go to UNSW home page
UNSW logo UNSW Library Website Banner Picture

Contacts | Help
  
UNSW Library
Subject Guides
 
Art & Design
Arts & Social Sciences
Built Environment
Commerce & Economics
Engineering
Law
Medicine
Science
Subject Guides

ecology
Ecology and Environmental Science Subject Guide


Databases


Databases - Environmental

ANR-Index : Agriculture and Natural Resources Index
  Formerly Australian Bibliography of Agriculture (ABOA), produced by Infoscan Pty Ltd. ANR-Index is a bibliographic database with informative abstracts and links to full text for agriculture and natural resources including sustainable Australian agriculture, food, forestry and fisheries industries and the promotion of conservation and sustainable use of Australia's environment, water and natural resources. 2000+
ANR-Index Archive: Agriculture and Natural Resources Index: ANR-Index Archive 
formerly ABOA and Streamline. ANR-Index Archive is a bibliographic database of older publications on agriculture and natural resources. 1975-2000, more current information is covered by ANR-Index.
ANR-Research : Agriculture and Natural Resources Research
formerly known as ARRIP, an Australian government initiative produced by Infoscan. It is a research in progress database that describes current and recently completed research projects across the agriculture and natural resources areas including sustainable Australian agriculture, food, forestry and fisheries industries and the promotion of conservation and sustainable use of Australia's environment, water and natural resources. current & recent completed research
ANR-Research Archive : Agriculture and Natural Resources Research Archive
formerly known as CARRP, an Australian government initiative produced by Infoscan. It contains completed research projects from the ANR-Research database across the agriculture and natural resources areas. 1984+
AHB - Australian Heritage Bibliography
Australian Heritage Bibliography (AHB) database, produced by the Australian Heritage Commission, indexes and abstracts articles from published and unpublished material on Australia's natural and cultural environment. Subject coverage includes national parks; endangered species; coasts; forests; wetlands; rivers; geological features; wilderness areas; world heritage sites. 1987+
Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts - ASFA
  Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA) database is a component of the Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Information System (ASFIS), formed by four United Nations agency sponsors of ASFA and a network of international and national partners. It contains Part 1, Biological sciences and living resources; Part 2, Ocean technology, policy and non-living resources; and: Part 3, Aquatic pollution and environmental quality. 1971+
Australian OH&S online
It holds materials mainly about Occupational Health and Safety information in Australia, but it also includes envionmrntal health, Toxicology, hazardous waste, industrial pollution information as well.
Biological Abstracts
  Biological Abstracts, produced by BIOSIS, is a key database for life sciences literature. Coverage includes traditional areas of biology, such as botany, zoology and microbiology, as well as related fields such as biomedical, agriculture, pharmacology and ecology. Interdisciplinary fields such as medicine, biochemistry, biophysics, bioengineering and biotechnology are also included. 1969+
BioMed Central
"BioMed Central is an independent publishing house committed to providing immediate free access to peer-reviewed biomedical research", all journals published by BioMed Central are 'Open Access', i.e. available online without charge. However, a number of journals by other puiblishers require an institutional or a personal subscription to view.
CAB Abstracts
  CAB Abstracts is a bibliographic database compiled by CAB International (CABI). It covers the significant research and development literature in the fields of agriculture, forestry, aspects of human health, human nutrition, animal health, and the management and conservation of natural resources.1973+
ELIXIR  
 
NRE's Electronic LIbrary eXchange for Information Resources (ELIXIR), produced by the Library and Information Services Unit of the Victorian Department of Natural Resources and Environment, is a bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts books, reports, theses, video recordings, manuscripts and pictorial matter in departmental libraries and regional collections. Subject coverage includes natural resources and environment ecology, conservation, forestry, national parks, botany, horticulture, pest control, plant control, animal control, aquaculture, fisheries, marine studies; environmental engineering; natural resources. 1990+
Endanger
  Threatened Species in Australia: A Select Bibliography (ENDANGER), produced by the Deakin University School of Aquatic Sciences & Natural Resources Management, is a bibliographic database that indexes published and unpublished material on Australian threatened flora and fauna and related topics. 1960+
Environmental Sciences + Pollution Management
Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management is a multidisciplinary database covering all areas of environmental sciences.
EVA
Environmental Abstracts (EVA) database is produced by the EPA Victoria Library. It is a bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts articles on the environment and related fields. Subject coverage includes air pollution and quality, sustainable development, salinity, environmental protection and management, hazardous wastes, recycling, waste management and disposal, water pollution, environmental assessment, and pollution control. 1990+
Expanded Academic ASAP
Expanded Academic ASAP is is a key collection for undergraduate research across a broad range of disciplines from arts and the humanities to social sciences, science and technology. It contains a mixture of indexing and full text resources of core journals such as: nature, environment and behavior, bioscience and climatic change.
General Science Full Text
  General Science Full Text, published by WilsonWeb, indexes literature from a broad range of scientific subject areas including: Astronomy; Atmospheric Science; Biology; Botany; Chemistry; Conservation; Earth Science; Environment; Food & Nutrition; Genetics; Health & Medicine; Mathematics; Microbiology; Oceanography; Physics; Physiology; Zoology. 1984+
Geobase
  Geobase is an interdisciplinary database strong on environmental and 'green' issues. It indexes journals, books, reports and theses, providing access to information for development studies, the Earth sciences, ecology, geomechanics, human geography, and oceanography.
  Management and Environment Information (MEDGE), produced by Information Edge, is a bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts articles on management issues for business and government from 1985 onwards. Subject coverage includes environmental management, recycling, ISO 14000, litter control, occupational health and safety, manufacturing research development and new technology. 1985+
Meteorological & Geoastrophysical Abstracts
MGA contains records drawn from the World's literature on meteorology, climatology, atmospheric chemistry and physics, astrophysics, hydrology, glaciology, physical oceanography and environmental sciences. Summaries from over 600 journal titles, as well as conference proceedings, books, technical reports and other monographs, are included.
Knovel Library
Knovel provides leading science and engineering books and databases, embedded with (interactive) productivity tools. Over 550 ebooks and databases are available with an average of 20 titles added annually. The "Environment and Environmental Engineering" section in the Knovel Library is highly relevant to this subject.
Oceanic Abstracts
 
