go to UNSW home page
UNSW logo UNSW Library Website Banner Picture

Contacts | Help
  
UNSW Library
Subject Guides
 
Art & Design
Arts & Social Sciences
Built Environment
Commerce & Economics
Engineering
Law
Medicine
Science
Subject Guides

Food and Nutrition Policy Studies Subject Guide


Statistics


Australian

Australian Bureau of Statistics
Australian Bureau of Statistics (ABS) provides access online to a complete range of products inlcudes the following:
Apparent consumption data (ABS) provides a general overview of the supply and utilisation of approximately 130 basic foodstuff groups for the resident mean population in Australia.
Australia Now (Health)  is a collection of statistics from Australian Bureau of Statistics on  health expenditure, diabetes mellitus, mental health, cardiovascular health, family planning, and many more.
4102.0 Australian Social Trends 2005 is the 12th edition of an annual series that presents information on contemporary social issues and areas of public policy concern.
4812.0 - Health Risk Factors, Australia. (2001) presents results from the National Health Survey (NHS) which was conducted throughout Australia from February to November 2001.
The following documents from ABS are specially relevant to Food and Nutrition Policy:
4364.0  National Health Survey 2001 survey was designed to obtain national benchmarks on a wide range of health issues, and to enable changes in health to be monitored over time.
4801.0 - National Nutrition Survey: Users' Guide 1995    presents detailed information on the National Nutrition Survey (NNS) which collected information on food an nutrition from the Australian population.
presents information on food and beverage consumption collected in the 1995 National Nutrition Survey (NNS).
4805.0 - National Nutrition Survey: Nutrient Intakes and Physical Measurements, Australia 1995 objective of this survey was the provision of food and nutrient data to assist with the implementation of Australia's Food and Nutrition Policy
4814.0 - Measuring Dietary Habits in the 2001 National Health Survey, Australia   Nutrition concerns the intake of foods and the substances they contain, and their actions and effects within the body.
Note: If you are accessing these ABS documents from off-campus, the direct links above might not work (i.e. when the document is not FREE for download, you would be asked to purchase the document). In that case, please go back to this ABS link, then, click on Publication & data > publication > All by Catalogue/Subject to look up the documents by code numbers accordingly.
Australian Institute of Health and Welfare
The website provides extensive health and welfare statistics and information. Recommend the following report on Australia's Health 2004
Social Health Atlas of Australia
 
Public Health Information Development Unit, University of Adelaide, 1999 consists
of  9 volumes - one for Australia as a whole, and one for each state or territory.

International

Centres for Disease Control and Prevention (US) - Data and Statistics
The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) is one of the 13 major operating components of the Department of Health and Human Services (HHS), which is the principal agency in the United States government for protecting the health and safety of all Americans.
CDC National Prevention Information Network (US)
The CDC National Prevention Information Network (NPIN) is the U.S. reference, referral, and distribution service for information on HIV/AIDS, sexually transmitted diseases (STDs), and tuberculosis (TB).
CDC National Centre for Health Statistics (US)
Health, United States is an annual report on trends in health statistics and illustrates major trends in the health of Americans.
HealthWeb Public Health Statistics (US)
The category of health statistics covers a variety of health-related statistics, such as vital statistics and prevlance of diseases
Pan American Health Organization. Country Health Profiles
From the Pan American Health Organization (PAHO), a series of health data collections  for the Americas, country by country. Also at this site are Basic Health Indicators and  Core Health Data from which tables can be generated
United Nations- Demographic, Social and Economic Indicators
Social indicators covering a wide range of subject-matter fields are compiled by the Statistics Division, Department of Economic and Social Affairs of the United Nations Secretariat, from many national and international sources.
United Nations Statistics Division - Social Indicators
This site contains a section on health indicators which provides country by country statistics on life expectancy, and infant and child mortality.
United Nations Global Statistics
links to both international  and national statistical agencies.
WHO World Health Organisation: Research tools
WHOSIS - WHO Statistical Information System
WHOLIS - WHO Library Database 1948 to present