go to UNSW home page
UNSW logo UNSW Library Website Banner Picture

Contacts | Help
  
UNSW Library
Subject Guides
 
Art & Design
Arts & Social Sciences
Built Environment
Commerce & Economics
Engineering
Law
Medicine
Science
Subject Guides

Food and Nutrition Policy Studies Subject Guide

Key Resources | Services & Help | Databases | JournalsPolicies | Reference Resources | Internet Links | Organisations | Current Awareness | Statistics | Texts

Organisations


Australian

Australian Bureau of Statistics
  The Australian Bureau of Statistics (ABS)  provides national statistics.
Australian Institute of Health and Welfare
 
The Australian Institute of Health and Welfare (AIHW) is Australia's national agency for health and welfare statistics and information, includes: Australia's Health 2004.
It is the nation's authoritative source of information on patterns of health and illness, determinants of health, the supply and use of health services, and health services expenditure. The report also includes a special chapter on the health of older Australians. Australia's Health 2004 is an essential reference and information resource for all Australians with an interest in health.
National Health and Medical Research Council
 
The role of the NHMRC is to support excellence in research, health advice, and  health ethics that leads to improvement in the health of all Australians.
Nutrition Australia
 
formerly the Australian Nutrition Foundation, a community based organisation which aims to provide scientifically based nutrition information. To:  
  • act as a source of scientific information on key nutrition issues.
  • produce and disseminate material on nutrition to policy makers, the media, educators, food industry and consumers.
  • act as consultants to government departments, food industry and consumer groups as required on issues related to food and nutrition.
  • encourage innovation in the dissemination of nutritional knowledge
NSW Health - Public Health Division
  seeks to improve the health and well-being of the people of NSW
Australian Department of Health and Ageing - Nutrition
  The Nutrition and Physical Activity Section is responsible for developing and evaluating national policy, resources and initiatives in the areas of nutrition and healthy eating, health promoting physical activity and promoting healthy weight.
Dairy Australia
 
Dairy Australia has a vision of Growing an internationally competitive, innovative and sustainable dairy industry. You will find a selection of publications produced by Dairy Australia.
Meat & Livestock Australia
  Meat & Livestock Australia provides R&D, market information and marketing to benefit the red meat industry
NSW Centre for Public Health Nutrition  - Publications 
 
The NSW Centre for Public Health Nutrition (The Centre) is a small team of public health professionals with expertise in population nutrition.
 The Gut Foundation
  The Gut Foundation provides professional and public education and promotes research into digestive disorders to improve gastrointestinal health.
Dietitians Association of Australia - the national Association of the profession
  Dietitians are university-qualified experts in nutrition and dietetics. They have the skills and training to provide food and nutrition advice to meet individual health and lifestyle needs, develop food policy, feed an army or develop and market a new food product.
CSIROnline Health Sciences and Nutrition
  provides appropriate research and development to improve human well-being and community health in Australia
The Nutrition Society of Australia
  a group of qualified, practising scientists and educators from divergent disciplines with a common interest in the research and application of nutrition
Public Health Association of Australia
  a forum for the promotion of the health of the public and as a professional resource for public health personnel
Australian Institute of Food Science and Technology
  a national association for professionals involved in the science and technology of food
Nutrition Society of Australia
advocates the inclusion of nutrition in policy agenda at national and state levels
National Heart Foundation of Australia
Our mission is to improve the heart health of all Australians and to reduce disability and death from heart, stroke and blood vessel disease.

International

American Dietetic Association (US)
  ADA is your link to reliable, objective food and nutrition information.
British Nutrition Foundation (UK)
  promotes the nutritional wellbeing of society
CDC (Centrers for Disease Control and Prevention) (US)
 
The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) is one of the 13 major operating components of the Department of Health and Human Services (HHS), which is the principal agency in the United States government for protecting the health and safety of all Americans and for providing essential human services, especially for those people who are least able to help themselves.
DAFNE (DAFood Networking projects) (Europe)
 
A coherent and co-ordinated approach to health policy was first set out in the European Commission health strategy put forward in May 2000. As a key component of the May 2000 health strategy, the Commission proposed a new public health programme for the European Community. This programme was adopted on 23 September 2002, and runs from 1 January 2003 until 31 December 2008.
Hellen Keller Institute
 
HKI programs combat malnutrition, cataract, trachoma, onchocerciasis (river blindness) and refractive error. The goal of all HKI programs is to reduce suffering of those without access to needed health or vision care and ultimately, to help lift people from poverty.
The Nutrition Society (UK)
  UK Society which aims to advance the scientific study of nutrition and its application to the maintenance of human and animal health
U.S. Food and Drug Administration(FDA) (US)
  US Foundation communicating science-based information on food safety and nutrition to health and nutrition professionals
FAO (UN)
 
Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations has a mandate to raise levels of nutrition and standards of livinglocated at the US National Agricultural Library and collects and disseminates information about food and human nutrition
HungerWeb (US)
  designed to serve as an online clearinghouse for important materials on topics broadly related to the problem of chronic hunger; includes access to agricultural resources, food aid in times of crisis, and environmental protection.
IBFAN (International Baby Food Action Network) (Europe)
  the International Baby-Food Action Network - consists of public interest groups working around the world to reduce infant and young child morbidity and mortality.
International Food Policy Research Institute, Washington, USA
  IFPRI vision is a world free of hunger and malnutrition. The vision is based on the human right to adequate food and nutrition and recognition of the inherent dignity of all members of the human family
Myths About Hunger  (US)
  The purpose of the Institute for Food and Development Policy - Food First - is to eliminate the injustices that cause hunger
Office of Nutrition Policy and Promotion - Canada
Health Canada's Office of Nutrition Policy and Promotion and Food Directorate are the main groups responsible for matters related to nutrition.
Secretariat of the Pacific Community
  provide up-to-date information on the region, on developments, and on what our programmes are doing to respond to your changing needs.
Sustain - Toolkit
A toolkit for local food projects
UNICEF (UN)
 
Your support as a donor, volunteer or member of a partner organisation will make a difference for children.
USDA Food, Nutition, and Consumer Services (US)
  ensures access to nutritious, healthful diets for all Americans
USDA Food Safety and Inspection Service (US)
  aims to ensure that consumers have the safest possible food supply
World Health Organization  (UN)
  has a major responsibility for promoting healthy Nutrition for all the world’s people
World Health Organisation - Regional Office for Europe
 
We at the Regional Office invite you to discover more about our activities and history, and the values that guide us.