Oceanic Abstracts is focused on worldwide technical literature pertaining to the marine and brackish-water environment. It includes information on marine biology and physical oceanography, fisheries, aquaculture, non-living resources, meteorology and geology, plus environmental, technological, and legislative topics.
Health and Safety Science Abstracts 
  Mainly Occupational Health and Safety information but includes envionmrntal health, Toxicology, hazardous waste, industrial pollution information as well.
REEF
  Great Barrier Reef Marine Park Province Database (REEF), produced by the Great Barrier Reef Marine Park Authority, is a bibliographic database that indexes articles from published and unpublished material about the Great Barrier Reef. 1990+
STREAMLINE
 
Australia's Natural Resources Database (STREAMLINE), produced by Infoscan Pty Ltd for the Land and Water Resources Research and Development Corporation and the Urban Water Research Association of Australia, is a bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts articles from published and unpublished material on all aspects of natural resource management. Subjects cover the sustainable management of land, vegetation and water resources. 1990+
 
Open Access Databases
Australia's national database of pollutant emissions (Australia)
The National Pollutant Inventory (NPI) provides Australians with free access to information on the types and amounts of pollutants being emitted in their community. Note: You can search pollutant by postal code or the data of emission by facilty from the search boxes on the top right hand corner on the screen.
Digital Soil Geographic Database
It is a compendium of online soil information in the Internet, compiled by D G Rossiter, International Institute for Geo-Information Science and Earth Observation (ITC). Some of the databases listed are not free.
DAIN Metadatabase of Internet Resources for Environmental Chemicals
Free access to environmental chemical information from the University of Kassel.
OzEstuaries
OzEstuaries was initially developed as part of the National Land and Water Resources Audit (NLWRA) to incorporate existing estuarine datasets and information compiled by the NLWRA. Upon completion of the NLWRA in 2001, OzEstuaries was enhanced as part of the Coastal CRC's National Estuaries project.
SOLV-DB
One-stop free access to data on solvents National Center for Manufacturing Sciences in US.
Toxnet
Free access to a cluster of databases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, and related areas from the U.S. National Library of Medicine; including Toxline.
Trade & Environment Database (TED), US
Part ofthe Mandala Projects, TED is a collection of categorical case studies that began with a focus on solely environmental issues, but did not include the economic consequences of other social policy choices, such as culture, rights, or other issues.
UN-Habitat Best Practices Database
The database contains proven solutions to common social, economic and environmental problems of an urbanising and globalising world. Over 1600 practices from 140 countries demonstrate practical ways in which public, private and civil society sectors are working together to improve governance, eradicate poverty, provide housing, land and basic services, protect the environment and support economic development.

Related Database

Journal Citation Reports
Journal Citation Reports (JCR), published by ISI, is a resource tool for journal evaluation, using citation data drawn from over 8,400 journals from over 3,000 publishers worldwide. Useful for finding out which journals are making an impact on the literature of a particular subject area.
JSTOR 
JSTOR maintains a trusted archive of important scholarly journals, it covers historical publications primarily in the humanities and social sciences, but extended to across almost all disciplines including environmental sciences.
Search tips:  Follow the JSTOR link to the Advanced Search page. Scroll down and nominate your subject areas e.g. Botany & Plant Sciences, Ecology & Evolutionary Biology, History of Science & Technology, etc.; then, put in the search terms in the search boxes. As JSTOR citations before the 1960s do not have an abstract to search in, you may have to search on the full-text contents for more fruitful results.
Scopus
Scopus is an abstract and citation database of research literature including peer-reviewed titles, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, patent records, scientific web pages, and seamless links to full text articles and other library resources. It is updated daily.
Web of Science
  It provides web-based access to citation indexes of over 8,000 selected journals across all disciplines worldwide.