| |

|
 |
Epidemiology and Health Statistics Subject Guide
Databases
|
|
| |
Australasian Medical Index (AMI), produced by the National Library of Australia, indexes and abstracts articles from over 160 Australasian health and medical serials. Most of these are not indexed for MEDLINE. Subject coverage includes all aspects of health and medicine, with an emphasis on clinical medicine and paraprofessional fields. Source documents include journals, conference proceedings, government reports, selected monographs and National Health and Medical Research Council (NHMRC) session reports. 1968+ |
| AusStats |
| |
AusStats is the Australian Bureau of Statistic's (ABS) web-based information service - providing you with the full ABS product range online, updated daily. |
| CAB Abstracts |
| |
CAB Abstracts is a bibliographic database compiled by CAB International (CABI). It covers the significant research and development literature in the fields of agriculture, forestry, aspects of human health, human nutrition, animal health, and the management and conservation of natural resources. 1973+ |
| CDATA2001 |
|
|
Australian 2001 Census data. Only available at the Information Desk in the Social Sciences and Humanities Library, Kensington campus. |
| CLIB2001 |
|
|
Australian 2001 Census data arranged in tables. Only available at the Information Desk in the Social Sciences and Humanities Library, Kensington campus. |
| EMBASE |
| |
The Excerpta Medica database (EMBASE) produced by Elsevier Science, is a major biomedical and pharmaceutical database indexing over 3,500 international journals in the following fields: drug research, pharmacology, pharmaceutics, toxicology, clinical and experimental human medicine, health policy and management, public health, occupational health, environmental health, drug dependence and abuse, psychiatry, forensic medicine, and biomedical engineering/instrumentation. There is selective coverage for nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, psychology, and alternative medicine. 1988+ |
| Cochrane Library |
| |
The Cochrane Library is a collection of evidence-based medicine databases. National access to the Cochrane Library is funded by the Commonwealth Government of Australia - click on "Login anonymously" button. The NICS Guide to the Cochrane Library is also available.
The Cochrane Library contains the following EBM databases:
- The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews Complete reviews
- Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effectiveness Abstracts of quality assessed systematic reviews
- The Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL)
- The Cochrane Database of Methodology Reviews Complete reviews
- The Cochrane Methodology Register References
- Collaborative Review Groups
- Methods Groups
- Health Technology Assessment Database (HTA) Abstracts by INAHTA and other healthcare technology agencies
- NHS Economic Evaluation Database (NHS EED)
For UNSW staff and students outside Australia, please use the following access to Ovid databases:
|
| HealthWIZ |
| |
HealthWIZ, produced by the Australian Government Department of Health and Ageing, is the National Social Health Statistical Data Library. It contains comprehensive population health related statistical databases, from across the Australian health services sector, for the purposes of clinical research, policy development and health services planning, particularly in regional areas. 1970+
( CD-ROM ONLY - May be borrowed from Biomedical Library information desk - for use in the library)
|
| Medline via OVID |
| |
Produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine. MEDLINE encompasses information from Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature, and International Nursing, as well as other sources of coverage in the areas of allied health, biological and physical sciences, humanitites and information science as they relate to medicine and health care, communication disorders, and reproductive biology. Over 3900 journals are indexed by this database. An Online tutorial for searching Medline is also available. 1966+ |
| OECD Health Data 2004 |
|
|
OECD Health Data 2004 offers a comprehensive source of comparable statistics on health and health systems across OECD countries.
Instructions:
- Download this data application to your desktop from the SourceOECD collection of databases
- Select OECD Databases from the "Go to" dropdown menu at the top of the SourceOECD homepage.
- Select OECD Health Data from the list
- Click on download and follow the instructions under Procedure.
|
| POPLINE |
| |
POPLINE, published by John Hopkins University Press, contains bibliographic citations and abtracts on population-related topic including : human fertiltiy, contraceptive methods, family planning services, maternal and child health, AIDS in developing countries, program operations and evaluation, demography, censuses, vital statistics, and related health, law and policy issues. 1968+ |
| Scopus |
|
|
Scopus is an abstract and citation database of research literature including peer-reviewed titles, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, patent records, scientific web pages, and seamless links to full text articles and other library resources. It is updated daily.
|
| Web of Science |
|
|
Web of Science, published by Thomson ISI, provides access to current and retrospective multidisciplinary information from approximately 8,700 journals. This database also provides a unique search method, cited reference searching. It is made up of a suite of databases, including Science Citation Index 1945+
|
|
|