go to UNSW home page
UNSW logo UNSW Library Website Banner Picture

Contacts | Help
  
UNSW Library
Subject Guides
 
Art & Design
Arts & Social Sciences
Built Environment
Commerce & Economics
Engineering
Law
Medicine
Science
Subject Guides

ecology
Ecology and Environmental Science Subject Guide

Key ResourcesDatabases | Journals | Reference Resources | Organisations | Internet Links 

Reference resources


Encyclopedias

Blackwell's concise encyclopedia of ecology (1999)
 
Print: PREF 577.03/2
Ecology : the experimental analysis of distribution and abundance (1994)
Print: MB 574.5/61G
Encyclopedia of atmospheric sciences
Print: PREF 551.503/8 /(1) to (6) Six-volume set (2003)
Fulltext available online (UNSW Subscription)
Encyclopedia of energy
Print:PREF 333.7903/3 /(1) to (6) Six-volume set
Fulltext available online (UNSW Subscription)
Encyclopedia of environmental biology (1995)
Print: PREF 574.503/8 (1) to (3) Three-volume set
Encyclopedia of environmental science (1999)
Print: PREF 333.7/331
Encyclopedia of forest sciences
Fulltext available online (UNSW Subscription)
Encyclopedia of geology
Print: PREF 551.03/11 /(1) to (5) Five-volume set (2005)
Fulltext available online (UNSW Subscription)
Encyclopedia of Life Sciences 
by the Nature Publishing Group (online tutorial available).
Full text available online (with regularly updated contents).
Encyclopedia of Ocean Sciences (2001)
Print: PREF 551.46003/6 /(1)-(6)
Full text available online (with regularly updated contents).
Environmental Contaminants Encyclopedia  (1998)
open online resources supported by National Park Service, Colorado, USA
The Encyclopedia of the environment (1994)
Print: MBREF 363.7003/6
The encyclopedia of ecology & environmental management (1998)
Print: PREF 363.7003/10
Treatise on geochemistry (2004)
Print: PREF 551.9/90/(1) to (10) Ten-volume set

Dictionaries

Biodiversity Glossary of Terms
Open online resources supported by the World Resources Institute.
A Dictionary of Ecology edited by Michael Allaby 2004
Full text available online via the Oxford Reference online
Dictionary of Ecology and Environmental Science (1993)
Print: PREF 363.7003/3
Dictionary of Environmental Health (2002)
Print: MBREF 616.9803/48
The Macmillan Dictionary of the Australian environment (1991)
Print: REF 574.503/7A
The Penguin Dictionary of Biology (1994)
Print: MBREF 574.03/3W

Other Resources

The Australian Bureau of Statistics (ABS) provides valuable statistical data of Australian's lives and their environment, "which are widely used by governments and businesses, as well as the media":
Australian Natural Resources Atlas
  aims to provide ready access to information to support natural resource management
Convention on Biological Diversity
  United Nations Environment Program
DEH "develops and implements national policy, programs and legislation to protect and conserve Australia's natural environment and cultural heritage." It is a very important source of environmental information in Australia, including: 
Register of Ecological Models
  cooperative service of the University of Kassel and the GSF - National Research Center for Environment and Health (Federal Republic of Germany and State of Bavaria)
National Service Center for Environmental Publications
  US EPA
NSW Environmental Legislation
  Environment Protection Authority (NSW)
National Academies Press
NAP publications on Environmental Issues
National Environmental Data Index (NEDI)
US Department of Commerce
State of the Environment Australia (2006)
An independent Committee appointed by the Minister for the Environment and Heritage to establish the environment & sustainability strategic direction in Australia. 
Regional SoE reports (including the previous reports) are accessible via the website.