go to UNSW home page
UNSW logo UNSW Library Website Banner Picture

Contacts | Help
  
UNSW Library
Subject Guides
 
Art & Design
Arts & Social Sciences
Built Environment
Commerce & Economics
Engineering
Law
Medicine
Science
Subject Guides

Food and Nutrition Policy Studies Subject Guide


Reference Resources


Encyclopedias/Dictionaries

Encyclopedia of Human Nutrition (Academic Press 1999) [e-book]
 
Print: MBREF 612.303/2
Fulltext available online
Encyclopedia of Life Sciences (Macmillan Press, 2001) [e-book]
Print: MBREF 574/165
Fulltext available online
Dictionary of food and nutrition [electronic resource]
Print: MBREF 612.303/1
Fulltext available online via Oxford Reference Online
Open Access Reference Resources
General Health Encyclopedia: Nutrition
Open access provided by Healthcentral.com
Knowledgebase (database)
The National Health Information Knowledgebase is an electronic register and query tool for health metadata designed and created by the Australian Institute of Health and Welfare.  It can be used  to look in the contents of National Health, Community Services, Housing Assistance and related Data Dictionaries and find out precise definitions of data on a particular health or community services

Guidelines/Standards - Australian

Australian Guide to Healthy Eating  - Australian Department of Health and Ageing
The Australian Guide to Healthy Eating is a newly developed national and contemporary food guide for Australia which reflects the multicultural nature of the population and which is relevant for all sectors of the food system to use as a nutrition education and information tool.
CSIRO Human Nutrition Factsheets
Browse through an amazing array of fact sheets, newsletters and articles on everything from rabbits and yabby farming to antioxidants and cloning.
The purpose of food and nutrition monitoring  refers to a set of activities involving the collection, compilation and dissemination of information to identify how a particular situation is changing over time. The main purpose of monitoring is to support informed decision-making and action.
Dietary Guidelines for children and adolescents in Australia, incorporating the infant feeding guidelines for health workers, 2003
The Dietary Guidelines for Children and Adolescents were developed by the National Health and Medical Research Council (NH&MRC) in 1995 and subsequently reviewed in 2003. These guidelines apply to the general population of healthy children from birth to eighteen years.
Dietary Guidelines for Australian adults 
The NHMRC Dietary Guidelines for Australian Adults and Dietary Guidelines for Children and Adolescents in Australia incorporating the Infant Feeding Guidelines for Health Workers are based on the best available scientific evidence and provide information for health professionals and the general population about healthy food choices.
Food Law and Policy Australia
an overview of food regulation in Australia, including information on the peak governing body FSANZ (formerly ANZFA), as well as current news
Food Policy Group
The Food Policy Group incorporates the Food Policy Section, the Food Safety and Surveillance Section and the Food Regulation Secretariat. The Food Policy Group seeks to promote Australian Government leadership in the development of policy and regulation with regard to food and food issues.
provided by FSANZ  (formerly ANZFA: Australian and New Zealand Food Authority) is responsible for monitoring a safe, healthy food supply.
The Australia New Zealand food standards system is a cooperative arrangement between Australia , New Zealand and the Australian States and mainland Territories to develop and implement uniform food standards.
Australian Iron Status Advisory Panel 
Australian Iron Status Advisory Panel is a public health oriented body concerned with iron status disorders in the Australian community.
This report describes key aspects of diet and nutrition for Australians over the last decade compared to the recommendations made in Australian dietary guidelines and national nutrition policy; andwritten for health professionals, educators and others with an interest in the area.
by Australian National Heart Foundation. 2003.A review of the relationshipbetween dietary fat and overweight/obesity wastherefore conducted to determine whether recommendationson total fat intake were required for the prevention ofcardiovascular disease.
Principles of Lifesytle and Nutritional Management of Diabetes by NSW Health
These principles are a general guideonly: people benefit from individualised dietary assessment and education.The principles address two key goals of diabetes management:glycaemic control and minimisation of cardiovascularrisk factors.

Guidelines/Standards - International

AFIC Asian Food Information Centre - Dietary Guidelines
AFIC provides science based information on nutrition, health and food safety for the Asian region.
UK Dietary Guidelines
official UK healthy eating advice and dietary guidelines.
Canada's Food Guide to Healthy Eating
The Food Guide translates the science of healthy eating into a practical pattern of food choices that meets nutrient needs, promotes health and minimizes the risk of nutrition-related chronic diseases.
Dietary Guidelines for children by American Heart Association, 2002
The American Heart Association has dietary recommendations for infants, children and adolescents that are designed to promote cardiovascular health.
Food Guide Pyramid by US Dept of Agriculture
The Center for Nutrition Policy and Promotion, an organization of the U.S. Department of Agriculture, was established in 1994 to improve the nutrition and well-being of Americans. Toward this goal, the Center focuses its efforts on two primary objectives—
1. Advance and promote dietary guidance for all Americans, and
2. Conduct applied research and analyses in nutrition and consumer economics
Dietary Guidelines for Americans - 2005 
The Dietary Guidelines for Americans, 2005, gives science-based advice on food and physical activity choices for health. To see the full 80-page Dietary Guidelines report
The Vegetarian Food Guide has been conceived as a way to provide a conceptual framework to guide in selecting the types, frequency, and quantities of various foods which, together, provide a healthful diet and promote optimal health. It can be adopted by a philosophically diverse vegetarian population and may also be used by those who wish to make the transition to a vegetarian or more plant-based diet.
NutritionData
NutritionData.com generates nutrition facts labels and provides simplified nutritional analyses. NutritionData (ND) is a reference site which provides free and unbiased nutritional information.   
Vegetarian Diet Pyramid (U.S.)
The pyramid represents a traditional healthy vegetarian diet using these principles:
  • Consistency with patterns of eating of other healthy populations of the world;
  • Availability of data describing the character of food consumption patterns of these populations; and
  • The convergence of dietary patterns revealed by these data with our current understanding of optimal nutrition based on epidemiological studies and clinical trials worldwide.
Vegetarian Dietary Guidelines
 (U.S.)General Dietary Guidelines and Advice for Healthy Vegetarian Eating