go to UNSW home page
UNSW logo UNSW Library Website Banner Picture

Contacts | Help
  
UNSW Library
Subject Guides
 
Art & Design
Arts & Social Sciences
Built Environment
Commerce & Economics
Engineering
Law
Medicine
Science
Subject Guides

DNA
Biochemistry and Molecular Biology Subject Guide

Key Resources | Databases | Reference Resources | Internet Links

Databases

Biological  Abstracts
(1980-). One of the foremost sources of bibliographic references to the life science journal literature. This database enables researchers and students to retrieve references to vital biological and medical research findings, clinical studies, and discoveries of new organisms.
Biomed Central
  An alternative publishing consortium that promotes open access in scholarly fulltext electronic publishing. Fully peer reviewed. Covers research articles, hypotheses papers, case reports, debates, study protocols, methodology articles, clinical trials, current reports, meetings.
CAB Abstracts
  (1984-). Indexes over 16,000 journals and book, covering sustainable development, emphasising agriculture, forestry, human health and the management of natural resources, with particular attention to the needs of developing countries. Commonwealth Agricultural Bureau.
Current Contents
  (1993-). Cover-to-cover indexing of journal articles, reviews, meeting abstracts, editorials, etc. of more than 7500 internataional journals covering all disciplines.
Embase
(1988-). Major biomedical and pharmaceutical database indexing over 3,500 international journals in the following fields: drug research, pharmacology, pharmaceutics, toxicology, clinical and experimental human medicine, health policy and management, public health, occupational health, environmental health, drug dependence and abuse, psychiatry, forensic medicine, and biomedical engineering/instrumentation.
Medline
(1966-). Produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE encompasses information from Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature, and International Nursing, as well as other sources of coverage in the areas of allied health, biological and physical sciences, humanities and information science as they relate to medicine and health care, communication disorders, and reproductive biology. Over 3900 journals are indexed by this database. For assistance, try our Medline Tutorial.
NCBI Entrez 
Includes the databases Protein, Structure, Genome and Nucleotide. Produced by the National Center for Biotechnology Information.
Proquest Science Journals
Search other Proquest databases, including ABI/INFORM Global, by using the Select Multiple Databases option.
Protein Data Bank
Worldwide repository for the processing and distribution of 3-D biological macromolecular structure data.
Reuters Business Insight
Reuters Business Insight is a joint venture between Reuters, a leading information and news group, and Datamonitor, a major international market research company. It contains the full text of more than 200 market research reports in 5 industry areas: consumer goods, energy, finance, health care, technology (including e-commerce).
Scifinder Scholar
(1907-). SciFinder Scholar is a desktop research tool that allows access to chemical information available within: CAS Registry - the largest substance database with over 32 million substances; CAplus 1907+ - a comprehensive database of chemical literature and patents with over 20.5 million documents; CASREACT with over 5.2 million reactions.
Scopus
Scopus is an abstract and citation database of research literature including peer-reviewed titles, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, patent records, scientific web pages, and seamless links to full text articles and other library resources. It is updated daily.
Toxnet
 from the National Library of Medicine (US), this is a cluster of databases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, and related areas.
Web of Science
(1979-). The database covers over 8,000 journals across all disciplines worldwide, with about 22,000 articles being added weekly. The journals are selected as the most influential and relevant peer-reviewed titles across all disciplines.
UniProt: the universal protein resource
UniProt (Universal Protein Resource) is a comprehensive database of information on proteins. It is a central repository of protein sequence and function created by joining the information contained in 3 databases: Swiss-Prot, TrEMBL, and PIR. It is produced by the UniProt Consortium, which is comprised of the European Bioinformatics Institute (EBI), the Swiss Institute of Bioinformatics (SIB), and the Protein Information Resource (PIR).
Bio-Mirror of biosequence & bioinformatic data
A world bioinformatic public service for high-speed access to up-to-date DNA & protein biological sequence databanks (includes FTP access and web links to GenBank, Enzyme, BlastDB, and more). Free access.