go to UNSW home page
UNSW logo UNSW Library Website Banner Picture

Contacts | Help
  
UNSW Library
Subject Guides
 
Art & Design
Arts & Social Sciences
Built Environment
Commerce & Economics
Engineering
Law
Medicine
Science
Subject Guides

Mortar and Pestle
Complementary and Alternative Medicine Subject Guide

Key ResourcesDatabases | Journals | Reference Resources | Internet Links

 

Reference Resources


Dictionaries and Encyclopaedias


Directories

Alternative Health Directory
Alternative Health Directory is an Australian site listing natural therapy and complementary medicine practitioners along with product and service providers. It includes Acupuncture, Massage, Naturopathy and Organic Food Suppliers, to Pilates, NLP and Yoga instructors.
Note: the Directory is now hosted by an commercial organisation, the Sunspirit Aromatherapy.
Natural Therapy Pages.com.au
Natural Therapy Pages is the largest web based directory of Alternative Health Practitioners in Australia.

Legislations

General
Commonwealth Legislation
Scaleplus, from the Commonwealth Attorney-General's Department, is the official site for Commonwealth Legislation
NSW Legislation
LegislationNSW, from the Parliamentary Council's Office, is the official site for NSW legislation
 
Specific
Therapeutic Goods Act, 1989
Quarantine Regulations 2000
NSW Health Care Liability Regulation, 2001
NSW Poisions and Therapeutic Goods Act, 1966

Handbooks and Guidelines

Alternative Medicine and Rehabilitation: A Guide for Practitioners
The book has "selected representative therapies that will serve to introduce the reader to the wide range of therapies available .... [it] is of considerable interest to a wide range of medical specialists."
Access note: You will be linked to the online table of content of the book without active links to the subsequent chapters. You need to search for the fulltext of individual chapters using the search box on the upper right hand corner. i.e. Copy and paste the chapter title (e.g. The Mechanical Model) into the search box, check the radio button "This book" and access each chapter seperately.
AMA Position Statement
  The Australian Medical Association's position statement on complementary medicines and therapies. Includes a policy discussion paper from the 2001 National Conference.
CRC Ethnobotany Desk Reference
Print: MBREF581.63/13
Handbook of clinically tested herbal remedies
Print: MBREF615.321/80/(1-2)
Handbook of medicinal herbs
Print: MBREF 615.32/11 A
Model guidelines for the use of complementary and alternative therapies in medical practice
  Approved by the House of Delegates of the Federation of State Medical Boards of the United States.
TGA - Therapeutic Goods Adminsitration - Complementary Medicines
The TGA's Complementary Medicines page provides information about legislation, guidelines, international agreements and consultation documents relevant to the practice of complementary and alternative medicine in Australia.
Traditional Medicine and Complementary / Alternative Medicine Guidelines / Reviews
Links to international guidelines and reviews for alternative therapies collated by the Geneva Foundation for Medical Education and Research.
White House Commission on Complementary and Alternative Medicine Policy
The White House Commission on Complementary and Alternative Medicine Policy (WHCCAMP) was established in March, 2000 to address issues related to access and delivery of CAM priorities for research, and the need for better education of consumers and health care professionals about CAM. 
WHO Policy and Strategy on Traditional Medicine
Includes information on medicinal plants, guidelines and standards, information on assessment, safety and efficacy of medicinal plants and WHO's Traditional Medicine Strategy 2002-2005 in 6 languages.

Other Online Reference Resources

Acubriefs.com
Acubriefs is an comprehensive database of acupuncture resources. It includes abstracts of references as well as links to full text versions of articles where available
A Modern herbal
First published in 1931, by Mrs M Grieve, The Modern Herbal contains medicinal, culinary, cosmetic and economic properties, cultivation and folk-lore of herbs.
About Herbs, botanicals and other products
From the Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center's Integrative Medicine Service this database contains evidence based information on herbs, botanicals, vitamins and other supplements.
HerbMed
  An interactive, electronic herbal database - provides hyperlinked access to the scientific data underlying the use of herbs for health. It is an evidence-based information resource provided by the nonprofit Alternative Medicine Foundation. Remark: Only some data in the HerbMed database is available free, others are limited to pay-access only.
MedlinePlus: Drug, Supplements, and Herbal Information
A database of information on herbs and supplements provided by the US National Library of Medicine and the National Institutes of Health. The section on Herbs and Supplements is specially relevant for complimentary and alternative medicine consumer, it documented a wide range of herbs with evidence, dosing, safety, interaction with other drugs or herbs, and methodology with references on each record.
Online archive of American folk medicine
  This database published by UCLA systematically documents beliefs and practices relating to folk medicine and alternative healthcare.
Rx List - Alternatives
The Rx List - Alternatives drug database is aimed at both the consumer and medical professional and can be searched by brand name, generic name or pharmacologic category. It includes information on clinical pharmacology, indications and dosage, side effects / drug interactions, warnings precautions, and overdose contraindications.