| |

|
 |
Drug Development Subject Guide
Databases
| AMI |
| |
Australasian Medical Index (AMI), produced by the National Library of Australia, indexes and abstracts articles from over 160 Australasian health and medical serials. Most of these are not indexed for MEDLINE. Subject coverage includes all aspects of health and medicine, with an emphasis on clinical medicine and paraprofessional fields. Source documents include journals, conference proceedings, government reports, selected monographs and National Health and Medical Research Council (NHMRC) session reports. 1968+ |
| APAIS - Health |
| |
Australian Public Affairs Information Service - Health (APAIS-Health), produced by the National Library of Australia, is a bibliographic database that indexes articles from published material. APAIS-Health covers health and medicine in Australia and in particular the legal, social, economic and ethical aspects of health. Clinical articles are not indexed for APAIS-Health. This database is a subset of the APAIS database. 1978+ |
| Business Insights |
|
|
Business Insights, published by Reuters, is a full text database of book-length reports in the areas of Consumer goods; Energy; Finance; Healthcare; Technology. Their healthcare reports give insight into macro issues affecting the industry as a whole, micro issues involving niche markets, and continuous primary research |
| ChemID Plus |
|
|
ChemID Plus, produced by the US National Library of Medicine, is a resource that can be used to investigate chemicals that affect biological functions in humans and animals. It gives detailed information on every chemical discussed in Medline. |
| ClinicalTrials.gov |
|
|
ClinicalTrials.gov, a service of the US National Institutes of Health and National Library of Medicine, provides regularly updated information about federally and privately supported clinical research in human volunteers. |
| Cochrane Library |
| |
The Cochrane Library is a collection of evidence-based medicine databases. National access to the Cochrane Library is funded by the Commonwealth Government of Australia - click on "Login anonymously" button. The NICS Guide to the Cochrane Library is also available.
The Cochrane Library contains the following EBM databases:
- The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews Complete reviews
- Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effectiveness Abstracts of quality assessed systematic reviews
- The Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL)
- The Cochrane Database of Methodology Reviews Complete reviews
- The Cochrane Methodology Register References
- Collaborative Review Groups
- Methods Groups
- Health Technology Assessment Database (HTA) Abstracts by INAHTA and other healthcare technology agencies
- NHS Economic Evaluation Database (NHS EED)
For UNSW staff and students outside Australia, please use the following access to Ovid databases:
|
| Current Contents |
|
|
Current Contents is a multidisciplinary current awareness resource, providing access to complete bibliographic information from over 8,000 of the world's leading scholarly journals and more than 2,000 books. |
| DatAnalysis |
|
|
Provides comprehensive data for all ASX listed companies, including pharmacetical companies. These reports are updated daily from relevant ASX announcements. |
| EMBASE |
| |
The Excerpta Medica database (EMBASE) produced by Elsevier Science, is a major biomedical and pharmaceutical database indexing over 3,500 international journals in the following fields: drug research, pharmacology, pharmaceutics, toxicology, clinical and experimental human medicine, health policy and management, public health, occupational health, environmental health, drug dependence and abuse, psychiatry, forensic medicine, and biomedical engineering/instrumentation. There is selective coverage for nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, psychology, and alternative medicine. 1988+ |
| Entrez |
|
|
Entrez, produced by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), provides integrated access to nucleotide and protein sequence data from >130,000 organisms, along with 3D protein structures, genomic mapping information, PubMed MEDLINE, and more. |
| Factiva |
|
|
Factiva provides full text access to global news and business information from more than 8000 international sources. It includes trend stories, profiles, analysis and commentary, identified by Factiva's industry specialists, that provide overviews about particular industries, including the pharmaceutical industry. |
| Medline via OVID |
| |
Medline is produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine. It is the electronic counterpart of Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature, and the International Nursing Index. Medline contains bibliographic citations and author abstracts from more than 4,600 biomedical journals. An Online tutorial for Medline is also available. 1966+ |
| National Research Register |
|
|
UK government free site) - a database of ongoing and recently completed research projects funded by, or of interest to, the United Kingdom's National Health Service (NHS). Contains over 90,000 records. |
| Pharmaceutical News Index |
|
|
Pharmaceutical News Index is a full text database of pharmacological news, research, and regulatory information. Covers the most important specialized publications in the pharmaceutical, health care, biotechnology, and medical device industries |
| PubChem |
|
|
PubChem, published by the National Libray of Medicine, contains the chemical structures of small organic molecules and information on their biological activities. |
| SCANFile |
|
|
SCANfile, produced by the CSIRO Corporate Library and Information Service, is a bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts articles on science/technology policy and R&D/general management. Subject coverage includes all aspects of human resource management, S&T and R&D management, social and economic implications of scientific innovation, science and technology policy, planning and evaluation, and technology transfer. 1978+ |
| SciFinder Scholar |
|
|
SciFinder Scholar provides access to chemical information available within: CAS Registry ; CAplus 1967+ - a comprehensive database of chemical literature and patents ; CASREACT with over 3.4 million reaction. Please note: This database requires special software. It cannot be used off-campus unless you are using UDUS as your Internet Service Provider |
| Scopus |
|
|
Scopus is an abstract and citation database of research literature including peer-reviewed titles, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, patent records, scientific web pages, and seamless links to full text articles and other library resources. It is updated daily.
|
| Toxnet |
|
|
Toxicology Data Network (TOXNET), published by the US National Library of Medicine, is an integrated system of toxicology and environmental health databases. It includes Toxline, a bibliographic database of literature on the biochemical, pharmacological, physiological, and toxicological effects of drugs and other chemicals. |
| Web of Science |
|
|
Web of Science, published by Thomson ISI, provides access to current and retrospective multidisciplinary information from approximately 8,700 journals. This database also provides a unique search method, cited reference searching. It is made up of a suite of databases, including Science Citation Index 1945+ |
|
|