| |

|
 |
Gender and Health Subject Guide
Databases
| AMI |
| |
Australasian Medical Index (AMI), produced by the National Library of Australia, indexes and abstracts articles from over 160 Australasian health and medical serials. Most of these are not indexed for MEDLINE. Subject coverage includes all aspects of health and medicine, with an emphasis on clinical medicine and paraprofessional fields. Source documents include journals, conference proceedings, government reports, selected monographs and National Health and Medical Research Council (NHMRC) session reports. 1968+ |
| APAIS - Health |
| |
Australian Public Affairs Information Service - Health (APAIS-Health), produced by the National Library of Australia, is a bibliographic database that indexes articles from published material. APAIS-Health covers health and medicine in Australia and in particular the legal, social, economic and ethical aspects of health. Clinical articles are not indexed for APAIS-Health. This database is a subset of the APAIS database. 1978+ |
| CINAHL |
|
|
The CINAHL database is the authoritative source of information for the professional literature of nursing, allied health, biomedicine, and healthcare. 1982+ |
| EMBASE |
| |
The Excerpta Medica database (EMBASE) produced by Elsevier Science, is a major biomedical and pharmaceutical database indexing over 3,500 international journals in the following fields: drug research, pharmacology, pharmaceutics, toxicology, clinical and experimental human medicine, health policy and management, public health, occupational health, environmental health, drug dependence and abuse, psychiatry, forensic medicine, and biomedical engineering/instrumentation. There is selective coverage for nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, psychology, and alternative medicine. 1988+ |
| Global Health |
|
|
Global Health, published by CAB International, brings together the resources of two international databases - the Public Health and Tropical Medicine (PHTM) database, previously produced by the Bureau of Hygiene and Tropical Diseases (BHTD), and the human health and diseases information extracted from CAB ABSTRACTS. The Global Health database provides deep subject coverage of information related to human health and communicable diseases. 1973+ |
| Health & Society |
|
|
Health & Society Database (H&S) is a subset of Australian Family & Society Abstracts (FAMILY), produced by the Australian Institute of Family Studies. Subject coverage includes: the health and well being of families and individuals; health policy; health services; quality of life, morbidity, mortality and life expectancy; mental health and illness; health issues of particular concern to the aged, children and youth; Aboriginal health; pregnancy, birth; ethical aspects of health such as those surrounding abortion, euthanasia and reproductive technologies; health education and promotion; health administration; and economic issues. 1980+ |
| Medline via OVID |
| |
Medline is produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine. It is the electronic counterpart of Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature, and the International Nursing Index. Medline contains bibliographic citations and author abstracts from more than 4,600 biomedical journals. An Online tutorial for Medline is also available. 1966+ |
| Sociological Abstracts |
|
|
Sociological Abstracts, published by CSA, abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Subject coverage includes: Demography and human biology; Health and medicine and law; Social psychology; Substance abuse and addiction 1963+ For assistance try the Sociological Abstracts tutorial. |
Related Databases
| Asian Resources |
|
|
Asian Resources is a collection of bibliographic databases that index Asian related materials. Incudes BERITA, produced by the staff of the Southeast Asia Collection/Malaysian Resource Center, Ohio University. This is a multidisciplinary database which includes materials related to Medicine and Health in South-East Asia. |
| Expanded Academic ASAP |
| |
Expanded Academic ASAP is a multidisciplinary, full text database that indexes literature from arts and the humanities to social sciences, science and technology. Includes articles from scholarly journals, news magazines, and newspapers. 1980+ |
| Factiva |
|
|
Factiva provides full text access to global news and business information from more than 8000 international sources, including Australian newspapers such as the Sydney Morning Herald, the Australian and the Australian Financial Review. |
| POPLINE |
|
|
POPLINE, published by John Hopkins University Press, contains bibliographic citations and abtracts on population-related topic including : human fertiltiy, contraceptive methods, family planning services, maternal and child health, AIDS in developing countries, program operations and evaluation, demography, censuses, vital statistics, and related health, law and policy issues. 1968+ |
| PsycINFO |
| |
PsycINFO contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations, and technical reports, all in the field of psychology and the psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business and the law. 1887+ |
| Scopus |
|
|
Scopus is an abstract and citation database of research literature including peer-reviewed titles, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, patent records, scientific web pages, and seamless links to full text articles and other library resources. It is updated daily.
|
| Web of Science |
| |
Web of Science, published by Thomson ISI, provides access to current and retrospective multidisciplinary information from approximately 8,700 journals. This database also provides a unique search method, cited reference searching. It is made up of a suite of databases, including Science Citation Index 1945+ |
|
|