go to UNSW home page
UNSW logo UNSW Library Website Banner Picture

Contacts | Help
  
UNSW Library
Subject Guides
 
Art & Design
Arts & Social Sciences
Built Environment
Commerce & Economics
Engineering
Law
Medicine
Science
Subject Guides

Mortar and pestle
Complementary and Alternative Medicine Subject Guide


 

Internet Links

The Alternative Medicine Homepage Internet Resources
This list of alternative medicine resources is created and maintained by Charles B. Wessel a medical librarian, Health Sciences Library System, University of Pittsburgh.
BBC Health Complementary Medicine
The BBC's guide to Complementary Medicine is aimed at a general audience. It provides information about ailments and complementary therapies and remedies as well as links to useful web sites.
Committee on Chinese Medicine and Pharmacy
This committee is part of the Department of Health in Taiwan. The Committee's web page includes a news page, links to Chinese Medical Associations, traditional pharmaceutical companies and associations as well as to abstracts and laws and regulations. 
HealthWeb Alternative Medicine
HealthWeb is a collaborative project of the health sciences libraries of the Greater Midwest Region(GMR) of the National Network of Libraries of Medicine (NN/LM) and those of the Committee for Institutional Cooperation. Currently there are over twenty actively participating member libraries.
HealthInsite - Complementary and Alternative Therapies
A Commonwealth Government of Australia initiative which aims to provide access to quality information about human health.
Internet Directory for Botany
The Internet Directory of Botany is an index to botanical information available on the Internet. Search using the terms economic botany,  ethnobotany and medicine.
MedWatch: the FDA Safety Information and Adverse Event Reporting Program (US)
It provides safety information on drugs and other medical products regulated by the U.S. Food and Drug Administration. You can search for drug safety information by keyword at the top of the Safety Information page or just browse by year/date of information released by FDA. Also read the Dietary Supplements: Warnings and Safety Information under the section "Other FDA safety-related Information", and look up common customer enquires in Food, Nutrition, and Cosmetics Questions & Answers database.
Medline Plus Alternative Medicine
This web gateway provides good health information from the world's largest medical library, the U.S. National Library of Medicine. Health professionals and consumers alike can depend on it for information that is authoritative and up to date.
Traditional Aboriginal Medicine Practice in the Northern Territory
An electronic pdf document by Dr. D. Dayalan Devanesen, Director of the Primary Health Coordinated Care, Northern Territory Health Services. The paper was presented in the International Symposium on Traditional Medicine organised by the Centre for Health Development, World Health Organisation, Kobe, Japan, 2000.
Yahoo Alternative Medicine Links
Yahoo's alternative medicine directory.