go to UNSW home page
UNSW logo UNSW Library Website Banner Picture

Contacts | Help
  
UNSW Library
Subject Guides
 
Art & Design
Arts & Social Sciences
Built Environment
Commerce & Economics
Engineering
Law
Medicine
Science
Subject Guides

Genetics Subject Guide

Key Resources | Databases | Journals | Reference Resources | Internet Links
Images & multimedia

Key Resources

 DNA Interactive
  [Website]  Funded by the Howard Hughes Medical Institute and produced by Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory, DNA Interactive explores applications of DNA science in human identification, medicine and the search for human origins.
 Genetics Home Reference
[Web gateway]  Genetics Home Reference is the National Library of Medicine's web site for consumer information about genetic conditions and the genes or chromosomes responsible for those conditions.
 Medline
 
[Database]   The MEDLINE database (produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine) is widely recognized as the premier source for bibliographic and abstract coverage of biomedical literature.
Online tutorials for Medline are also available.
MedlinePlus Genetics and Birth Defects
[Web gateway]   This webgateway provides good health information from the world's largest medical library, the U.S. National Library of Medicine. Health professionals and consumers alike can depend on it for information that is authoritative and up to date.
Online Metabolic and Molecular Bases of Inherited Disease (OMMBID)
[E-Book] This MMBID online provides a clinical component including information on diagnosis, testing and screening, genetic counseling, and gene therapy.
 NCBI Human Genome Resources
  [Website]  NCBI's Web site serves an an integrated, one-stop, genomic information infrastructure for biomedical researchers from around the world so that they may use these data in their research efforts.
 OMIM Online Mendelian Inheritance in Man
  [Database]  This database is a catalog of human genes and genetic disorders authored and edited by Dr. Victor A. McKusick and his colleagues at Johns Hopkins and elsewhere, and developed for the World Wide Web by NCBI, the National Center for Biotechnology Information.

Related Subject Guides