| Australia's Health |
| |
[E-document] Australia's Health is the biennial health report of the Australian Institute of Health and Welfare. It is the nation's authoritative source of information on patterns of health and illness, determinants of health, the supply and use of health services, and health services expenditure |
| Centers for Disease Control and Prevention |
|
|
[Website] CDC is the US Federal Agency that serves as the national focus for developing and applying disease prevention and control, environmental health, and health promotion and education activities designed to improve the health of the people of the United States. This site provides i nformation on diseases, injuries and disabilities. |
| Communicable Diseases Australia (CDA) |
| |
[Website] The website introduces the work undertaken by the Surveillance Section, Australian Government Department of Health and Ageing. It coordinates the national surveillance of notifiable and other communicable diseases, manages and liaises with specific communicable disease surveillance programs, provides expert technical advice on surveillance and epidemiology across the Surveillance Branch, and fosters collaboration on national strategies to improve communicable disease surveillance. |
| HealthWIZ |
|
|
[CD ROM] HealthWIZ, produced by the Australian Government Department of Health and Ageing, is the National Social Health Statistical Data Library. It contains comprehensive population health related statistical databases, from across the Australian health services sector, for the purposes of clinical research, policy development and health services planning, particularly in regional areas. 1970+
( CD-ROM ONLY - May be borrowed from Biomedical Library information desk - for use in the library)
|
| Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report |
|
|
[E-journal] The Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report (MMWR) Series is prepared by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC). The data in the weekly MMWR are provisional, based on weekly reports to CDC by US state health departments. |
| National health data dictionary |
|
|
[Database] The National Health Data Dictionary (NHDD) contains the data definitions currently formally approved by the National Health Information Management Group (NHIMG). Under the National Health Information Agreement (NHIA), the NHDD is the authoritative source of health data definitions used in Australia where national consistency is required. It is designed to improve the comparability of data across the health arena. |
| WHO Statistical Information System (WHOSIS) |
|
|
[Database] The WHO Statistical Information System is the guide to health and health-related epidemiological and statistical information available from the World Health Organization. |
| World Health Report 2004 |
|
|
[E-document] The World Health Report, first published in 1995, is World Health Organisation's leading publication. Each year the report combines an expert assessment of global health, including statistics relating to all countries, with a focus on a specific subject. |