go to UNSW home page
UNSW logo UNSW Library Website Banner Picture

Contacts | Help
  
UNSW Library
Subject Guides
 
Art & Design
Arts & Social Sciences
Built Environment
Commerce & Economics
Engineering
Law
Medicine
Science
Subject Guides

Genetics Subject Guide

Key Resources | Databases | Journals | Reference Resources | Internet Links
Images & Multimedia

Databases

  This major biomedical and pharmaceutical database indexes international journals in the following relevant fields: drug research, clinical and experimental human medicine, health policy and management, and public health.
 Entrez
 
is a retrieval system for searching several linked databases. It provides access to:
  • Nucleotide sequence database (Genbank)
  • Protein sequence database Structure: three-dimensional macromolecular structures
  • Genome: complete genome assemblies
  • PopSet: Population study data sets
  • Taxonomy: organisms in GenBank
Medline
  - produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine. An Online tutorial for Medline is also available.
  This database is a catalog of human genes and genetic disorders.
  -the Rat Genome Database

Related Databases

AMI - Australasian Medical Index
  This database indexes material dealing with all aspects of health and medicine, with an emphasis on clinical medicine and para-professional fields; it covers Australian and New Zealand health and medical literature which is not included in Medline.
Biological Abstracts
  -life sciences literature
CAB Abstracts
  -covers agriculture, biotechnology, forestry, microbiology, nutrition, genetics, dairy science literature
Current Contents
  up-to-date access to leading scholarly journals, cross disciplinary
Scopus
Scopus is an abstract and citation database of research literature including peer-reviewed titles, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, patent records, scientific web pages, and seamless links to full text articles and other library resources. It is updated daily.
 Web of Science
  -trace citations to a particular work or to an author's work