go to UNSW home page
UNSW logo UNSW Library Website Banner Picture

Contacts | Help
  
UNSW Library
Subject Guides
 
Art & Design
Arts & Social Sciences
Built Environment
Commerce & Economics
Engineering
Law
Medicine
Science
Subject Guides

Image of laboratory worker using a microscope
Biotechnology Subject Guide

Key Resources | Databases | Journals | Reference Resources | Internet Links
 Organisations | Current Awareness


Key Databases

Applied Science and Technology Full Text
Applied Science and Technology Full Text is a bibliographic database with links to full text articles. Periodical coverage includes trade and industrial publications, journals issued by professional and technical societies, and specialized subject periodicals, as well as special issues such as buyers' guides, directories, and conference proceedings. 1983+ for indexing and 1997+ for full text
Biological  Abstracts
Biological Abstracts, produced by BIOSIS, is a key database for life sciences literature. Coverage includes traditional areas of biology, such as botany, zoology and microbiology, as well as related fields such as biomedical, agriculture, pharmacology and ecology. Interdisciplinary fields such as medicine, biochemistry, biophysics, bioengineering and biotechnology are also included. 1969+
Biomed Central
  Biomed Central is an alternative publishing consortium that promotes open access in scholarly fulltext electronic publishing. Fully peer reviewed. Covers research articles, hypotheses papers, case reports, debates, study protocols, methodology articles, clinical trials, current reports, meetings.
Bio-Mirror of biosequence & bioinformatic data
Bio-Mirror is a world bioinformatic public service for high-speed access to up-to-date DNA & protein biological sequence databanks (includes FTP access and web links to GenBank, Enzyme, BlastDB, and more). Free access.
CAB Abstracts
  CAB Abstracts is a bibliographic database compiled by CAB International (CABI). It covers the significant research and development literature in the fields of agriculture, forestry, aspects of human health, human nutrition, animal health, and the management and conservation of natural resources.1973+
CSA Technology Research Database
CSA Technology Research Database provides a single mega-file of all the unique records available through its 3 components: the CSA Materials Research Database with METADEX, CSA High Technology Research Database with Aerospace, and the CSA Engineering Research Database. Sources covered include over 4,000 periodicals, conference proceedings, technical reports, trade journal/newsletter items, patents, books, and press releases.
Current Contents
  Current Contents is a multidisciplinary current awareness resource, providing access to complete bibliographic information from over 8,000 of the world's leading scholarly journals and more than 2,000 books. 1993+
Embase
The Excerpta Medica database (EMBASE) produced by Elsevier Science, is a major biomedical and pharmaceutical database indexing over 3,500 international journals in the following fields: drug research, pharmacology, pharmaceutics, toxicology, clinical and experimental human medicine, health policy and management, public health, occupational health, environmental health, drug dependence and abuse, psychiatry, forensic medicine, and biomedical engineering/instrumentation. There is selective coverage for nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, psychology, and alternative medicine. 1988+
FSTA
Food Science and Technology Abstracts (FSTA), produced by the International Food Information Service (IFIS), is a key database for information on food science, food technology, and human nutrition. 1969+
GEN Biotechnology
GEN Biotechnology, produced by the editors of Genetic Engineering News, is a full text database of current information on the biotechnology industry. It includes company information, news, a glossary of terms, and access to information from scholarly journals.
Medline
Medline is produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE encompasses information from Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature, and International Nursing, as well as other sources of coverage in the areas of allied health, biological and physical sciences, humanities and information science as they relate to medicine and health care, communication disorders, and reproductive biology. Over 3900 journals are indexed by this database. For assistance, try our Medline Tutorial. 1966+
NCBI Entrez 
Entrez: the Life Sciences Search Engine, produced by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), provides integrated access to nucleotide and protein sequence data from >130,000 organisms, along with 3D protein structures, genomic mapping information, PubMed MEDLINE, and more.
NCBI Protein Database
The Entrez Protein Database, produced by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), contains entries that have been compiled from a variety of sources, including SwissProt, PIR, PRF, PDB, and translations from annotated coding regions in GenBank and RefSeq.
Protein Data Bank
Protein Data Bank, produced by the Research Collaboratory for Structural Bioinformatics (RCSB), is a worldwide repository for the processing and distribution of 3-D biological macromolecular structure data.
Protein Information Resource
Protein Information Resource (PIR) is produced by the Georgetown University Medical Center, is an integrated public bioinformatics resource that supports genomic and proteomic research and scientific studies. It includes the Protein Sequence Database
Reuters Business Insights
Reuters Business Insights is a joint venture between Reuters, a leading information and news group, and Datamonitor, a major international market research company. It contains the full text of more than 200 market research reports in 5 industry areas: consumer goods, energy, finance, health care, technology (including e-commerce).
SCANFile
SCANfile, produced by the CSIRO Corporate Library and Information Service, is a bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts articles on science/technology policy and R&D/general management. Subject coverage includes all aspects of human resource management, S&T and R&D management, social and economic implications of scientific innovation, science and technology policy, planning and evaluation, and technology transfer. 1978+
Scifinder Scholar
SciFinder Scholar, published by the American Chemical Society (ACS), is a desktop research tool that allows access to chemical information available within: CAS Registry - the largest substance database with over 32 million substances; CAplus - a comprehensive database of chemical literature and patents with over 23 million documents 1907+; CASREACT with over 7 million reactions. NB Special software is required to access this database.
Scopus
Scopus is an abstract and citation database of research literature including peer-reviewed titles, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, patent records, scientific web pages, and seamless links to full text articles and other library resources. It is updated daily.
Web of Science
Web of Science, published by Thomson ISI, provides access to current and retrospective multidisciplinary information from approximately 8,700 journals. This database also provides a unique search method, cited reference searching. It is made up of a suite of databases, including Science Citation Index 1945+

