go to UNSW home page
UNSW logo UNSW Library Website Banner Picture

Contacts | Help
  
UNSW Library
Subject Guides
 
Art & Design
Arts & Social Sciences
Built Environment
Commerce & Economics
Engineering
Law
Medicine
Science
Subject Guides

image
Environmental Health Subject Guide


 

Databases

APAIS - Health
  Australian Public Affairs Information Service - Health (APAIS-Health), produced by the National Library of Australia, is a bibliographic database that indexes articles from published material. APAIS-Health covers health and medicine in Australia and in particular the legal, social, economic and ethical aspects of health. Clinical articles are not indexed for APAIS-Health. This database is a subset of the APAIS database. 1978+
CINAHL
CINAHL is the definitive reference tool covering the English language journal literature for nursing and allied health disciplines
EMBASE 
  The Excerpta Medica database (EMBASE) produced by Elsevier Science, is a major biomedical and pharmaceutical database indexing over 3,500 international journals in the following fields: drug research, pharmacology, pharmaceutics, toxicology, clinical and experimental human medicine, health policy and management, public health, occupational health, environmental health, drug dependence and abuse, psychiatry, forensic medicine, and biomedical engineering/instrumentation. There is selective coverage for nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, psychology, and alternative medicine. 1988+
HealthWIZ
HealthWIZ, produced by the Australian Government Department of Health and Ageing, is the National Social Health Statistical Data Library. It contains comprehensive population health related statistical databases, from across the Australian health services sector, for the purposes of clinical research, policy development and health services planning, particularly in regional areas. 1970+
( CD-ROM ONLY - May be borrowed from Biomedical Library information desk - for use in the library)
Medline via OVID
  Medline is produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine. It is the electronic counterpart of Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature, and the International Nursing Index. Medline contains bibliographic citations and author abstracts from more than 4,600 biomedical journals. An Online tutorial for Medline is also available. 1966+

Occupational Health and Safety, Toxicology and Related Databases

AusStats
AusStats is the Australian Bureau of Statistic's (ABS) web-based information service - providing you with the full ABS product range online, updated daily.
Australian OH&S Online
Australian OH&S Online, published by IHS Australia, provides full text access to 11,400 documents from over 120 organisations. The database is a collection of occupational health and safety information which includes: - Legislation - Codes of Practice - Guidelines - Policy Statements - Safety Alerts - Reports - Circulars & Bulletins - Workcover Publications
ChemID Plus
ChemID Plus, produced by the US Natioanl Librray of Medicine, is a resource that can be used to investigate chemicals that affect biological functions in humans and animals. It gives detailed information on every chemical discussed in Medline.
EVA 
Environmental Abstracts (EVA) database is produced by the EPA Victoria Library. It is a bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts articles on the environment and related fields. Subject coverage includes air pollution and quality, sustainable development, salinity, environmental protection and management, hazardous wastes, recycling, waste management and disposal, water pollution, environmental assessment, and pollution control. 1990+
Health and Safety Science Abstracts
The CSA Health and Safety Science Abstracts database provides access to recent work relating to public health, safety and industrial hygiene. Topic coverage includes  1981+
MEDGE
Management and Environment Information (MEDGE), produced by Information Edge, is a bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts articles on management issues for business and government from 1985 onwards. Subject coverage includes environmental management, recycling, ISO 14000, litter control, occupational health and safety, manufacturing research development and new technology. 1985+
POPLINE
POPLINE, published by John Hopkins University Press, contains bibliographic citations and abtracts on population-related topic including : human fertiltiy, contraceptive methods, family planning services, maternal and child health, AIDS in developing countries, program operations and evaluation, demography, censuses, vital statistics, and related health, law and policy issues. 1968+
Scopus
Scopus is an abstract and citation database of research literature including peer-reviewed titles, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, patent records, scientific web pages, and seamless links to full text articles and other library resources. It is updated daily.
Toxnet 
Toxicology Data Network (TOXNET), published by the US National Library of Medicine, is an integrated system of toxicology and environmental health databases. It includes Toxline, a bibliographic database of literature on the biochemical, pharmacological, physiological, and toxicological effects of drugs and other chemicals.