go to UNSW home page
UNSW logo UNSW Library Website Banner Picture

Contacts | Help
  
UNSW Library
Subject Guides
 
Art & Design
Arts & Social Sciences
Built Environment
Commerce & Economics
Engineering
Law
Medicine
Science
Subject Guides

Mortar and Pestle
Complementary and Alternative Medicine Subject Guide


 

Key Resources

Medline
[Database]   The MEDLINE database (produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine) is widely recognized as the premier source for bibliographic and abstract coverage of biomedical literature.   
Online tutorials for Medline are also available.
Global Health
[Database]   Global Health, published by CAB International, brings together the resources of two international databases - the Public Health and Tropical Medicine (PHTM) database, previously produced by the Bureau of Hygiene and Tropical Diseases (BHTD), and the human health and diseases information extracted from CAB ABSTRACTS. The Global Health database provides deep subject coverage of information related to human health and communicable diseases. 1973+
MedlinePlus - Alternative Medicine
[Web gateway]   MedlinePlus provides good health information from the world's largest medical library, the U.S. National Library of Medicine. Health professionals and consumers alike can depend on it for information that is authoritative and up to date.
Journal of Alternative and Complementary Medicine
[E-journal]  available online from Vol. 7, issue 1 2001-
Alternative Therapies in Health and Medicine
[E-journal]  available online from Vol 4, issue 6 1998
BMC Journal of Complementary and Alternative Medicine
[E-journal]  Open Access E-journal available through Biomed Central
TGA - Therapeutic Goods Adminsitration - Complementary Medicines
[Website]  The TGA's Complementary Medicines page provides information about legislation, guidelines, international agreements and consultation documents relevant to the practice of complementary and alternative medicine in Australia.
Traditional Medicine and Complementary / Alternative Medicine Guidelines / Reviews
[Website]  Links to international guidelines and reviews for alternative therapies collated by the Geneva Foundation for Medical Education and Research.
Australasian Integrative Medicine Association
[Website]  AIMA is the peak medical body that promotes the integration of holistic and complementary medicine with current mainstream medical practice.

Related Subject Guides