go to UNSW home page
UNSW logo UNSW Library Website Banner Picture

Contacts | Help
  
UNSW Library
Subject Guides
 
Art & Design
Arts & Social Sciences
Built Environment
Commerce & Economics
Engineering
Law
Medicine
Science
Subject Guides

ecology
Ecology and Environmental Science Subject Guide


Journals

High Impact Journals
These journals have been selected using Journal Citation Reports (JCR), a resource tool for journal evaluation. According to JCR, these journals have a high impact on the literature of this particular subject area when compared with other journals in the field.
Trends in ecology & evolution
 
Print: MB Vol. 1 (1986)-v. 14 (1999)
Full text available online from Vol. 10, issue 1 (1995) - current
Annual review of ecology and systematics
 
Print: MB Vol. 1 (1970)-v. 33 (2002)
Full text available online from Vol.1, issue1 (1970) - current
Ecological monographs
 
Print: MB Vol. 20 (1950)-v. 27 (1957) ; v. 30 (1960)-
Full text available online from Vol. 1, issue1 (1931) - current
Ecology letters
Full text available online from Vol.1, issue1 (1998)- current
Global change biology
Print: MB Vol. 2, no. 1 (Feb. 1996)-v. 8, no. 12 (Dec. 2002)
Full text available online from Vol. 3, issue 1 (1997) - current
 
Recommended Journals
Journals via Expanded Academic ASAP
key collection for undergraduate research. It contains a mixture of indexing and full text resources of core journals across a broad range of disciplines. Includes articles from titles such as:
- Nature
- Environment and Behavior
- BioScience Report
- Climatic Change
 
Open Access E-Journals
Consequences
by Saginaw Valley State University
Directory of Open Access Journals: Earth and Environmental Sciences 
It "covers free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals" across subjects and in various languages.
Enviro Network News
by NSW Environment Protection Authority. "A newsletter for environmental managers in local government organisations"
Electronic Green Journal
 
by University of Idaho. Includes "peer-reviewed articles, book reviews, news, and information on current printed and electronic sources concerning international environmental topics."
Journals published by Ecological Society of America
Open access to all abstracts and some full-text articles of the following journals:
- Issues in Ecology 
- Frontiers in Ecology and the Environment
- Bulletin of the Ecological Society of America
- Ecology
- Ecological Monographs
- Ecological Applications
Environmental Health Perspectives
by Environmental Health Information Service National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences, National Institutes of Health, USA.
Public Health and the Environment 
Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry (ATSDR). U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. Quarterly newsletter
PLoS Biology features works of exceptional significance in all areas of biological science, from molecules to ecosystems, including works at the interface with other disciplines, such as chemistry, medicine, and mathematics.
Sustainability is a peer-reviewed, open access journal that provides a platform for the dissemination of new practices and for dialogue emerging out of the field of sustainability.

Journals held in the UNSW Library Collection

Specific Journal Title
Search the UNSW Library Resources Database by entering the journal title in the "Search for" box, changing the drop-down menu from "Keyword All Fields" to Title Keyword and LIMIT by format to Journals only.
 
Journals by Subject Area
Search the UNSW Library Resources Database by entering appropriate subject terms in the "Search for" box, changing the drop down menu from "Keyword All Fields" to Subject Keyword and LIMIT by format to Journals Only.
Useful terms for subject search inlcudes: human ecology, environmental protection, environmental policy, environmental monitoring, biogeography, nature, pollution.
 
Quick Link to Ecology relatedjournals held by UNSW Library.
Quick Link to Environmental related journals held by UNSW Library.
 
Please note:  The Library Resources Database will give you a list of brief display of each record. Clicking on the title will take you you to the full record.The record will tell you the location and which issues of the journal are held, as well as whether the journal has electronic access.  If the journal is available online, you will see an "Online Access" hyperlink on the record.

Journals not held in the UNSW Library

Search Serials in Australian Libraries (SIAL), by title for specific journals held in other Libraries. Location codes are listed in the Interlibrary Resource Sharing (ILRS) Directory
 
Please note: Staff and postgraduate students may request interlibrary loans for materials not held by UNSW Library