go to UNSW home page
UNSW logo UNSW Library Website Banner Picture

Contacts | Help
  
UNSW Library
Subject Guides
 
Art & Design
Arts & Social Sciences
Built Environment
Commerce & Economics
Engineering
Law
Medicine
Science
Subject Guides

Image of pills
Drug Development Subject Guide

Key Resources | Databases | Journals | Reference Resources | Internet Links

 

Reference Resources


Dictionaries and Encyclopaedias

CHEMnetBASE
Includes access to the online version of The Combined Chemical Dictionary. This includes: The Dictionary of Commonly Cited Compounds; Dictionary of Inorganic & Organometallic Compounds; Dictionary of Natural Products; Dictionary of Organic Compounds; Dictionary of Drugs.
Encyclopaedia of Life Sciences
(UNSW Subscription)
Concise dictionary of pharmacological agents : properties and synonyms
(UNSW Subscription)
Concise Medical Dictionary (Oxford Reference Online)
(UNSW Subscription)
Dictionary of biochemistry and molecular biology
(UNSW Subscription)
Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology
(UNSW Subscription)
Merriam-Webster Medical Dictionary Online.
from MEDLINEplus Health Information

Legislation

General
Commonwealth Legislation
ComLaw, from the Commonwealth Attorney-General's Department, is the official site for Commonwealth Legislation
NSW Legislation
LegislationNSW, from the Parliamentary Council's Office, is the official site for NSW legislation
Specific legislation
Patents Act 1990
Therapeutic Goods Act 1989
Therapeutic Goods (Medical Devices) Regulations 2002
Therapeutic Goods (Charges) Act
Therapeutic Goods (Charges) Regulations
Codes
Therapeutic Goods Advertising Code

Handbooks and Guidelines

Australian Medicines Handbook
(UNSW Subscription)
Australian Prescription Products Guide
Thirty Fourth edition, 2005 - Incorporating the Non-Prescription Products Guide.
UNSW Subscription - please see username and password at top right of screen when you click on the SFX link
British National Formulary
"The BNF provides UK healthcare professionals with authoritative and practical information on the selection and clinical use of medicines in a clear, concise and accessible manner."
British Pharmacopoeia, Latest edition
[Print Resource] Biomedical Library Reference collection
MBREF615.114206/2
CDER Handbook
The CDER (Center for Drug Evaluation and Research) Handbook is arranged according to the four major activities that the Center is involved in: New Drug Development and Review, Generic Drug Review, Over-the-Counter Drug Review, and Post Drug Approval Activities
Handbook of Chemistry and Physics
  (UNSW Subscription) Provides wide coverage of data on properties of inorganic and organic compounds. Also includes a section on Biochemistry
International Critical Tables
Contains an enormous amount of critical data on inorganic and organic compounds, and pure substances. The original 1000-page index is hyperlinked to each entry's appropriate page.
MIMS Online
UNSW Library subscription
National Medicines Policy 2000
  Australian Department of Health and Aging
NICNAS Handbook for Notifiers
The NICNAS Handbook for Notifiers aims to help manufacturers and importers of industrial chemicals comply with their obligations under the Industrial Chemicals (Notification and Assessment) Act 1989 (Cwlth).
eTG Complete
  An electronic compilation of Therapeutic Guidelines

Other Online Resources

 Adverse Event Reporting System (AERS) 
  The Adverse Event Reporting System (AERS) is a computerized information database designed to support the US FDA's post-marketing safety surveillance program for all approved drug and therapeutic biologic products.
Australian Statistics on Medicines
The Australian Statistics on Medicines is an annual publication produced by the Drug Utilisation Sub-Committee of the Pharmaceutical Benefits Advisory Committee. The data available in the ASM represent estimates of the aggregate community use of prescription medicines in Australia.
CenterWatch - Clinical Trials Listing Service
  This US site has listings of more than 41,000 active industry and government-sponsored clinical trials, as well as new drug therapies in research and those recently approved by the FDA.
Chemfinder
A free chemical database for searching information on chemicals including toxicology, hazardous substances, medical management information and Material Safety Data Sheets (MSDSs).
Clinical Alerts and Advisories (NIH)
The US National Library of Medicine began offering clinical alert notices online in January 1991. Clinical alerts are provided to expedite the release of findings from the NIH-funded clinical trials where such release could significantly affect morbidity and mortality. Links to clinical alerts are provided below.
Consumer Drug Information
Consumer Drug Information Sheets posted on this site provide basic information about medications recently approved by the FDA.
TGA Recalls and Alerts
  Medicine Recalls from the Australian Therapeutic Goods Administration