go to UNSW home page
UNSW logo UNSW Library Website Banner Picture

Contacts | Help
  
UNSW Library
Subject Guides
 
Art & Design
Arts & Social Sciences
Built Environment
Commerce & Economics
Engineering
Law
Medicine
Science
Subject Guides

Food and Nutrition Policy Studies Subject Guide


Databases


International

AGELINE
Database covering research in the field of Aging (gerontology)produced by the AARP (formerly American Association of Retired Persons)Research Center.
Biomed Central
Biomed Central is an alternative publishing consortium that promotes open access in scholarly fulltext electronic publishing. Fully peer reviewed. Covers research articles, hypotheses papers, case reports, debates, study protocols, methodology articles, clinical trials, current reports, meetings.
Campbell Collaboration
Campbell Collaboration is an evidence-based sociological and educational database. The objective of the Campbell Collaboration is to prepare and maintain systematic reviews of studies of the effects of policies and practices.
CINAHL
CINAHL is the definitive reference tool covering the English language journal literature for nursing and allied health disciplines, with some public health material
Cochrane Library
The Cochrane Library is a collection of evidence-based medicine databases. National access to the Cochrane Library is funded by the Commonwealth Government of Australia - click on "Login anonymously" button. The NICS Guide to the Cochrane Library is also available. The Cochrane Library contains:
  • The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews Complete reviews
  • Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effectiveness Abstracts of quality assessed systematic reviews
  • The Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL)
  • The Cochrane Database of Methodology Reviews Complete reviews
  • The Cochrane Methodology Register References
  • Collaborative Review Groups
  • Methods Groups
  • Health Technology Assessment Database (HTA) Abstracts by INAHTA and other healthcare technology agencies
  • NHS Economic Evaluation Database (NHS EED)
For UNSW staff and students outside Australia, please use the following access to Ovid databases: 
EMBASE
The EMBASE family consists of three separate databases: (1) EMBASE: Excerpta Medica Database, and its subsets, (2) EMBASE Drugs and Pharmacology, and (3) EMBASE Psychiatry. Produced by Elsevier Science
Expanded Academic ASAP
  provides access to indexing, abstracts, images, and full text for scholarly and general interest journals embracing all academic disciplines
FSTA
Food Science & Technology Abstracts - information on food science, food technology and human nutrition.Indexes journals, books, theses, reports, conference proceedings and standards on food science, food technology and human nutrition. Covers approximately 1800 journals
General Science Plus
abstracts with full-text and images for broad science coverage including food, health, nutrition and medicine. Indexes major English language journals published chiefly in the U.S.
Global Health
Global Health, published by CAB International, brings together the resources of two international databases - the Public Health and Tropical Medicine (PHTM) database, previously produced by the Bureau of Hygiene and Tropical Diseases (BHTD), and the human health and diseases information extracted from CAB ABSTRACTS. The Global Health database provides deep subject coverage of information related to human health and communicable diseases. 1973+
MEDLINE via OVID
primary medical database produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine  Medline is produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine. It is the electronic counterpart of Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature, and the International Nursing Index. Medline contains bibliographic citations and author abstracts from more than 4,600 biomedical journals. An Online tutorial for Medline is also available. 1966+
Popline
POPLINE is the world's largest bibliographic database on population, family planning demography - particularly good for infant and child nutrition in developing countries. POPLINE provides citations with abstracts for over 290,000 records representing published and unpublished literature in the field.
OLDMEDLINE
The Ovid OLDMEDLINE database, produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine, contains citations for articles from international biomedical journals covering the fields of medicine, preclinical sciences, and allied health sciences, originally printed in hardcopy indexes published from 1950 through to1965.
Science Direct
provides comprehensive coverage of literature across all fields of science. Fulltext collection based on 1150 journal titles published by Elsevier

Australian

AMI - Australasian Medical Index 
  Australasian Medical Index (AMI), produced by the National Library of Australia, is a bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts articles from over 160 Australian health and medical serials, on all aspects of health and medicine.
APAIS-Health 
  Australia Indexes material that is a subset of the APAIS database, covering health and medicine in Australia. Clinical articles are not included and the emphasis is on the legal, social, economic and ethical aspects of health. Documents indexed include journals, newspapers, conference papers and books.
ATSIhealth 
  The Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Health Bibliography (ATSIhealth) indexes published and unpublished material on Australian Indigenous health. Source documents include theses, unpublished articles, government reports, conference papers, abstracts, book chapters, books, discussion etc.
Factiva
provides fulltext access to significant Australian and international news items - includes SMH, The Australian, Australian Financial Review, Business Review Weekly newspapers HINT: Choose Australian publications from the drop-down Source list
Health and Society
Health & Society Database (H&S) is a subset of Australian Family & Society Abstracts (FAMILY), produced by the Australian Institute of Family Studies. FAMILY is a bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts articles from published and unpublished material on research, policy and practice.
HealthWIZ
HealthWIZ, produced by the Australian Government Department of Health and Ageing, is the National Social Health Statistical Data Library. It contains comprehensive population health related statistical databases, from across the Australian health services sector, for the purposes of clinical research, policy development and health services planning, particularly in regional areas. (CD-ROM only - May be borrowed from Biomedical Library information desk - for use in the library) 1970+
HEAPS
Health Education and Promotion System. An extensive catalogue of Australian and New Zealand health promotion projects and resources. The database covers over 5,000 entries on more than 1500 subjects contributed by around 750 organisations.
(CD-ROM Only - May be borrowed from Biomedical Library information desk - for use in the library)
RURAL
Rural and Remote Health database (RURAL) is produced by the Monash University School of Rural Health. It  indexes international  literature on rural and remote area health issues and care, and the practice and educational needs of health providers, in particular medical practitioners and nurses. It consists of 7 smaller databases dating from 1966+ :
  1. Education for Rural Medical Practice
  2. Indigenous People's Health
  3. Rural and Remote Area Nursing
  4. Rural and Remote Health Care
  5. Rural and Remote Area Aged Care
  6. Promoting Rural Men's Health
  7. Rural and Remote Area Health Care

Other

Journal Citation Reports
  Journal Citation Reports (JCR), published by ISI, is a resource tool for journal evaluation, using citation data drawn from over 8,400 journals from over 3,000 publishers worldwide. Useful for finding out which journals are making an impact on the literature of a particular subject area.
Scopus
Scopus is an abstract and citation database of research literature including peer-reviewed titles, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, patent records, scientific web pages, and seamless links to full text articles and other library resources. It is updated daily.
Web of Science
  The Web of Science delivers web-based access to the citation indexes Complete coverage is now provided. The citation indexes include:

Science Citation Index 1945 onwards
Social Sciences Citation Index 1956 onwards
Arts & Humanities Citation Index 1975 onwards