go to UNSW home page
UNSW logo UNSW Library Website Banner Picture

Contacts | Help
  
UNSW Library
Subject Guides
 
Art & Design
Arts & Social Sciences
Built Environment
Commerce & Economics
Engineering
Law
Medicine
Science
Subject Guides

Course Planning image
Food and Nutrition Policy Studies Subject Guide

Key Resources | Services & Help | Databases | Journals | Policies |  


Services & Help


Services

Services for Off-Campus Users  -  Requesting UNSW materials as an External User
 
Registered UNSW staff and postgraduate off-campus users can request the loan of books and the supply of journal articles held by UNSW Library and other Libraries.
Registration is required for new users. Once registered, a password will be sent to your UNSW email shortly. You can then request materials via the Online Off-Campus Users Request Form .
**Please read the Off-Campus Users Policy before using the service.
If you need more help in using this service, please contact Frances Liston on (02) 9385 8051 or email Biomedext@unsw.edu.au.
Interlibrary Loan (ILL) - Requesting materials NOT HELD in UNSW library
The Interlibrary Loans Unit obtains materials not held in the UNSW Library to support the study, research and teaching programs of the academic staff and postgraduate students. Items can be obtained from both local and overseas sources.
Registration is required for new users. 
Shortly after the registration, a ILL password will be sent to your UNSW email. Registered users can request materials via the Online ILL Users Request Form.
Reciprocal Borrowing (ULA) - borrowing from other university libraries
 
Reciprocal Borrowing (ULA) - is a national borrowing scheme that allows all current staff and students of the Australian Vice Chancellors' committee (AVCC) member universities to borrow from any other member university in Australia.
Go to the Reciprocal Borrowing webpage for further details on how to register for the service. 
UNSW Library Resources 
 
A UniPass is required to access all UNSW Library resources including the LRD, MyCourse, Sirius and SFX. Contact Dis><connect for help with UniPass. Once UniPass is provided please link and complete 'agree to the rules' conditions of use. 
Note: Library systems/resources work best with the appropriate settings. You must adjust the settings on your computer according to this access requirements.
Postgraduate Borrowing
  Please read the details of Borrowing entitlements and requirements for Postgraduate Students.

Help Yourself

Medicine Online Tutorials and Guides
 
A collection of useful tutorials and guides on using UNSW Library resources more effectively. The Online tutorials of Medline, Medicine 3802 Information Skills, and Sports Science Information Skills are specially helpful for students to refine their research skills at their own pace. Although examples used in the tutorials are medicine and health related, the contents of the tutorials are relevant to students from all disciplines.
UNSW Library Online Training
Online resource help sheets and tutorials of the UNSW Library resources are available from the 'how to use' menu. The tutorials and help sheets for Library Resource Database (LRD) and Sirius are specially helpful to understand and locate the Library resources more effectively.
Biomedical Library Subject Guides
A collection of subject guides prepared by the UNSW Library staff to support learning, teaching and research within the UNSW Faculty of Medicine. The Guides contains selected resources from the UNSW Library collection and some open resources from the internet related to the specific subjects.
Alert Services
Alerting Services, also known as SDIs (Selective Dissemination of Information), allow you to keep up-to-date with the latest research and literature in your field of study. They are particularly useful to staff and postgraduate or final year students who are engaged in ongoing research and need to follow developments in their discipline.
Referencing (APA style)
Online illustrations of appropriate documentation style using the APA (American Psychological Association)  referencing style.
The Learning Centre
The Online Academic Skills Resources supported by  The Learning Centre provides a useful range of online resources to refine students' writing skills and assist students' learning activities.
Endnote
EndNote is bibliographic software that allows you to store, organise and manage your references in a database (called an EndNote library). These references can be linked to your word processing documents to instantly create in-text citations and bibliographies in the referencing style that you require.

Contact a Librarian

Help - ask a librarian
List of general UNSW Library help services including HelpOnline. (n.b. Student ID and a unipass password is required for HelpOnline service)
Phone & Fax & Email
Contacts of librarians in specific subject areas.
General telephone enquiries - (02) 9385 2648
Email a biomedical librarian
  Please feel free to contact the UNSW Biomedical Library with any problems or enquiries by filling in the enquiry/feedback form or contact us by email biomedlib@unsw.edu.au  
Research Support for PostGraduate Students
  Details of support for Postgraduate students including (face-to-face) research consultation.
Postgraduate Information Skills Program (face-to-face workshops)
  The library offers a series of workshops aimed at providing information for postgraduate students in their areas of interest. For details contact s.kennedy@unsw.edu.au