go to UNSW home page
UNSW logo UNSW Library Website Banner Picture

Contacts | Help
  
UNSW Library
Subject Guides
 
Art & Design
Arts & Social Sciences
Built Environment
Commerce & Economics
Engineering
Law
Medicine
Science
Subject Guides

Specialist reading X-Ray chart
Cancer Subject Guide

 Key ResourcesDatabases | Journals | Reference Resources | Internet Links | Texts 

Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

The cancer dictionary / Roberta Altman, Michael J. Sarg.
Print Resource: MBREF 616.994003/1
A dictionary of human oncology : a concise guide to tumors
Print Resource: MBREF 616.994003/2
Dorland's illustrated medical dictionary
Print Resource: MBREF 616.04703/1 
Encyclopedia of Life Sciences
Comprehensive reference work for information in the biological sciences from the Nature Publishing Group.
MedlinePLUS Medical Encyclopedia
The Adam Health Illustrated Encyclopedia includes over 4,000 articles about diseases, tests, symptoms, injuries, and surgeries. It also contains an extensive library of medical photographs and illustrations.
Merriam-Webster Medical Dictionary Online.
From MEDLINEplus Health Information
Oxford Reference Online - Subject Dictionaries
Including many relevant reference works such as: The Oxford Companion to the Body; Concise Medical Dictionary; An A-Z of Medicinal Drugs; A Dictionary of Nursing.

Atlases

Cancer Atlas of the United Kingdom and Ireland 1991-2000
From the UK Office for National Statistics (ONS)
Cancer Mortality Maps & Graphs
This site, provided by the US Natioanl Cancer Institute, gives access to interactive maps, graphs , text, tables and figures showing geographic patterns and time trends of cancer death rates in the US for the time period 1950-1994 for more than 40 cancers.
Frontiers in Bioscience: A Tumor Atlas
From the publishers of the online journal Frontiers in Bioscience
Skin Cancer Atlas
A resource for health professionals from the British Columbia Cancer Agency, Canada.

Handbooks and Data

AusStats: Australian Bureau of Statistics
Statistics from Australia's National Statistical Agency
Cancer (AIHW) 
  This web gateway sets out specific areas the Australian Institute for Health and Welfare deals with regarding cancer, as well as listing other registries maintained by the Health Registers and Cancer Monitoring Unit. It includes links to statistical publications and interactive cancer data.
Cancer Facts & Figures 2004
Cancer statistics from American Cancer Society (ACS). Presents data on cancer incidence, mortality, survival, and cancer risk factors, and annual estimates of expected new cancer cases and deaths.
CancerMondial
This website provides access to information on the occurrence of cancer world-wide held by the Descriptive Epidemiology Group (DEP) of International Agency for Research on Cancer (IARC). 
National Breast Cancer Centre Publications
The National Breast Cancer Centre provides a range of printed and online resources as a free service to all Australians. The resources have been written for both general and clinical audiences covering a range of breast and ovarian cancer topics.
National Cancer Institute - Surveillance Epidemiology and End Results (SEER) Statistics
The Surveillance, Epidemiology, and End Results (SEER) Program of the National Cancer Institute is an authoritative source of information on cancer incidence and survival in the United States.The SEER Program is considered the standard for quality among cancer registries around the world.
NSW Cancer Council
Links to cancer registers, research projects and research reports. Including Cancer in NSW: Incidence and Mortality 2003
 

Other Online Resources

CancerNet
  Recent and accurate information from the National Cancer Institute.
Cancer Prevention and Control Program
Produced by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.
Ask NOAH About: Cancer
High quality information for health consumers.