| |

|
 |
Ecology and Environmental Science Subject Guide
Internet Links
Australian
| AANRO (Australian Agriculture and Natural Resources Online) |
|
|
AANRO is a knowledge base of bibliographic and research information designed as a national decision support system and single access point for knowledge on Australian agriculture and natural resource management (ANR). Funded by Australian Commonwealth and State Governments.
|
| ADG (Australian Development Gateway) |
|
|
Australian Development Gateway, part of the Development Gateway Foundation based in Washington DC launched by the World Bank, is a knowledge-sharing website, supporting people working in Asia Pacific countries to reduce poverty and promote sustainability. It is a mechanism for Australians and others in the Asia Pacific region to contribute knowledge and to engage in vigorous discussion. |
| Australian Natural Resource Web Directory |
|
|
"It's a free web directory ... in the area of Environmental Management, focussing mainly on Australia." |
| ASDD (Australian Spatial Data Directory) |
|
|
ASDD is an essential component of the Australian Spatial Data Infrastructure (ASDI). It provides search interfaces to discover geospatial dataset descriptions (metadata) throughout Australia. |
| EPA (Environment Protection Authority) |
| |
EPA is part of the Department of Environment and Conservation, NSW. It is responsible for administering the Protection of the Environment Operations Act 1997 (POEO Act) and statutory functions and powers in the this Act. |
| ERIN (Environmental Resources Information Network) |
| |
An information service of Department of Environment and Heritage (DEH) that provides free access to a network of environmental databases for policy developers and decision makers |
| IES Environment Network |
| |
Institute of Environmental Studies, University of NSW |
| NatureBase |
|
|
Provided by the Department of Conservation and Land Management, Government of Western Australia. |
| National Dryland Salinity Program |
|
|
Australia's National Dryland Salinity Program is a collaborative research and development effort that is investigating the causes of, and solutions to, the national problem of dryland salinity. |
| National Strategy for the Conservation of Australia's Biological Diversity |
|
|
Department of the Environment, Sport and Territories, 1996 |
| NSW National Parks and Wildlife Service (NPWS) |
|
|
NPWS is part of the Department of Environment and Conservation, NSW, is the government body responsible for developing and maintaining the parks and reserve system, and conserving natural and cultural heritage, in the state of New South Wales, Australia. |
| SILO - Meteorology for the Land |
|
|
SILO provides a rich source of meteorological and agricultural data of particular interest to anyone involved in the agricultural arena. Some materials in the site require subscriptions. |
| WALIS (Western Australian Land Information System) |
| |
WALIS is a partnership of 27 State Government agencies, Local Government authorities and an increasing number of private organisations dedicated to improving the management and use of the (Western Australian) Stateâs land and geographic information. |
International
| Agricultural Research Data Directory (US) |
|
|
AGROS is a collection of data descriptions of USDA (United Stated Department of Agriculture) funded research, including soil, crop and plant, forest, rangeland, animal sciences, and other natural resource research areas, as well as economics, population, and food safety. |
| Convention on Biological Diversity |
|
|
Convention on Biological Diversity, an United Nations Environment Programme, is dedicated to promoting sustainable development. The Convention aims at the conservation of biological diversity, the sustainable use of its components, and the fair and equitable sharing of the benefits from the use of genetic resources. |
| Ecology WWW Page |
|
|
compiled by Anthony R. Brach, Missouri Botanical Garden & Harvard University Herbaria, U.S.A |
| Envirolink Library |
| |
EnviroLink is a non-profit organization, dedicated to providing comprehensive, up-to-date environmental information and news |
| Global Environment Outlook 2000 |
| |
United Nations Environment Programme. Division of Environmental Information, Assessment and Early Warning |
| Global Forest Watch |
|
|
produced by World Resources Institute, Washington, DC. Full reports, summaries and interactive maps of old-growth and primary forests. Unsustainable development practices reported for several countries |
| IUCN Red List of Threatened Species |
|
|
The IUCN Red List is to catalogues and highlights those taxa that are facing a higher risk of global extinction, including taxa that are close to meeting the threatened thresholds. there is a searchable database on threatened species in the website. A printed version of 2000 IUCN red list of threatened species(with CD) is available in the Library. |
| Natural Selection: Ecology (UK) |
|
|
Natural Selection offers free access to a searchable catalogue of hand-selected and evaluated, quality Internet resources covering the natural world, co-ordinated by The Natural History Museum, London. |
| National Library for the Environment (US) |
|
|
National Council for Science and the Environment, Washington, D.C. A gateway to environmental information and data |
| STORET (US) |
|
|
STORET is an operational system actively being populated with water quality data in America, provided by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA). |
Subject Directories
| About.com |
| |
biology subject directory (search for ecology and environmental science) |
| Australian Government Agriculture Portal, Australian Government |
|
|
This is a catalogue of Australian, State and Territory Government information and services for the agricultural, fisheries, processed food and forestry industries. |
| Parliamentary Library: Environment and Natural Resources (Internet) Directory (AU) |
|
|
Internet resources links in the Parliamentary Library website, supported by the Parliament of Australia. |
| Natural Resources Research Information Pages (NRRIPS) (US) |
|
|
NRRIPS is "intended to be an Internet resource guide for researchers, practitioners and students in the natural resources field", compiled and maintained by Yu-Fai Leung, Parks, Recreation and Tourism Management, North Carolina State University. |
| The Environmental Directory |
| |
It is the largest environmental organization web directory on the Web |
| Yahoo! directory: Environment and Nature |
|
The Yahoo! Directory is a human-created and maintained library of web sites organized into categories and subcategories. Yahoo! editors review these sites for potential inclusion in the Directory, and to evaluate the best place to list them. |
|
|