go to UNSW home page
UNSW logo UNSW Library Website Banner Picture

Contacts | Help
  
UNSW Library
Subject Guides
 
Art & Design
Arts & Social Sciences
Built Environment
Commerce & Economics
Engineering
Law
Medicine
Science
Subject Guides

Image of laboratory worker
Biotechnology Subject Guide

Key Resources | DatabasesJournals | Reference Resources | Internet Links
 Organisations | Current Awareness

Reference Resources


Encyclopaedias and Dictionaries

Concise dictionary of biomedicine and molecular biology
Print: MBREF 610.3/133
Encyclopaedia of applied plant science
Print: MBREF 660.6/150 v1-3
Encyclopaedia of Life Sciences
(UNSW Subscription)
Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology
(UNSW Subscription)
Molecular biology and biotechnology: a desk reference
Print: MBREF 660.603/5
A multilingual glossary of biotechnological terms
Print: MBREF 574.8803/3
Wiley encyclopaedia of molecular biology
(UNSW Subscription)

Directories

Nature Biotechnology Directory
The Nature Biotechnology Directory isa global information resource listing over 8,000 organisations, product and service providers in the biotechnology industry. It is produced in association with Nature Publishing Group
NSW Biotechnology Directory
This directory is a product of the NSW Department of State and Regional Development and is part of the NSW Government's effort to promote biotechnology. The NSW Government launched its biotechnology strategy, called BioFirst, in August 2001.

Legislation

General
Commonwealth Legislation
Scaleplus, from the Commonwealth Attorney-General's Department, is the official site for Commonwealth Legislation
NSW Legislation
LegislationNSW, from the Parliamentary Council's Office, is the official site for NSW legislation
Specific
Gene Technology Act 2000
Gene Technology Regulations 2001
Quaratine Act 1908
Quarantine Regulations 2000
Guidelines
Australian regulatory guidelines for prescription medicines (ARGPM)
International
UK Biotechnology Regulatory Atlas

Handbooks and Manuals

Bacteriological Analytical Manual (BAM)
The US FDA's Bacteriological Analytical Manual (BAM) presents the agency's preferred laboratory procedures for microbiological analyses of foods and cosmetics.
BioMedProtocols
BioMedProtocols.com is an online database of full-text, peer-reviewed life science and biomedical research protocols. It provides online access to all content published in the Humana Press book series 'Methods in Molecular Biology' and 'Methods in Molecular Medicine'.
Current Protocols
Online edition of Wiley's publications on laboratory methodology. Annotated, step-by-step manuals. Quarterly updates. Includes protocols for Human Genetics, Molecular Biology, Food Analytical Chemistry and others.
Handbook of Chemistry and Physics
(UNSW Subscription) Provides wide coverage of data on properties of inorganic and organic compounds. Also includes a section on Biochemistry
Handbook on the Regulation of Gene Technology in Australia
The Handbook on the Regulation of Gene Technology in Australia has been developed by the Office of the Gene Technology Regulator as a resource for organisations that conduct work with GMOs.
IP Training Manual
  This Manual was commissioned by Biotechnology Australia and contains valuable information such as the types of IP, how to commercialise IP successfully and when to file a patent application

Reports

National Biotechnology Strategy
The key objective of this Strategy is to provide a framework for Government and key stakeholders to work together to ensure that developments in biotechnology are captured for the benefit of the Australian community, industry and the environment, while safeguarding human health and ensuring environmental protection (Biotechnology Australia)
Office of the Gene Technology Regulator Reports
Annual and Quarterly Reports under the Commonwealth Gene Technology Act 2000