archive since Jan 2006.
  Source of information on patterns of health and illness, determinants of health, the supply and use of health services, and health services expenditure
Centre for Health Equity Training Research and Evaluation 
The UNSW Centre for Health Equity Training Research and Evaluation (CHETRE) aims to provide leadership and focus in training, research and evaluation in the area of health equity. One of their areas of work is Aboriginal Health.
Aboriginal Health publications, Northern Territory Government
A collection of electronic resources published by the Department of Health and Community Services, Northern Territory Government. It includes the Aboriginal Health and Families - A Five Year Framework for Action and Health Education Resource Database etc.
 
Produced by the Australian Institute of Health and Welfare, focuses on the health of Australians living in rural and remote areas 1998
Kimberley Aboriginal Medical Services Council
 
A health resource body for independent Aboriginal community owned health services
  The national peak Aboriginal health body
National Rural Health Conferences
  It contains 2003, 2005 and 2007 Conference Program records and infromation of the forthcoming conference in 2009.
NSW Health Department
Aboriginal Health concerns - pages from the NSW Health Department website
Office of Indigenous Policy Coordination (OIPC)
Part of the Australian Government Department of Families, Community Services and Indigenous Affairs, the OIPC coordinates programmes and services for Indigenous Australians.
 
Royal Australian Colleage of General Pratitioners (RACGP) works in partnership with NACCHO and the Australian Indigenous Doctors’ Association (AIDA) to support a range of activities in Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander health.

International Links

Center for World Indigenous Studies (US)
The Center for World Indigenous Studies (CWIS) is an independent, non-profit research and education organization dedicated to wider understanding and appreciation of the ideas and knowledge of indigenous peoples and the social, economic and political realities of indigenous nations.
Information Centre on Aboriginal Health (ICAH, Canada)
ICAH is a central database of Aboriginal health information, including bibliographic and Web-based resources, programs and services, health careers, and scholarships and bursaries, provided by the National Aboriginal Health Organization, Canada.
National Literacy and Health Program (NLHP, Canada)
  NLHP, supported by the Canadian Public Health Association (CPHA), promotes awareness among health professionals of the links between literacy and health. NLHP had organised the Second Canadian Conference on Literacy and Health  in October 2004.