go to UNSW home page
UNSW logo UNSW Library Website Banner Picture

Contacts | Help
  
UNSW Library
Subject Guides
 
Art & Design
Arts & Social Sciences
Built Environment
Commerce & Economics
Engineering
Law
Medicine
Science
Subject Guides

ecology
Ecology and Environmental Science Subject Guide


Organisations


Australian

Australian Government Directory (incorporating Business Australia)
A directory of information on Australian. There is a section on Environment & Conservation organisations and associations, and, you can also search by the search engines.
Australian Bureau of Agricultural and Resource Economics (ABARE)
ABARE is an Australian government economic research agency noted for its professionally independent research and analysis. ABARE "regularly publishes short and medium term forecasts for a range of commodities". Quite a wide range of ABARE publications are free for download via the Publications section in the website.
Australian Institute of Agricultural Science and Technology (AIAST)
 AIAST represents professionals working in Agricultural Science and Natural Resource Management. Its members are engaged in a wide range of activities including research, education, government, agribusiness and private consulting.
Australia New Zealand Land Information Council 
ANZLIC's role is to facilitate easy and cost effective access to the wealth of spatial data and services provided by a wide range of organisations in the public and private sectors.
CSIRO Research
CSIRO (Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organisation) is a diverse scientific global research organisation touches every aspect of Australian life: from the molecules that build life to the molecules in space.
Department of Agriculture, Fisheries and Forestry, Australian Government
DAFF has the dual roles of providing customer services to the agricultural, food, fisheries and forest industries, and addressing the challenges of natural resource management.
Department of the Environment and Heritage ( DEH), Australian Government
Australian Government Department of the Environment and Heritage ( DEH) develops and implements national policy, programs and legislation to protect and conserve Australia's natural environment and cultural heritage
Department of Environment and Conservation (DEC), NSW Government
The main government conservation agency in New South Wales, Australia. DEC works towards a healthy environment cared for and enjoyed by the whole NSW community. DEC brings together the Environment Protection Authority (EPA), NSW National Parks and Wildlife Service (NPWS), former Resource NSW and Botanic Gardens Trust.
Environment Business Australia (EBA)
EBA aims to establish national and international networks to link Australian capacity and solutions with environmental challenges and problems.
Environmental Protection Agency, Queensland Government
The Agency deals with a wide range of environmental issues including environmental managementnature conversation and ecoaccess. Specially recommend the Regional ecosystems under the "Biodiversity" section; it supports a Regional System Map that allow the public to download regional maps in PDF with selected area of interests via email.
Geoscience Australia
Geoscience Australia is Australia's national agency for geoscience research and geospatial information.
Land and Water Australia, Australian Government
It aims to provide "national leadership in generating knowledge, informing debate and inspiring innovation and action in sustainable natural resources management." It also provide access to the Australian Agriculture and Natural Resources Online (AANRO) via Streamline database.
Natural Heritage Trust
The Natural Heritage Trust ( NHT) was set up by the Australian Government in 1997 to help restore and conserve Australia's environment and natural resources.
National Centre for Engineering in Agriculture 
The NCEA is undertaking engineering research relevant to the agribusiness sector and the natural resource base it utilises. 
National Land and Water Resources Audit
The Audit significantly progressed the collection and collation of primary data and information related to Australia's natural resource management.It also includes the Australian National Resources Atlas.

International

Biology & Environment section in The Scholarly-Societies Project (Cananda)
The Scholarly-Societies Project sponsored by the University of Waterloo Library provides links to selected scholarly organisations' websites all over the world. It also has an inventory of the oldest scholarly-societies. Select the related subject area in the section "Biology & Environment" for organisations in your interest, especially the Ecology, Biodiversity & Conservation Biology, and  Environmental Sciences areas.
Food and Agricultural Organisation of the United Nations (FAO)  (US)
FAO aims to help developing countries and countries in transition modernize and improve agriculture, forestry and fisheries practices and ensure good nutrition for all.
IUCN - The World Conservation Union
The World Conservation Union, formally known as IUCN (the International Union for the Conservation of Nature and Natural Resources), is the world’s largest and most important conservation network. It brings together government and non-government agencies from 181 countries in a unique worldwide partnership. IUCN has 6 Commissions: Ecosystem Management; Education and Communication; Environmental, Economic and Social Policy; Environmental Law; Protected Areas & Species Survival. See also the latest IUCN Red List of Threatened Species supported by the Species Survival Commission of IUCN.
Natural Resources Conservation Service (US)
  Natural Resources Conservation Service, United States Department of Agriculture, provides "in a partnership effort to help America's private land owners and managers conserve their soil, water, and other natural resources."
Research at the Natural History Museum (UK)
  Biodiversity, the Environment, Minerals and Resources. The Museum develops an understanding of the natural world: of the taxonomy of important and newly discovered organisms, of their relationships and evolution, and of the nature of minerals, ores and meteorites.
UNESCO: Natural Science
The Natural Science Major Programme of UNSESO aims to improve human security through a better management of the environment.
World Energy Council (WEC) (UK)
  Established in 1923 and has Member Committees in over 90 countries, WEC covers all types of energy issues, including coal, oil, natural gas, nuclear, hydro, and renewables, and is an UN-accredited, non-governmental, non-commercial and non-aligned organisation based at London. The WEC's Energy Information Centre provides searchable database of energy data and other related information all over the world collected from various sources. WEC also has a rich collection of reports and papers available free at its Online Publications  page, the Archive and the World Energy Congress website.