go to UNSW home page
UNSW logo UNSW Library Website Banner Picture

Contacts | Help
  
UNSW Library
Subject Guides
 
Art & Design
Arts & Social Sciences
Built Environment
Commerce & Economics
Engineering
Law
Medicine
Science
Subject Guides

Food and Nutrition Policy Studies Subject Guide


Internet Links


Australian

ABC Online  / Science
  The Lab is the Australian Broadcasting Corporation's online gateway to science including original online material including a daily science news service, fortnightly features and forums.
ABC Online / Health Matters 
  Australia's national agency for health and welfare statistics and information
Eat Well SA
  a statewide nutrition promotion project in South Australia
Healthy Eating Club (formerly Eat well Live Well Research and Information)
  original health and nutrition information written by the HEC team as well as resources collected from around the web amd includes a search engine within the site.
HealthInsite
  Commonwealth Government of Australia initiative which aims to provide access to quality information about human health
Nutrition and Health Eating
 
The Nutrition and Physical Activity Section is responsible for developing and evaluating national policy, resources and initiatives in the areas of nutrition and healthy eating, health promoting physical activity and promoting healthy weight. This body of work forms an integral part of the Government's prevention agenda and has strong links to work on overweight and obesity issues and the prevention of chronic diseases.

International

AgriFor (UK)
The UK's gateway to high quality Internet resources in agriculture, food & forestry. AgriFor is a free catalogue of hand-selected and evaluated Internet resources in agriculture, food and forestry.New resources are added weekly.  
Arbor Nutrition Guide (US)
  contains thousands of internet links. Site includes free Arbor Clinical Nutrition Updates, a regular, independent, concise report on the latest important research findings in nutrition.
Food and Feed Safety - EFSA
Welcome to the food safety site, which is part of the overall DG Health and Consumer Protection site.
Food and Nutrition Information Center (US)
US Center which collects and disseminates information about food and human nutrition
Second FAO/WHO Global Forum of Food Safety Regulators (UN)
A forum dedicated to sharing experiences in management of food safety.
Telemedicine Information Exchange  (US)
Created and maintained by The Telemedicine Research Centre with funds from the National Library of Medicine, the TIE is a comprehensive, international, quality-filtered resource for information about telemedicine, telehealth, and telemedicine/telehealth related activities.
WHO Regional Office for Europe - Nutrition Policy
Food and nutrition policies are needed to improve diet and reduce noncommunicable diseases. Food safety has an important bearing on nutrition policy.
Food and Nutrition Security/Who Regional Office for Europe
provides information on the nutrition and food security programme (NFS) of the WHO Regional Office for Europe. The site provides health professionals and policy-makers with information and tools on a wide range of nutrition issues. Issues are divided into the main areas of:

Gateways / Directories

About.Com - Food and Nutrition Policy / Healthcare Industry
  About.com's guide to the healthcare industry brings together a variety of Internet resources selected by experts in the field.
  Includes guides on topics relating to general health, as well as the prevention or treatment of diseases and disorders.
Google Health Directory - Nutrition
  Google's health directory engine lets you search within a category once you've decided on the specific subsection of the web.
Health on the Net (HON)
  HON's mission is to guide Internet users to reliable understandable accessible and trustworthy sources of medical and health information.
MedlinePlus
  This web gateway provides good health information from the world's largest medical library, the U.S. National Library of Medicine. Health professionals and consumers alike can depend on it for information that is authoritative and up to date.
WWW Virtual Library: Public Health
The Virtual Library: Public Health is a web-based index of quality public health websites and online resources. Biomedical Library staff will maintain and develop the resource in collaboration with SPHCM staff and with input from experts in the worldwide public health community.
Yahoo Health Administration
  Yahoo's directory on food and nutrition policy