go to UNSW home page
UNSW logo UNSW Library Website Banner Picture

Contacts | Help
  
UNSW Library
Subject Guides
 
Art & Design
Arts & Social Sciences
Built Environment
Commerce & Economics
Engineering
Law
Medicine
Science
Subject Guides

plant image
Botany Subject Guide


 

Key Resources

ANBG & CPBR  -  Department of Environment and Heritage, Australian Government
[Website]  ANBG (Australian National Botanic Gardens) maintains a scientific collection of native plants from all parts of Australia.CPBR (Centre for Plant Biodiversity Research & Australian National Herbarium ) is to document the biological diversity of the Australian environment.
Biological Abstracts 
[Database]   Biological Abstracts, produced by BIOSIS, is a key database for life sciences literature. Coverage includes traditional areas of biology, such as botany, zoology and microbiology, as well as related fields such as biomedical, agriculture, pharmacology and ecology. Interdisciplinary fields such as medicine, biochemistry, biophysics, bioengineering and biotechnology are also included. 1969+
[Website]  The Department of Botany, Smithsonian Institution  is located in the National Museum of Natural History. It has a substantial collection (United States National Herbarium), holds a range of realted researches and publications.
FloraBase
[Database] - Open Access FloraBase integrates data from a number of fundamental datasets including the Census of Western Australian Plants, the Western Australian Herbarium specimen database of nearly 600,000 vouchered plant collections, and descriptive data for the families, genera and species of vascular plant in Western Australia.It is part of the NatureBase provided by Department of Conservation and Land Management, Government of Western Australia.
STREAMLINE
[Database]  Australia's Natural Resources Database (STREAMLINE), produced by Infoscan Pty Ltd for the Land and Water Resources Research and Development Corporation and the Urban Water Research Association of Australia, is a bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts articles from published and unpublished material on all aspects of natural resource management. Subjects cover the sustainable management of land, vegetation and water resources. 1990+
Threatened Plants of the World
[Website]  A website on the world's threatened plants provided by  UNEP World Conservation Monitoring Centre. It includes the  1997 IUCN Red List of Threatened Plants and a searchable  Threatened Plants Database.

Related Subject Guides