go to UNSW home page
UNSW logo UNSW Library Website Banner Picture

Contacts | Help
  
UNSW Library
Subject Guides
 
Art & Design
Arts & Social Sciences
Built Environment
Commerce & Economics
Engineering
Law
Medicine
Science
Subject Guides

Chart of incidence of diabetes amongst Pima Indians - from Images.MD
Epidemiology and Health Statistics Subject Guide

Key ResourcesDatabases | Journals | Reference Resources 


Reference Resources


Dictionaries and Encyclopaedias

Concise medical dictionary 
Oxford Reference Online 
Dictionary of (ecological) epidemiology 
Online dictionary edited by Jonathan Swinton, University of Cambridge
Dictionary of epidemiology (4th ed.) New York: Oxford University Press, 2001
[Print resource] UNSW Library Shelf no: MBREF614.403/1G
ICD-9-CM, 3 digit headings  
International Classification of Diseases (ICD) Headings, reformatted for the World Wide Web by Epidemiology and Surveillance Branch, Public Health Division, NSW Health Department.
MedlinePlus Medical Encyclopaedia
The adam Health Illustrated Encyclopedia includes over 4,000 articles about diseases, tests, symptoms, injuries, and surgeries. It also contains an extensive library of medical photographs and illustrations.
MedlinePlus Medical Dictionary
An online dictionary from the US National Library of Medicine and the National Institutes of Health
National health data dictionary
 The National Health Data Dictionary (NHDD) contains the data definitions currently formally approved by the (Aust) National Health Information Management Group

Guides and Tutorials

Control of communicable diseases manual. (17th ed.) American Public Health Association, 2000.
[Print Resource] UNSW Library Shelf no: MB614.4/80H
Epidemiology for the Uninitiated 
(4th ed.) / E-book by E. Coggon et.al, BMJ Collections.
Good Epidemiological Practice: proper conduct in epidemiological research
From the International Epidemiological Association, European Epidemiology Group. This document is an introduction to the principles of how best to follow accepted ethical principles while maintaining good quality research. They are proposed as a reference for research, collaboration, communication and peer review in epidemiological research.
Helsinki Declaration
The World Medical Association has developed the Declaration of Helsinki as a statement of ethical principles to provide guidance to physicians and other participants in medical research involving human subjects.
How to read a paper : Statistics for the non-statistician
BMJ 1997;315:364-366 (9 August)
How to read a paper : Statistics for the non-statistician II : "significant" relations and their pitfalls
BMJ 1997;315:422-425 (16 August)
Research Resources in Epidemiology
An online tutorial from the UCLA Biomed Library
Statistics at Square One
The 9th ed. of the original book by TDV Swinscow
Supercourse: epidemiology, the internet and global health
Overview of epidemiology and the Internet for medical and health-related students from University of Pittsburgh.

Australian Resources

AIHW Publications
An index of Health publications from the Australian Institute of Health and Welfare (AIHW)
Australian Bureau of Statistics
Health Theme page - includes links to current health related publications from Australia's official statistical agency
Australian Health Map
A state-by-state guide to health resources, statistics and information from ABC Online
Australia's Health
Australia's Health is the biennial health report of the Australian Institute of Health and Welfare. It is the nation's authoritative source of information on patterns of health and illness, determinants of health, the supply and use of health services, and health services expenditure
Communicable Diseases Australia
For information on incidence and risk factors for communicable diseases in Australia
National Notifiable Diseases Surveillance System (NNDSS) / Communicable Diseases Australia
The NNDS System co-ordinates the national surveillance of more than 50 communicable diseases or disease groups.
The Knowledgebase
Australia's health, community services and housing metadata registery from the Australian Institute of Health and Welfare.
Malaria Database
Maintained by the Department of Microbiology, Monash University , and The Walter and Eliza Hall Institute of Medical Research, Melbourne. Funded by the UNDP/ World Bank/ WHO/ TDR Special Programme for Research and Training in Tropical Diseases.
National Cardiovascular Disease & Diabetes Database (NCDDD)
The purpose of this database is to provide easy access to the data currently held by the Cardiovascular Disease, Diabetes and Risk Factor Monitoring Unit at the Australian Institute of Health and Welfare.
National Heart Foundation of Australia
Heart, stroke and vacular diseases, Australian facts.
NHMRC National Breast Cancer Centre
Australia's breast cancer statistics.
NSW Cancer Registry. Statistical reporting module
  From the Cancer Council, NSW and NSW Health.
NSW Health - Data and Statistics
  A diverse range of statistical information aimed at health researchers.
Year Book Australia: Health  
  An overview of the health of Australians from the Australian Bureau of Statistics, 2004

