go to UNSW home page
UNSW logo UNSW Library Website Banner Picture

Contacts | Help
  
UNSW Library
Subject Guides
 
Art & Design
Arts & Social Sciences
Built Environment
Commerce & Economics
Engineering
Law
Medicine
Science
Subject Guides

Genetics Subject Guide

Key ResourcesDatabases | Journals | Reference ResourcesInternet Links 
Images & Multimedia

Internet Links


General

ANZFA - Australia New Zealand Food Authority 
  Provide information on genetically modified foods
Australian National Genomic Information Service ANGIS 
 
ANGIS provides bioinformatic tools for:
  • Sequence analysis
  • Genome analysis
  • Data collection and handling
  • Sequence, Motif and Biological Databases
The Biology Project  (Genetics) - University of Arizona 
  An interactive online resource for learning biology developed at The University of Arizona
Blazing a Genetic Trail
  A report from the Howard Hughes Medical Institute
Centre for Genetics Education
 
The Centre for Genetics Education is dedicated to providing current and relevant genetics information to individuals and family members affected by genetic conditions and the professionals who work with them.
ExPasy Molecular Biology Server
 
The ExPASy (Expert Protein Analysis System) proteomics server of the Swiss Institute of Bioinformatics (SIB) is dedicated to the analysis of protein sequences and structures as well as 2-D PAGE.
Euchromatin Network 
  The Euchromatin Network is designed to help researchers and others interested in the latest developments in our studies of this most active part of the genome within the cell nucleus.
GeneTests
  It provides resources on gene reviews, international directory of genetic testing laboratories and directory of genetics and prenatal diagnosis clinics.
Genetic and Rare Conditions Site
   Information on genetic conditions /birth defects for professionals, educators, and individuals by the Medical Genetics, University of Kansas Medical Center
  Geneservice makes available innovative functional genomic products and technology services to academic and commercial research communities worldwide.
Greenpeace - Genetic Engineering
  It contains resources on gene reviews, international directory of genetic testing laboratories and directory of genetics and prenatal diagnosis clinics.
Health on the Net Foundation - a Swiss non-profit Foundation
 
It comprises ofMedHunt and HONselect which are medical search tools to medical information on the internet.
Human Genome Center (Institute of Medical Science, University of Tokyo)
The human genome research is aimed to contribute to the human welfare through developing novel methods on diagnosis, prevention, and care of human diseases
Information for Genetic Professionals (University of Kansas Medical Center)
  This site has clinical, research, and educational resources for genetic counselors, clinical geneticists and medical geneticists.
Institute for Genomic Research - TIGR
  The Institute for Genomic Research (TIGR) is a not-for-profit research institute whose primary research interests are in structural, functional and comparative analysis of genomes and gene products from a wide variety of organisms.
International Genetics Web sites
 
NSW Health (see NSW Health Publications/genetics)
  NSW Health publishes a wide range of materials that are available to the public. These include reports, brochures, pamphlets and factsheets.
Office of the Gene Technology Regulator (IOGTR) Australia
  The Office of the Gene Technology Regulator has been established within the Australian Government Department of Health and Ageing to provide administrative support to the Gene Technology Regulator in the performance of her functions.
The Sangar Centre
 a genome research centre founded by the Wellcome Trust and the Medical Research Council.
Science and Nature: Genes
provided by bbc.co.uk

Dna

DNA from the Beginning
An animated primer on the basis of DNA, genes and heredity
DNA-RNA-Protein
  Know more about the physical carriers of inheritance and the building blocks and workers of our cells. You may choose the basic level or proceed directly to more advanced information.
DNAI Interactive
Funded by the Howard Hughes Medical Institute
Genome Sequencing Center
  It focuses on the large scale generation and analysis of DNA sequence.

Human Genome

GeneMap'99
A New Gene Map of the Human Genome
Human Genome Organisation (HUGO)
HUGO is the international organisation of scientists involved in human genetics.
Human Genome Resources - NCBI
NCBI's Web site serves an an integrated, one-stop, genomic information infrastructure for biomedical researchers from around the world so that they may use these data in their research efforts.
Human Sequencing Centre
  It focuses on the large scale generation and analysis of DNA sequence.
HUM-MOLGEN News Alert
International Communication Forum in Human Molecular Genetics
National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI)
National Human Genome Research Institute
The National Human Genome Research Institute began as the National Center for Human Genome Research (NCHGR), which was established in 1989 to carry out the role of the National Institutes of Health (NIH) in the International Human Genome Project (HGP).
OMIM - Online Mendelian Inheritance in Man
  This database is a catalog of human genes and genetic disorders developed for the World Wide Web by NCBI, the National Center for Biotechnology Information. The database also contains copious links to MEDLINE and sequence records in the Entrez system, and links to additional related resources at NCBI and elsewhere.

Rat Genetics and Genome

BGEM - Brain Gene Expression Map
Mousebrain Gene Expression Map (St. Jude Children’s Research Hospital in Memphis, TN)
GENSAT database - Gene Expression Nervous System Atlas
The GENSAT project aims to map the expression of genes in the central nervous system of the mouse, using both in situ hybridization and transgenic mouse techniques.
Mouse Genome Informatics
Mouse Genome Informatics (MGI) provides integrated access to data on the genetics, genomics, and biology of the laboratory mouse.
RATMAP - The Rat Genome Database

Gene Technology

ANZFA-Australian and New Zealand Food Authority 
Provide information on gentically modified foods
CSIRO Homepage
  Note: search the site using "gene"
Gene Technology in Australia (CSIRO) 
  This site aims to explain the science of gene technology and describe what Australian scientists are doing.
Office of the Gene Technology Regulator (IOGTR) 
  The Office of the Gene Technology Regulator has been established within the Australian Government Department of Health and Ageing to provide administrative support to the Gene Technology Regulator in the performance of her functions.

Genetically Modified Foods

ANZFA - Australian and New Zealand Food Authority 
provide information on genetically modified foods
Genetically Modified Foods: Harmful or Helpful
Waiter there's a gene in my food! 
  Information on Genetically Modified Foods from the ABC Website

Cloning and Stem Cells

Molecular Cloning
A Laboratory Manual on the Web
Newscientist-hottopics-cloning
recent articles on cloning and stem cells