go to UNSW home page
UNSW logo UNSW Library Website Banner Picture

Contacts | Help
  
UNSW Library
Subject Guides
 
Art & Design
Arts & Social Sciences
Built Environment
Commerce & Economics
Engineering
Law
Medicine
Science
Subject Guides

Specialist reading X-Ray chart
Cancer Subject Guide


Databases

MEDLINE
Medline is produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine. It is the electronic counterpart of Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature, and the International Nursing Index. Medline contains bibliographic citations and author abstracts from more than 4,600 biomedical journals. An Online tutorial for Medline is also available. 1966+
Australasian Medical Index
  Australasian Medical Index (AMI), produced by the National Library of Australia, indexes and abstracts articles from over 160 Australasian health and medical serials. Most of these are not indexed for MEDLINE.  Subject coverage includes all aspects of health and medicine, with an emphasis on clinical medicine and paraprofessional fields. Source documents include journals, conference proceedings, government reports, selected monographs and National Health and Medical Research Council (NHMRC) session reports. 1968+
Biological Abstracts
Biological Abstracts, produced by BIOSIS, is a key database for life sciences literature. Coverage includes traditional areas of biology, as well as related fields such as medicine, biochemistry, biophysics, bioengineering and biotechnology. 1969+
Cancer Literature in PubMed
  Provided by the US National Cancer Institute, the search is performed in PubMed, but limited to cancer literature.
CINAHL
The CINAHL database is the authoritative source of information for the professional literature of nursing, allied health, biomedicine, and healthcare. 1982+
Cochrane Library 
The Cochrane Library is a collection of evidence-based medicine databases:
  • The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews Complete reviews
  • Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effectiveness Abstracts of quality assessed systematic reviews
  • The Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL)
  • The Cochrane Database of Methodology Reviews Complete reviews
  • The Cochrane Methodology Register References
  • Collaborative Review Groups
  • Methods Groups
  • Health Technology Assessment Database (HTA) Abstracts by INAHTA and other healthcare technology agencies
  • NHS Economic Evaluation Database (NHS EED)
 For alternative access, please use the following access to Ovid databases: 
Embase
The Excerpta Medica database (EMBASE) produced by Elsevier Science, is a major biomedical and pharmaceutical database indexing over 3,500 international journals in the following fields: drug research, pharmacology, pharmaceutics, toxicology, clinical and experimental human medicine, health policy and management, public health, occupational health, environmental health, drug dependence and abuse, psychiatry, forensic medicine, and biomedical engineering/instrumentation. There is selective coverage for nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, psychology, and alternative medicine. 1988+
Entrez
Entrez: the Life Sciences Search Engine, produced by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), provides integrated access to nucleotide and protein sequence data from >130,000 organisms, along with 3D protein structures, genomic mapping information, PubMed MEDLINE, and more.
HealthWIZ
HealthWIZ, produced by the Australian Government Department of Health and Ageing, is the National Social Health Statistical Data Library. It contains comprehensive population health related statistical databases, from across the Australian health services sector, for the purposes of clinical research, policy development and health services planning, particularly in regional areas. 1970+
( CD-ROM ONLY - May be borrowed from Biomedical Library information desk - for use in the library)
OncologySTAT
OncologySTAT provides a variety of evidence-based professional cancer information resources and features, including news, blogs and webinars and access to professional drug and interaction databases and journals
TOXNET
Toxicology Data Network (TOXNET), published by the National Library of Medicine (US)  is an integrated system of toxicology and environmental health databases. It includes Toxline, a bibliographic database of literature on the biochemical, pharmacological, physiological, and toxicological effects of drugs and other chemicals.
Scopus
Scopus is an abstract and citation database of research literature including peer-reviewed titles, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, patent records, scientific web pages, and seamless links to full text articles and other library resources. It is updated daily.
Web of Science
  Web of Science, published by Thomson ISI, provides access to current and retrospective multidisciplinary information from approximately 8,700 journals. This database also provides a unique search method, cited reference searching. It is made up of a suite of databases, including Science Citation Index 1945+