go to UNSW home page
UNSW logo UNSW Library Website Banner Picture

Contacts | Help
  
UNSW Library
Subject Guides
 
Art & Design
Arts & Social Sciences
Built Environment
Commerce & Economics
Engineering
Law
Medicine
Science
Subject Guides

General Medicine Image
General Medicine Subject Guide

Key Resources | Databases | Journals | Reference Resources | Internet Links
Current Awareness | Texts | Images & multimedia

Key Resources

Clin-eguide
This medical decision support tool from Ovid provides evidence-based information for use at the point of care. This resource integrates fully with other UNSW-subscribed Ovid products, allowing linking through to Medline, Embase and Books@Ovid. It will be continually updated with new content.
 CMDTonline.com - Current Medical Diagnosis and Treatment 
 
[E-book]  CMDT Online combines three medical texts:
  1. Current Medical Diagnosis & Treatment, by Drs. Lawrence M. Tierney, Jr., Stephen J. McPhee, and Maxine A. Papadakis.
  2. Pocket Guide to Diagnostic Tests, by Drs. Diana Nicoll, Stephen J. McPhee, Michael Pignone, Tony N. Chou, and William Detmer.
  3. Practice Guidelines in Primary Care, by Drs. Ralph Gonzales and Jean S. Kutner.
eTG - Therapeutic Guidelines 
[Database]  eTG Complete is an electronic compilation of Therapeutic Guidelines. eTG Complete provides clear, practical, authoritative and succinct therapeutic information for health practitioners, for the management of patients with specific conditions.  Therapeutic Guidelines has been used by health professionals for over 20 years as a valuable second opinion in the management of patients with common clinical conditions.
 Medline
 
[Database]  The MEDLINE database (produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine) is widely recognized as the premier source for bibliographic and abstract coverage of biomedical literature.   
 Online tutorials for Medline are also available.
 HealthInsite 
[Web gateway]  This web gateway is a Commonwealth Government of Australia initiative which aims to provide access to quality information about human health.
 Harrison's Online
  [E-book]  The online version of Harrison's Textbook of Medicine.
 MedlinePlus
  [Web gateway]   This web gateway provides good health information from the world's largest medical library, the U.S. National Library of Medicine. Health professionals and consumers alike can depend on it for information that is authoritative and up to date.
 Mims Online 
  [Database]  MIMS Online is the web version of MIMS - an Australian pharmaceutical database, it offers convenient access to essential information on over 2,300 prescription and non-prescription drugs.
 Medicine 3802 Information Skills Tutorial
  [Online tutorial]   This online tutorial aims to consolidate the information covered in library workshops and provides the opportunity for students to learn more about searching for information to support assignments and self-directed learning.

Related Subject Guides