go to UNSW home page
UNSW logo UNSW Library Website Banner Picture

Contacts | Help
  
UNSW Library
Subject Guides
 
Art & Design
Arts & Social Sciences
Built Environment
Commerce & Economics
Engineering
Law
Medicine
Science
Subject Guides

General Medicine image
General Medicine Subject Guide

Key Resources | Databases | Journals | Reference Resources | Internet Links
Current Awareness | Texts | Images & Multimedia

Databases

African Index Medicus
The World Health Organization and the Association for Health Information and Libraries in Africa (AHILA) have produced an international index to African health literature and information sources.  Very few African health and biomedical information sources are included in the world's leading bibliographic databases and there is a wealth of untapped information in books, reports and studies from international development agencies, nongovernmental organizations and local institutions.  
ATSIhealth - Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Health 
  Includes published and unpublished material on Australian Indigenous health. Source documents include theses, unpublished articles, government reports, conference papers, abstracts, book chapters, books, discussion and working papers, and statistical documents.
AMI - Australasian Medical Index 
  This database indexes material dealing with all aspects of health and medicine, with an emphasis on clinical medicine and para-professional fields; it covers Australian and New Zealand health and medical literature which is not included in Medline.
APAIS - Health 
  This subset of the APAIS database covers legal, social, economic and ethical aspects of health in Australia.
Clin-eguide
This medical decision support tool from Ovid provides evidence-based information for use at the point of care. This resource integrates fully with other UNSW-subscribed Ovid products, allowing linking through to Medline, Embase and Books@Ovid. It will be continually updated with new content.
Cochrane Library 
 
National access to the Cochrane Library is funded by the Commonwealth Government of Australia.
The NICS Guide to the Cochrane Library is also available.
 
The Cochrane Library contains the following EBM databases:
  • The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews Complete reviews
  • Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effectiveness Abstracts of quality assessed systematic reviews
  • The Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL)
  • The Cochrane Database of Methodology Reviews Complete reviews
  • The Cochrane Methodology Register References
  • Collaborative Review Groups
  • Methods Groups
  • Health Technology Assessment Database (HTA) Abstracts by INAHTA and other healthcare technology agencies
  • NHS Economic Evaluation Database (NHS EED)
 For UNSW staff and students outside Australia, please use the following access to Ovid databases: 
EMBASE 
  The EMBASE family consists of three separate databases: (1) EMBASE: Excerpta Medica Database, and its subsets, (2) EMBASE Drugs and Pharmacology, and (3) EMBASE Psychiatry. Produced by Elsevier Science
Index-Catalogue of the Library of the Surgeon-General's Office. U.S. Army, Series 1-5
  This historical index covers the medical literature dating from 1880 - 1961.
Global Health
Global Health brings together the resources of two international databases - the Public Health and Tropical Medicine (PHTM) database, previously produced by the Bureau of Hygiene and Tropical Diseases (BHTD), and the human health and diseases information extracted from CAB ABSTRACTS. Dating back to 1973, the Global Health database provides deep subject coverage of information related to human health and communicable diseases. 1973+
Meditext
  Meditext is based on the journal indexing of the database Australasian Medical Index (AMI), it includes fulltext articles on all aspects of medicine and health.
Medline via OVID 
  The MEDLINE database (produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine) is widely recognized as the premier source for bibliographic and abstract coverage of biomedical literature. An Online tutorial for Medline is also available.
OLDMedline
  The citations in Ovid OLDMEDLINE are for articles from international biomedical journals covering the fields of medicine, preclinical sciences, and allied health sciences, originally printed in hardcopy indexes published from 1951 through 1965.
RURAL 
 
Contains 7 smaller databases dating from 1996+ :
  1. Education for Rural Medical Practice
  2. Indigenous People's Health
  3. Rural and Remote Area Nursing
  4. Rural and Remote Health Care
  5. Rural and Remote Area Aged Care
  6. Promoting Rural Men's Health
  7. Rural and Remote Area Health Care

Related Databases

 Ageline
  Database covering research in the field of Ageing (gerontology) produced by the AARP (formerly American Association of Retired Persons) Research Center. Includes health issues.
 Ausportmed
  Produced by the National Sport Information Centre in the Australian Sports Commission. Indexes articles on all aspects of medical and health issues in Australian sport.
 Biomed Central
An alternative publishing consortium that promotes open access in scholarly fulltext electronic publishing. Fully peer reviewed. Covers research articles, hypotheses papers, case reports, debates, study protocols, methodology articles, clinical trials, current reports, meetings.
 CAB Abstracts
CAB ABSTRACTS is a bibliographic database compiled by CAB INTERNATIONAL. It covers the significant research and development literature in the biological sciences, including aspects of human health, human nutrition, tropical medicine and AIDS research.
 CINAHL
Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature
 Current Contents
Current Contents is a multidisciplinary current awareness resource, providing access to complete bibliographic information from over 8,000 of the world's leading scholarly journals and more than 2,000 books.
 Drug Database
Drug Database (DRUG), produced by the Alcohol and other Drugs Council of Australia (ADCA) in Canberra, is a bibliographic database that indexes articles from published and unpublished material on the psychosocial aspects of substance abuse.
 Entrez
Produced by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), Entrez provides integrated access to nucleotide and protein sequence data from >130,000 organisms, along with 3D protein structures, genomic mapping information, PubMed MEDLINE, and more.
 Health & Society
Health & Society Database (H&S) is a subset of Australian Family & Society Abstracts (FAMILY), produced by the Australian Institute of Family Studies. FAMILY is a bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts articles from published and unpublished material on research, policy and practice issues about, or of relevance to, Australian families. Health policy and services and the social, psychological, legal and ethical issues associated with health are of direct importance to Australian people and families, and are a core subject area of the database.
 Journal Citation Reports
JCR is a resource tool for journal evaluation, using citation data drawn from over 8,400 journals from over 3,000 publishers worldwide.
 POPLINE
  POPLINE focuses on particular developing-country issues including demography, AIDS and other sexually transmitted diseases, maternal and child health, primary health care communication, and population and environment.
 Toxnet
  A cluster of databases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, and related areas.
Scopus
Scopus is an abstract and citation database of research literature including peer-reviewed titles, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, patent records, scientific web pages, and seamless links to full text articles and other library resources. It is updated daily.
 Web of Science   
  The Web of Science delivers web-based access to the citation indexes, including Science Citation Index. Complete coverage is now provided.