Other Relevant Databases

Agriculture and Natural Resources Index: ANR-Index
ANR-Index, produced by Infoscan Pty Ltd, is a bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts articles from published and unpublished material on all aspects of agricultural production, fisheries, rural economics, horticulture, animal health, forestry, food sciences and human nutrition. 2000+
Agriculture and Natural Resources Index Archive: ANR-Index Archive
ANR-Index Archive (formerly ABOA and Streamline), produced by Infoscan, is a bibliographic database of older publications on agriculture and natural resources including sustainable Australian agriculture, food, forestry and fisheries industries and the promotion of conservation and sustainable use of Australia's environment, water and natural resources. 1975-2000
Agriculture and Natural Resources Research: ANR-Research 
ANR-Research (formerly known as ARRIP), an Australian government initiative produced by Infoscan, is a research in progress database that describes current and recently completed research projects across the agriculture and natural resources areas including sustainable Australian agriculture, food, forestry and fisheries industries and the promotion of conservation and sustainable use of Australia's environment, water and natural resources.
Agriculture and Natural Resources Research Archive: ANR-Research Archive
ANR-Research Archive (formerly known as CARRP), an Australian government initiative produced by Infoscan, is a research in progress database that contains completed research projects from the ANR-Research database across the agriculture and natural resources areas including sustainable Australian agriculture, food, forestry and fisheries industries and the promotion of conservation and sustainable use of Australia's environment, water and natural resources. 1984 - present
AGRICOLA
AGRICultural OnLine Access (AGRICOLA) is a bibliographic database of citations to the agricultural literature created by the National Agricultural Library (US). Subject coverage includes agriculture, animal and veterinary sciences, entomology, plant sciences, forestry, aquaculture and fisheries, farming and farming systems, agricultural economics, extension and education, food and human nutrition, and earth and environmental sciences. 1970+
ASFA
Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA) database is a component of the Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Information System (ASFIS), formed by four United Nations agency sponsors of ASFA and a network of international and national partners. It contains Part 1, Biological sciences and living resources; Part 2, Ocean technology, policy and non-living resources; and: Part 3, Aquatic pollution and environmental quality. 1971+
EVA 
Environmental Abstracts (EVA) database is produced by the EPA Victoria Library. It is a bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts articles on the environment and related fields. Subject coverage includes air pollution and quality, sustainable development, salinity, environmental protection and management, hazardous wastes, recycling, waste management and disposal, water pollution, environmental assessment, and pollution control. 1990+
Expanded Academic ASAP
Expanded Academic ASAP is a multidisciplinary, full text database that indexes literature from arts and the humanities to social sciences, science and technology. Includes articles from scholarly journals, newspapers and trade magazines such as Bioworld Financial Watch 1980+
Factiva
Factiva provides full text access to global news and business information from more than 8000 international sources, including Australian newspapers such as the Sydney Morning Herald, the Australian and the Australian Financial Review.
Journal Citation Reports
Journal Citation Reports (JCR), published by ISI, is a resource tool for journal evaluation, using citation data drawn from over 8,400 journals from over 3,000 publishers worldwide. Useful for finding out which journals are making an impact on the literature of a particular subject area.
NTIS
  NTIS is the central source for the public sale of U.S.Government-sponsored research, development and engineering reports. Information comes from approximately 600 U.S.government agencies, and foreign governments, with whom they have a bilateral agreement to exchange information, most notably the U.K., Japan, and Germany. Material indexed includes conference proceedings, contract and technical reports, theses, database files, manuals 1993+
Proquest Science Journals 
Search other Proquest databases, including ABI/INFORM Global, by using the Select Multiple Databases option.
PubChem
PubChem, published by the NCBI, contains the chemical structures of small organic molecules and information on their biological activities.
Scirus
Scirus is a science-specific search engine produced by Elsevier publishing. It searches over 167 million science-specific Web pages including scientific, scholarly, technical and medical data on the Web, reports and peer-reviewed articles.
Toxnet
Toxnet, from the National Library of Medicine (US), is a cluster of databases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, and related areas.