go to UNSW home page
UNSW logo UNSW Library Website Banner Picture

Contacts | Help
  
UNSW Library
Subject Guides
 
Art & Design
Arts & Social Sciences
Built Environment
Commerce & Economics
Engineering
Law
Medicine
Science
Subject Guides

DNA
Biochemistry and Molecular Biology Subject Guide

Key Resources | Databases | Reference Resources | Internet Links 

Reference Resources

Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

McGraw-Hill encyclopedia of science and technology. (8th ed.) New York: McGraw-Hill, 1997.
  Print: MBREF503/31K/ (1-20)
The Merck index: an encyclopedia of chemicals, drugs, and biologicals. Merck, 1996.
  Print: MBREF615.103/1AF
Dictionary of gene technology. New York: VCH, 1995
Print: MBREF660.65/23
Oxford dictionary of biochemistry and molecular biology. Oxford University Press, 1997.
Print: Vol.1, No.1 (1963/64) - Q709.9405/2
Genetics Glossary 
Glossary developed by the University of Edinburgh
Encyclopedia of Genetics, Genomics, Proteomics and Bioinformatics
Focussed on studies based on the human and mouse genomes, but includes in-depth coverage of other important model eukaryotes, as well as pathogenic bacteria. With articles written by established leaders in the field as well as by rising stars, this work is a useful reference tool for members of genomics, proteomics, transcriptomics and bioinformatics teams, from students, to post-docs, to senior scientists.
Encyclopedia of Life Sciences
(UNSW Library subscription)
Encyclopedic dictionary of genetics, genomics and proteomics 
This 2nd edition includes a vast range of terms and concepts dealing with biochemistry, immunology, hereditary diseases, molecular evolution, genomics and proteomics.
Encyclopedia of molecular biology
Includes the fundamentals of molecular biology and encompassing all aspects of the expression of genetic information.
Glossary of Genetic Terms
from the National Human Genome Research Institute

Handbooks

Practical handbook of biochemistry and molecular biology. Boca Raton: CRC Press, 1989.
Print:  MB574.192/239
Biochemistry labfax. Oxford: Bios Scientific Publishers, 1993.
Print: MBREF574.192/252
Basic Biochemical methods. (2nd ed.) New York: Wiley-Liss, 1993.
Print:  MB574.192028/24
Methods in enzymology. New York, 1955+
Print: MB574.193/4/(1-)
Handbook of molecular and cellular methods in biology and medicine. Boca Raton: CRC Press, 1995
  Print: MB574.88072/1
Data for biochemical research. 3rd ed. Oxford: Clarendon Press, 1986.
  Print: MBREF574.192/41J
Worthington Enzyme Manual
Listing of common enzymes and their properties
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics 
  (UNSW Library subscription)

Other online resources

Biochemical and Organic Nomenclature
  From the International Union of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
BioMedProtocols
An online database of full-text, peer-reviewed life science and biomedical research protocols. It provides online access to all content published in the Humana Press book series 'Methods in Molecular Biology' and 'Methods in Molecular Medicine'.
Molecular Biology Desk Reference
From the US National Institutes of Health
Molecular Cloning.com.
A useful tool for laboratories working with DNA. It is designed to be used in conjunction with the print version of the third edition of Molecular Cloning: A Laboratory Manual. It contains summarized versions of protocols.
 The Periodic Table
Interactive, colouful electronic periodic table