go to UNSW home page
UNSW logo UNSW Library Website Banner Picture

Contacts | Help
  
UNSW Library
Subject Guides
 
Art & Design
Arts & Social Sciences
Built Environment
Commerce & Economics
Engineering
Law
Medicine
Science
Subject Guides

Bioethics Image
Bioethics Subject Guide

Key Resources | Databases | Journals | Reference Resources | Internet Links
 Texts | Current Awareness

Databases

 AMI - Australasian Medical Index
   This database indexes material dealing with all aspects of health and medicine, with an emphasis on clinical medicine and para-professional fields; it covers Australian and New Zealand health and medical literature which is not included in Medline.
 APAIS Health
   This bibliographic database includes articles from published material covering health and medicine in Australia. In particular they cover the legal, social, economic, and ethical aspects of health.
AUSTLII  (Australasian Legal Information Institute)
   - includes Australian Legislation, Acts and Regulations
 Bioethics Database
   The Bioethics Database was created in 1998 and includes more than 600 bioethics institutions (bioethics committees, commissions, training, research and documentation centres) in over 80 countries, including information on activities and publications.
 Database on Health and Human Rights Actors
   This database from the WHO contains information gathered from a survey of organizations concerning their structures and programs. It is searchable by country (where the organization is located) or by specific health issue.
 EMBASE
   This major biomedical and pharmaceutical database indexes international journals in the following relevant fields: drug research, clinical and experimental human medicine, health policy and management, and public health.
 Expanded Academic ASAP
   This database provides a combination of indexing, abstracts, images, and full text for scholarly and general interest journals embracing all academic disciplines.
 Factiva
   Provides fulltext access to significant news items from almost 8000 international sources and 9000 key Web sites. Includes more than 100 Australasian sources. Coverage includes articles from newspapers, news wires, press releases, company announcements and journals ; and daily pictures from Reuters and Knight Ridder.
 Health and Society Database (Australian Institute of Family Studies)
   - includes ethical aspects of health such as those surrounding abortion, euthanasia and reproductive technologies.
 Health Issues in Criminal Justice 
   Health Issues in Criminal Justice (CINCH-Health), is a subset of CINCH, the Australian Criminology Database. Subject coverage includes mental health, medical and medicolegal issues, drugs and alcohol, suicide, HIV/AIDS, corrections health, euthanasia, and occupational health and safety.
 Hurisearch - Human Rights Database 
   -  a searchable database of over 1300 human rights sites in 58 languages.
The site is sponsored by HREA, the Human Rights Education Associates, an international organisation that supports training, education, and community-building in the area of human rights. 
 INFOQUICK - The Sydney Morning Herald Index
   INFOQUICK is a selective index to the Sydney Morning Herald and its supplements (including the Sun Herald, Good Weekend, Eastern Herald, Northern Herald) from 1 January 1988.
 Literature, Arts and Medicine Database
 
 The Literature, Arts, & Medicine Database is an annotated bibliography of prose, poetry, film, video and art which was developed to be a comprehensive resource in Medical Humanities, for use in health and liberal arts settings. It is produced and maintained by the Hippocrates Project at New York University School of Medicine.  
 Medline
 
 The MEDLINE database (produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine) is widely recognized as the premier source for bibliographic and abstract coverage of biomedical literature.   
An  Online tutorial for Medline is also available.
Philosophers Index
This database provides indexing and abstracts from books and journals of philosophy and related fields. It covers the areas of ethics, aesthetics, social philosophy, political philosophy, epistemology, and metaphysic logic as well as material on the philosophy of law, religion, science, history, education, and language.
 Scopus
  Scopus is an abstract and citation database of research literature including peer-reviewed titles, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, patent records, scientific web pages, and seamless links to full text articles and other library resources. It is updated daily.