International Resources

2006 World Population Data Sheet
Produced by The Population Reference Bureau. Contains population estimates and projections, births, deaths, infant mortailty, fertility and other key indicators for all geogrphic entities with populations of 150,000 or more and all members of The United Nations.
American Cancer Society Statistics
  The ACS tracks cancer occurrence, including the number of deaths, cases, and how long people survive after diagnosis. ACS also tracks data regarding behaviors that influence the risk of developing cancer and the use of screening tests.
Atlas of United States Mortality 
From the National Center for Health Statistics
CDC Surveillance Summaries
  Detailed interpretation of trends and patterns based on surveillance findings.
CDC Wonder
  Access to CDC Reports, guidelines and numeric public health data.
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
  Information on diseases, injuries and disabilities including access to Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report
Comprehensive Epidemiologic Data Resource
From the US Department of Energy. Provides health and exposure data concerning DOE installations
EPI Info
  Center for Communicable Diseases. U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. Public domian software packages designed for public health practioners and researchers. May be freely copied, distributed and translated.
European Nations Statistical Agencies
  Links to statistical agencies in Europe, many providing health data.
Global health statistics: a compendium of incidence, prevalence, and mortality estimates for over 200 conditions. Cambridge, MA: Harvard University Press, 1996.
[Print Resource] UNSW Library Shelf no: MBREF 614.42/35
Library of Congress Country Studies
  Includes health conditions and health care information on over 100 countries.
Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report (MMWR)
  Center for Disease Control, US Department of Health and Human Services
National Center for Health Statistics (U.S.)
The principal health statistics agency in the US, their website contains a wide range of information and data, including FastStats
National Guideline Clearinghouse
Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality;
American Medical Association and the American Association of Health Plans. Public resource for evidence-based clinical practice guidelines.
OECD Health Data 2004
 
OECD Health Data 2004 offers a comprehensive source of comparable statistics on health and health systems across OECD countries.
 
Instructions:
  • Download this data application to your desktop from the SourceOECD collection of databases
  • Select OECD Databases from the "Go to" dropdown menu at the top of the SourceOECD homepage.
  • Select OECD Health Data from the list
  • Click on download and follow the instructions under Procedure.
OSHA : Statistics and data
  Occupational Safety and Health Administration, U S Department of Labor.
Population Reference Bureau - Country Statistics & Reports
  International demographic statistics. Useful for country-specific information.
Sources of U.K. Facts and figures - Health
  Produced by the Government Statistical Service.
Unicef Statistics
Economic and social statistics on the countries and territories of the world
UNECE Links 
Links to official statistics for Europe and North America, including health statistics
U.S. Census Bureau
  Compilation of health statistics inluding aging, fertility, health insurance. Includes links to International Statistical Agencies.
Web-servers at Statistical Agencies
  A comprehensive list of statistical agencies arranged by country.
WHO Statistical Information System (WHOSIS)
  Statistical information from the WHO Global Programme on Evidence for Health Policy.
World Health Report 2004
The World Health Report, first published in 1995, is World Health Organisation's leading publication. Each year the report combines an expert assessment of global health, including statistics relating to all countries, with a focus on a specific subject.