go to UNSW home page
UNSW logo UNSW Library Website Banner Picture

Contacts | Help
  
UNSW Library
Subject Guides
 
Art & Design
Arts & Social Sciences
Built Environment
Commerce & Economics
Engineering
Law
Medicine
Science
Subject Guides

General Medicine Image
General Medicine Subject Guide

Key Resources | Databases | Journals | Reference Resources | Internet Links
Current Awareness | Texts | Images & Multimedia

Internet Links


Australian Links

Australian Medical Association (AMA)  
  The Australian Medical Association (AMA) is an independent organisation which represents more than 27,000 doctors.
Australian Government Department of Health and Ageing
 
The Portfolio of Health and Ageing has a diverse set of responsibilities, but throughout there is a common purpose, which is reflected in the mission statement: 'To lead the development of Australian's Health and Ageing system.'
Australian Institute of Health and Welfare (AIHW)
  The Australian Institute of Health and Welfare ( AIHW )is Australia's national agency for health and welfare statistics and information
Garvan Institute of Medical Research  
  The Garvan Institute of Medical Research was founded over forty years ago by the Sisters of Charity as a small research department of St Vincent's Hospital in Sydney.
Since then, it has grown to become one of Australia's largest medical research institutions with over three hundred scientists, students and support staff.
HCN Health Communication Network
 
HCN pioneered the delivery of internet-based health information resources and now provides over 80 per cent of Australia's medium to large hospitals with one of the world's most comprehensive commercial collections of online knowledge resources.
HealthInsite
  Commonwealth Government of Australia initiative which aims to provide access to quality information about human health
Health Matters
Health Matters is the Australian Broadcasting Corporation's online gateway to health.
The Health Report
  Medical stories, transcripts, podcasts and downloadable mp3's from the ABC Radio National Program.
MED-E-Serv In Touch Service
  A service for Australian and New Zealand Clinicians. Free registration required.
MyDr.com.au
  Australian site providing news, health and drug information, includes section for particular diseases
National Health and Medical Research Council (NHMRC)
  The National Health and Medical Research Council (NHMRC) consolidates the functions of research funding and development of advice. One of its strengths is that it brings together and draws upon the resources of all components of the health system, including governments, medical practitioners, nurses and allied health professionals, researchers, teaching and research institutions, public and private program managers, service administrators, community health organisations, social health researchers and consumers.
NSW Health
 
NSW Health is made up of the NSW Department of Health and the following public health organisations: Area Health Services ; Children's Hospital at Westmead ; Corrections Health Service ; Ambulance Service of NSW.
Royal Australian College of General Practitioners
 
The RACGP is the national leader in setting and maintaining the standards for quality practice, education and research in Australian General Practice.

International Links

  Includes guides on topics relating to general health, as well as the prevention or treatment of diseases and disorders.
BioMedNet
  Elsevier's portal to Life Sciences. Free registration required.
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)
  CDC serves as the national focus for developing and applying disease prevention and control, environmental health, and health promotion and education activities designed to improve the health of the people of the United States.
Galaxy international directory of Medical sites  and Diseases sites
  Medical Subject Directory.
Hardin Meta Directory of Internet Health Sources
  Produced by the Hardin Library for the Health Sciences, University of Iowa.
Health on the Net
  HON's mission is to guide lay persons or non-medical users and medical practitioners to useful and reliable online medical and health information.
Healthfinder
  U.S. government health and human services information
Healthweb
  HealthWeb is a collaborative project of the health sciences libraries of the Greater Midwest Region (GMR) of the National Network of Libraries of Medicine (NN/LM) and those of the Committee for Institutional Cooperation.
DOEgenomes.org
  Website of the Office of Biological and Environmental Research of the U.S. Department of Energy Office of Science. Founders of the Human Genome Project.
Institute of Medicine (IOM) Topics Listing
  A component of the National Academy of Sciences (NAS), the IOM provides a public service by working outside the framework of government to ensure independent guidance on matters of science and medicine. The IOM's mission is to advance and disseminate scientific knowledge to improve human health.
Librarian's Index to the Internet - Health and Medicine
  Medical Subject directory.
Mayo Clinic
  Mayo Clinic Health Information's award-winning consumer Web site offers health information, and self-improvement and disease management tools. MayoClinic.com's medical experts and editorial professionals bring you access to the knowledge and experience of Mayo Clinic for all consumer health information needs, from cancer, diabetes and heart disease to nutrition, exercise and pregnancy.
Medem
  Healthcare information provided and approved by the leading U.S medical societies
Medical Matrix
  The Medical Matrix Project is devoted to posting, annotating, and continuously updating "full content, unrestricted access, Internet clinical medicine resources." Medical Matrix assigns ranks to Internet resources based on their utility for point-of-care clinical application. Quality, peer review, full content, multimedia features, and unrestricted access are emphasized in the rankings.
Medical Professionalism Project - includes Charter on Medical Professionalism
  A collaborative effort designed to raise the concept of professionalism within the consciousness of internal medicine, both in the United States and Europe.
MEDLINEplus Health Information
  National Library of Medicine. A guide to using MedlinePlus MedlinePlus Basicsis also available.
Medscape
  Free Registration required. Medscape is organized by medical specialty, with each supported specialty having its own custom Web Site. Specialty content is evaluated, created, and presented under the guidance of editorial boards.
MedWeb
  Produced by Emory University Health Sciences Center Library.
National Institutes of Health (U.S.)
  The National Institutes of Health  is one of the world's foremost medical research centers, and the Federal focal point for medical research in the United States.
National Library of Medicine (U.S.)
  The world's largest Medical Library and creator of Medline/PubMed.
Virtual Hospital
  Virtual Hospital is a digital health sciences library created in 1992 at the University of Iowa to help meet the information needs of health care providers and patients.
World Health Organization
  The World Health Organization is the United Nations specialized agency for health. It was established on 7 April 1948. WHO's objective, as set out in its Constitution, is the attainment by all peoples of the highest possible level of health.
WWW Virtual Library: Medicine and Health
 
The VL is the oldest catalog of the web, started by Tim Berners-Lee, the creator of html and the web itself. It is run by a loose confederation of volunteers, who compile pages of key links for particular areas in which they are expert; the VL pages are widely recognised as being amongst the highest-quality guides to particular sections of the web.
WWW Virtual Library: Public Health
  Maintained by the School of Public Health and Community Medicine, UNSW, of the Virtual Public Health Library aims to bring together public health sites and resources in a systematic and easily accessible way for all those wishing to be in touch with the most relevant and meaningful public health resources.
Yahoo Medicine Index
  Medical Subject Directory.

Medical Search Engines

Echidna Search
  This database specialises in Australian medical webpages.
MDchoice.com: the ultimate medical information finder
Medworld: Medbot Searching Tool
MedHunt : Medical Document Finder
NLM Gateway
  A single search gateway for National Library of Medicine resources.
OMNI
  Organised Medical Network Information, UK gateway to High Quality Internet Resources.
Science.gov
   Science.gov contains reliable information resources selected by the respective agencies as their best science information. Two major types of information are included—selected authoritative science Web sites and databases of technical reports, journal articles, conference proceedings, and other published materials.
Scirus- for scientific information only
  A powerful search engine developed by Elsevier Science.