go to UNSW home page
UNSW logo UNSW Library Website Banner Picture

Contacts | Help
  
UNSW Library
Subject Guides
 
Art & Design
Arts & Social Sciences
Built Environment
Commerce & Economics
Engineering
Law
Medicine
Science
Subject Guides

Drugs, Alcohol and Tobacco Subject Guide

Key Resources | Databases | Journals | Reference Resources | Internet Links

Encyclopedias

Alcohol and Temperance in Modern History: an International Encyclopedia (print)
comprehensive encyclopaedia on all aspects of the production, consumption, and social impact of alcohol.
Annotated bibliography of 'pathways theory' of drug use, 2001 
The Pathways Theory of drug use describes a developmental progression from early initiation into and (mis)use of licit drugs such as alcohol and tobacco through the so-called 'soft' drugs which include cannabis and hallucinogens, and finally to the so-called 'hard' drugs such as heroin and cocaine. Allied theories include Gateway and Stepping Stones. This bibliography comprises abstracts of research papers on the three allied theories sourced in January 2001 from publicly available electronic databases, principally:
Encyclopedia of drugs and alcohol   1995  MBREF 362.2903/3
comprehensive source of information for nonspecialists covering diverse topics that are included under the broad general heading of substance use and abuse.
Encyclopedia of Life Sciences 
Comprehensive reference work for information in the biological sciences
Macmillan health encyclopedia. 1993  MBREF 610.3/111
NIAAA Alcohol and Alcohol Problems Science Database(ETOH)
National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism (NIAAA) has created this portal to support researchers and practitioners searching for information related to alcohol research.

Handbooks and Guidelines

Australian Illicit Drug Report 2001-2002  - Australian Crime Commission
This document is produced by the Australian Crime Commission (ACC) with endorsement of the eight Police Commissioners in Australia and the Australasian Police Ministers' Council.
Australian Standard Classification of Drugs of Concern, 2000
Comprises an explanation of the conceptual basis of the classification, the classification structure, definitions, and alphabetical and numerical order coding indexes. Primarily aims to ensure the compatibility and comparability of data on problem drugs derived from a range of different statistical and administrative systems.
Helping Patients Who Drink Too Much -  2005 - A Clinician's Guide
It has been produced by the National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism (NIAAA), a component of the National Institutes of Health, with guidance from physicians, nurses, advanced practice nurses, physician assistants, and clinical researchers.
National Drug Strategic Framework 2004-2009    - Australian Government
The National Drug Strategic Framework provides a vision and direction for Governments and non-government organisations in developing strategies and allocating resources for the prevention and reduction of the harmful effects of substance use on Australian society.
Reporting adverse drug reactions : definitions of terms and criteria for their use 1999
CIOMS (Council for International Orgnizations of Medical Sciences) has been the ethical aspect of biomedical technology and the bioethical considerations to be taken into account in determining and implementing health policy.

E-Resources

Alchohol Education & Rehabilitation Foundtion Ltd. Annual Reports
AER Foundation strives to:
- to prevent alcohol and other licit substance abuse, including petrol sniffing, particularly among vulnerable population groups such as Indigenous Australians and youth;
- to support evidence-based alcohol and other licit substance abuse treatment, rehabilitation, research and prevention programs;
-to promote community education encouraging responsible consumption of alcohol and highlighting the dangers of licit substance abuse;
-to promote public awareness of the work of the Foundation and raise funds from the private sector for the ongoing work of the Foundation;
-to provide funding grants to organisations with appropriate community linkages to deliver the services referred to in the above paragraphs
Australia's Health 2004
source of information on patterns of health and illness, determinants of health, the supply and use of health services, and health services expenditure
The Australian Institute of Health and Welfare (AIHW) is Australia's national agency for health and welfare statistics and information.
The Australian Institute of Health and Welfare (AIHW) is Australia's national agency for health and welfare statistics and information.
The Australian Institute of Health and Welfare (AIHW) is Australia's national agency for health and welfare statistics and information.
MIMS Online
database of abbreviated and full information on prescription and non-prescription drugs
National Alcohol Strategy A Plan for Action 2001 to 03-04 was endorsed by Ministerial Council on Drug Strategy in July 2001 to provide a national framework for action to reduce alcohol related harm in Australia and is structured on 11 key strategy areas.
National Alcohol Strategy was released in 2001. It has been designed to both complement and extend the National Drug Policy. It focuses on minimising alcohol-related harm to individuals, families and society
The Strategy aims to prevent the uptake of tobacco use, reduce numbers of those who use tobacco and reduce exposure to harmful health consequences.
National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism (NIAAA) has created this portal to support researchers and practitioners searching for information related to alcohol research.
It presents the updated prevention principles, an overview of program planning, and critical first steps for those learning about prevention.
Research Reports Index - National Institute on Drug Abuse
presents the updated prevention principles, an overview of program planning, and critical first steps for those learning about prevention.
Pregnant Women and Drugs, Alcohol and Tobacco  - NSW Office of Drug Policy
Following are a range of links to information on the effects of alcohol, tobacco and other drugs on pregnant women.