go to UNSW home page
UNSW logo UNSW Library Website Banner Picture

Contacts | Help
  
UNSW Library
Subject Guides
 
Art & Design
Arts & Social Sciences
Built Environment
Commerce & Economics
Engineering
Law
Medicine
Science
Subject Guides

General Medicine image
General Medicine Subject Guide

Key Resources | Databases | Journals | Reference Resources | Internet Links
Current Awareness | Texts | Images & Multimedia

Images and Multimedia


General Images and Image Search Engines

Image Search Engines and Directories 
AltaVista - Search for Images or Videos on the Web
AllTheWeb - Search for pictures and Videos
FreeImages.co.uk
FindLaw - Search for Medical Images
Google's Image Search service
Medical Images and Illustrations -  Karolinska Institutet University Library
Medical Pictures - Hardin.MD - University of Iowa
New York Public Library Digital Gallery
Picsearch
Picture Finder - Ditto.Com
Yahoo - Health/Multimedia links
 
 
Free Image Sources
Bristol Biomedical Image Archive - University of Bristol (UK)
EDPicture resource - NCEMI
HONmedia Gallery - searchable database
MIDAS - UNSW. Contact Medical Illustration Unit
PhotoShare - Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health(US)
Public Health Image Library - (PHIL) at CDC (US)
Spencer S Eccles HSL, U of Utah (US) Digital Collections and Multimedia
PhotoRounds - MDchoice.com
Vesalius Image Archive - some free content
 
 
Commercial Image Sources
ADAM's Media Gallery
Dennis Kunkel's Image Collection - Hawaii
CartoonBank.com - a collection from the New Yorker Magazine includes medical cartoons
Custom Medical Stock Photo - Chicago (US)
Gallery of Medical Illustration at CT-is-us - AMIL (US)
images.MD- subscription service
LifeArt - Medical Illustration Samples
Medical Illustration Source Book 14
Mediscan
Photovault (US)
 
 Image Collections via UNSW Subscriptions
Emergency MedicinePhoto Gallery - Available via Harrisons Online.
Source: Atlas of Emergency Medicine, 2nd edition, edited by Kevin J. Knoop, Lawrence B. Stack, Alan B. Storrow.

Online Tutorials and Multimedia

ECG Learning Center in Cyberspace
  This interactive ECG tutorial represents an introduction to clinical electrocardiography.
HEAL Health Education Assets Library
 
The Health Education Assets Library (HEAL) is a digital library that provides freely accessible digital teaching materials of the highest quality that meet the needs of today's health sciences educators and learners.
Heart Sounds Tutorial and Quiz , SVT Tutorial
  Blaufuss Medical Mutlimedia Laboratories
How Now Mad Cow 
  On CJD and BSE, Department of Microbiology & Immunology, University of Leicester
Human Brain Map - BBC
  This interactive site from the BBC focusses on the structure and function of the brain.
Hypermuscle : Muscles in Action
  University of Michigan Learning Resource Center.
Illustrated Guides from WedMD
  A collection of guides containing medically accurate animated images of just what's going on in the body when a disorder takes hold. Users learn what causes the disease, who's at risk, and what the latest treatment options are.
Interactive Body - BBC
   This interactive website produced as part of the BBC network's online Science &
Nature site allows you to explore the human body through a series of
interactive activities. You can select the gender of the body you wish
to view and then proceed to look through the organs, muscles, skeleton, and
nervous system of each human body.
Interactive Health Tutorials
  MedlinePlus, National Library of Medicine NLM
Interactive Online guide to the Neurologic Exam - includes video demonstrations
  Self paced online tutorial designed for practitioners and students, giving an introduction to the principles of Evidence-based Medicine. Developed by Connie Schardt, Duke University Medical Center Library and Jill Mayer, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill Health Science Library.
LUMEN
  Loyola University Medical Education Network
Medbroadcast.Com Medical Video Clips(Canada)
NIH Video Casting
  Webcast lectures of National Institute of Health events. (US)
OR-Live Live Surgical video on the Internet - slp3D
Osteoporosis and Bone Physiology Dept of Medicine, University of Washington
Physical Examination Videos
  (Quicktime required) University of Virginia Health System
Surgical Tutor
  This site contains educational material aimed at those preparing for undergraduate and postgraduate surgical examinations. It includes clinical tutorials, a journal club, multiple choice questions, revision notes, slide library, discussion group and more.
Understanding Cancer
Understanding Gene Testing
Understanding the Immune system
University of Washington Online Continuing Medical Education
Videos
  from North East Valley/Div. General Practice, Victoria

UNSW Library Multimedia Resources

Download a list of Multimedia Resources held by the Biomedical Library.

Search the LRD for Biomedical Library (MB) Multimedia Resources.