go to UNSW home page
UNSW logo UNSW Library Website Banner Picture

Contacts | Help
  
UNSW Library
Subject Guides
 
Art & Design
Arts & Social Sciences
Built Environment
Commerce & Economics
Engineering
Law
Medicine
Science
Subject Guides

EBM Image
Evidence Based Medicine Subject Guide

Key Resources | Databases | Journals | Reference Resources | Internet Links
 Current Awareness | Texts

Reference Resources


EBM Terminology

Evidence-Based Medicine Glossary
 
This glossary is intended to provide guidance as to the meanings of EBM terms.
Centre for Evidence Based Medicine at Oxford, U.K.
Glossary of EBM Terms
  Centre for Evidence-Based Medicine (CEBM) . Mount Sinai Hospital - University Health Network, Department of Medicine.
Glossary of Terms: a students guide
  Denison Library, University of Colorado

Tools and Filters

CATmaker
 
CATmaker is a software tool which helps you create Critically Appraised Topics, or CATs, for the key articles you encounter about Therapy, Diagnosis, Prognosis, Aetiology/Harm and Systematic Reviews of Therapy.
Expanded filters forPubMed
  Jan Glover at Yale has translated the Rochester filters for PubMed. Instructions are given for saving the filters to your PubMed Cubby.
EBM Toolbox
  Centre for Evidence Based Medicine at Oxford, U.K.
Evidence Based Medicine Toolkit
  University of Alberta
OVID Medline Filters
  University of Sydney.
PubMed Clinical Queries Filters
  National Library of Medicine
Search Strategies to Identify Reviews and Meta-analyses in MEDLINE and CINAHL
  Centre for Reviews and Dissemination (CRD), University of York.
Using EBM Filters in OVID Medline
  University of Washington

Guidelines

ACP Clinical Practice Guidelines
  American College of Physicians Clinical Practice Guidelines cover many areas of internal medicine, such as screening for cancer or other major diseases; diagnosis; treatment; and medical technology.
Canadian Clinical Guidelines
  These guidelines are produced or endorsed in Canada by a national, provincial/territorial or regional medical or health organization, professional society, government agency or expert panel.
CDC
  A CDC recommendations on a variety of health, prevention, and public health practice issues.
Clinicians Health Channel - Guidelines and Protocols 
  This clinical information access portal is part of the Victorian Government Health Information Website and is made available by the Department of Human Services for the benefit of clinicians working in the Victorian public health sector.
eGuidelines
  A searchable collection of large, full-text clinical practice guidelines, technology assessments and health information.
eMJA - Clinical Guidelines 
 
Clinical guidelines published by the MJA represent the consensus opinion of experts based on review of the scientific literature, guidelines are listed in each topic area from newest to oldest.
eTG - Therapeutic Guidelines 
  Therapeutic Guidelines has been used by health professionals for aver 20 years as a valuable second opinion in the management of patients with common clinical conditions.
Guidelines Finder
The Guidelines Finder provides an index to clinical guidelines and currently holds details of over 1200 UK national guidelines with links to Internet downloadable versions of the guidelines. It is updated on a weekly basis.
Health Services/Technology Assessment Text (HSTAT)
  A searchable collection of large, full-text clinical practice guidelines, technology assessments and health information.
National Guideline Clearinghouse (NGC)
  A public resource for evidence-based clinical practice guidelines. NGC is sponsored by the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ), U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, in partnership with the American Medical Association and the American Association of Health Plans-Health Insurance Association of America.
New Zealand Guidelines Group (NZGG)
  The NZGG is an independent, not-for-profit organisation set up to promote effective delivery of health and disability services, based on evidence.
NHMRC Clinical Practice Guidelines 
  National Health and Medical Research Council.
PRODIGY Guidance
  PRODIGY guidance from the UK offers advice on the management of conditions and symptoms that are commonly seen in primary care. The guidance is advisory and has been developed to assist healthcare professionals, together with patients, make decisions about the management of the patient's health.
Scottish Intercollegiate Guidelines Network (SIGN)
  SIGN has a programme of 60 evidence-based clinical guidelines - published, in development, or under review - covering a wide range of topics. Many of the SIGN guidelines relate to the NHS priority areas of cancer, cardiovascular disease, and mental health.

Online Tutorials

Evidence Based Medicine: Finding the Best Clinical Evidence
Evidence Based Medicine Tutorial
  University of Massachusetts Medical School.
Introduction to Evidence Based Medicine
  Self paced online tutorial designed for practitioners and students, giving an introduction to the principles of Evidence-based Medicine. Developed by Connie Schardt, Duke University Medical Center Library and Jill Mayer, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill Health Science Library.
Searching Medical Literature for the Best Evidence
  This tutorial aims to clarify the process of collecting evidence, from the literature, that can be used to improve the quality of clinical decision-making. University of Sydney.
SUNY Health Sciences Evidence Based Medicine Course
  Medical Research Library of Brooklyn.