go to UNSW home page
UNSW logo UNSW Library Website Banner Picture

Contacts | Help
  
UNSW Library
Subject Guides
 
Art & Design
Arts & Social Sciences
Built Environment
Commerce & Economics
Engineering
Law
Medicine
Science
Subject Guides

Bioethics Image
Bioethics Subject Guide

Key Resources | Databases | Journals | Reference Resources | Internet Links
 Texts | Current Awareness 

Reference Reosurces


Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of Life Sciences
  See section on Science and Society - Bioethics under "Browse Subject".
The Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy. Edited by James Feiser.
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Edited by Edward N. Zalta. UNSW online subscription
Encyclopedia of Bioethics. 3rd ed. (2004) edited by Stephen Post
  Print: MBREF currently on order
Encyclopedia of Applied Ethics. San Diego : Academic Press, c1998.
 
Print: LREF/ KA70.E1/E1/1 /(1-4)

Handbooks and Guidelines

 Human Reseach Ethics Handbook
 
 Commonwealth of Australia 2001
 Australian code of practice for the care and use of animals for scientific purposes. 7th edition (2004) 
   The Code encompasses all aspects of the care and use of, or interaction with, animals for scientific purposes in medicine, biology, agriculture, veterinary and other animal sciences, industry and teaching.
 Guidelines approved under Section 95A of the Privacy Act 1988
   The guidelines provide a framework to ensure privacy protection of health information that is collected, used or disclosed in the conduct of research and the compilation or analysis of statistics, relevant to public health or public safety, and in the conduct of health service management activities.
 Guidelines Under section 95 of the Privacy Act 1988
   These guidelines replace the guidelines entitled Aspects of Privacy in Medical Research, issued in 1995. They have been developed in accordance with section 90 of the NHMRC Act. These new Guidelines set the current standard for the protection of privacy in the conduct of medical research involving human participants in Australia.
 Joint NHMRC/AVCC Statement and Guidelines on Research Practice 
   This Joint Statement and Guidelines replaces the NH&MRC Statement on Scientific Practice (1990) and the AVCC Guidelines for Responsible Practice in Research and Problems of Research Misconduct (1990). The Statement and Guidelines exist to guide institutions in developing their own procedures and guidelines, by providing a comprehensive framework of minimum acceptable standards.
 National Statement on Ethical Conduct in Research Involving Humans
   This Statement entitled the National Statement on Ethical Conduct in Research Involving Humans ('the Statement') consists of a series of Guidelines made in accordance with the National Health and Medical Research Council Act 1992 ('the Act').
 Values and Ethics - Guidelines for Ethical Conduct in Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Health Research 
   The document containes guidelines for ethical health research on Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples. In accordance with guidance from Aboriginal people it is written around a framework of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander values and principles.

Educational Multimedia

MedEthEx Online
    An interactive ethics program that was developed at the MCP Hahnemann School of Medicine which comprises of a series of exercises in medical ethics and communications skills.
Ethics Wheel
   Perspectives on Ethics for the new Medicine Program - available in WebCT course sites for Medicine 3802.

  
Consult the Library Resource Database (LRD) to cover the subject more extensively.
The following are some useful terms to use in subject or keyword searching:
  • Bioethics
  • Ethics, Medical
  • Human Experimentation in Medicine
  • Medical Ethics
  • Medical Laws and Legislation
  • Medicine -- Philosophy.
  • Philosophy, Medical
or search on Specific Topics, eg.
  • Death -- Moral and ethical aspects
  • Euthanasia -- Moral and ethical aspects
  • Medical innovations -- Moral and ethical aspects