go to UNSW home page
UNSW logo UNSW Library Website Banner Picture

Contacts | Help
  
UNSW Library
Subject Guides
 
Art & Design
Arts & Social Sciences
Built Environment
Commerce & Economics
Engineering
Law
Medicine
Science
Subject Guides

Food Science and Nutrition Subject Guide

Key Resources | Databases | Journals | Reference Resources | Internet Links


Encyclopedias and Dictionaries

Encyclopedia of Life Sciences [electronic resource]
Encyclopedia of food microbiology 
Print: MBREF 664.00157903/1 /(1-3)
Encyclopedia of  foods :a guide to healthy nutrition  (1999)
Print: MBREF 612.303/2
Encyclopedia of human nutrition
Encyclopedia of food sciences and nutrition (2003)
Print: MBREF 613.203/5
Modern Food Microbiology [electronic resource]
Food and fitness :a dictionary of diet and exercise  [electronic resource]
Dictionary of food ingredients  (2001)
Print: MBREF 641.03/11
Dictionary of food and nutrition [electronic resource]

Handbooks and Guidelines

Australian Guide to Healthy Eating (1998) [electronic resource]
Background information for nutrition educators
Current Protocols in Food Analytical Chemistry
Dietary Guidelines for all Australians - NHMRC (2003) [electronic resource]
Food Guide Pyramid - US
The Center for Nutrition Policy and Promotion, an organization of the U.S. Department of Agriculture, was established in 1994 to improve the nutrition and well-being of Americans.
Food Science Australia [electronic resource]
a joint venture of CSIRO and AFISC
Food Additives July 2001[electronic resource]
  User Guide to Standard 1.3.1 Food Additives
Food Standards Code [electronic resource]
commentary from Australian Food News
Food Standards Australia and New Zealand [electronic resource]  
Nutrition Australia [electronic resource]
formerly the Australian Nutrition Foundation
Nutrition Data (ND)   [electronic resource]
  generates nutrition facts labels and provides simplified nutritional analyses for all foods and recipes
Nutrient Reference Values for Australia and New Zealand  including Recommended Dietary Intakes [electronic resource] 
  The nutrient reference values outline the levels of intake of essential nutrients considered to be adequate to meet the known nutritional needs of practically all healthy people for prevention of deficiency states.