go to UNSW home page
UNSW logo UNSW Library Website Banner Picture

Contacts | Help
  
UNSW Library
Subject Guides
 
Art & Design
Arts & Social Sciences
Built Environment
Commerce & Economics
Engineering
Law
Medicine
Science
Subject Guides

DNA
Biochemistry and Molecular Biology Subject Guide

Key Resources | DatabasesReference Resources | Internet Links

Key Resources

BioMedProtocols
[Databse]  A database of full-text, peer-reviewed life science and biomedical research protocols. It provides online access to all content published in the Humana Press book series 'Methods in Molecular Biology' and 'Methods in Molecular Medicine'.
DNA Interactive 
  [Website]   This award-winning site provides a host of interactive exhibits and background material about DNA and the human genome project. Macromedia Flash Player required.
Pubmed Bookshelf
[E-books]  Excellent collection of e-books from the National Library of Medicine, including publications on cell biology and genetics such as Stryer's Biochemistry (5th Ed).
Medline
[Database]    The MEDLINE database (produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine) is widely recognized as the premier source for bibliographic and abstract coverage of biomedical literature.   
Online tutorials for Medline are also available.
Biomed Central
  [Database]   An alternative publishing consortium that promotes open access in scholarly fulltext electronic publishing. Fully peer reviewed. Covers research articles, hypotheses papers, case reports, debates, study protocols, methodology articles, clinical trials, current reports, meetings.
Interactive Concepts in Biochemistry 
[E-book]   Interactive Concepts in Biochemistry is a companion website to Dr. Rodney Boyer's Concepts in Biochemistry, second edition. Developed collaboratively by Science Technologies and others, this multimedia site collection includes animations about DNA Replication, Signal Transduction, Photosynthesis, Cell Structure, Protein Synthesis, and more.  Requires Macromedia Flash Player and Chime.
Biological  Abstracts
[Database]   (1980-). One of the foremost sources of bibliographic references to the life science journal literature. This database enables researchers and students to retrieve references to vital biological and medical research findings, clinical studies, and discoveries of new organisms.
NCBI Entrez
[Database]   Includes the databases Protein, Structure, Genome and Nucleotide. Produced by the National Center for Biotechnology Information.
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics
[E-book]   The online version of the popular handbook is now in its 84th edition.  Contains information (physical and chemical properties) of thousands of chemicals.
CAB ABSTRACTS
  [Database]   (1984-). Indexes over 16,000 journals and book, covering sustainable development, emphasising agriculture, forestry, human health and the management of natural resources, with particular attention to the needs of developing countries. Commonwealth Agricultural Bureau.

Related Subject Guides