go to UNSW home page
UNSW logo UNSW Library Website Banner Picture

Contacts | Help
  
UNSW Library
Subject Guides
 
Art & Design
Arts & Social Sciences
Built Environment
Commerce & Economics
Engineering
Law
Medicine
Science
Subject Guides

General Medicine Image
General Medicine Subject Guide

Key Resources | Databases | Journals | Reference Resources | Internet Links
Current Awareness | Texts | Images & Multimedia

References Resources


Encyclopedias and Dictionaries

Encyclopedia of Human Nutrition.
   The extent of coverage of thiis reference work is wide and broad-based. It includes: physiological aspects of nutrient and energy requirements by different population groups; measurement of dietary intake and nutritional status; nutrient composition of the main food groups; associations between diet, lifestyle and disease; clinical applications of nutrition to improve health; influences on food choice and eating behaviour; nutritional guidelines and public health policies in both developed and developing countries; and a range of related topics in between these key subject areas.
Encyclopedia of Life Sciences.
   Comprehensive reference work for information in the biological sciences from the Nature Publishing Group.
Encyclopedia of Virology
   The Encyclopedia of Virology, now in its second edition, continues to assemble the basic and practical aspects of virology (including animal, insect, plant, and bacterial viruses) in a concise form, providing a rapidly accessible synopsis of each subject for the use of both professional and interested lay readers.
HealthCentral Library - Encyclopedias.
   A library of medical encyclopedias, including Paediatrics encyclopedia and General Health encyclopedia.
Heath Topics - Answers.com
  Answers.com displays quick, snapshot answers with concise, reliable information drawn from authoritative encyclopedias, dictionaries, glossaries and atlases.
This resource als has a citation helper builit in. If you go to the Copyright page at the bottom of the results page, and click on "cite" next to the relevant resource, it puts the reference in the citation style that you nominate.
Medical Quotations Online.
  American College of Physicians
MedlinePLUS Medical Encyclopedia
  The adam Health Illustrated Encyclopedia includes over 4,000 articles about diseases, tests, symptoms, injuries, and surgeries. It also contains an extensive library of medical photographs and illustrations.
Merriam-Webster Medical Dictionary Online.
  from MEDLINEplus Health Information
Oxford Reference Online - Subject Dictionaries
  Included many relevant reference works such as: The Oxford Companion to the Body; Concise Medical Dictionary; An A-Z of Medicinal Drugs; A Dictionary of Nursing; A Dictionary of Psychology

Handbooks and Guidelines


Australian Immunisation Handbook (2003) 8th ed.
  The Australian Immunisation Handbook 8th Edition 2003 was approved by the National Health and Medical Research Council (NHMRC) on 18 September 2003.
CMDTonline.com - Current Medical Diagnosis and Treatment
CMDT Online combines three medical texts:
  1. Current Medical Diagnosis & Treatment, by Drs. Lawrence M. Tierney, Jr., Stephen J. McPhee, and Maxine A. Papadakis.
  2. Pocket Guide to Diagnostic Tests, by Drs. Diana Nicoll, Stephen J. McPhee, Michael Pignone, Tony N. Chou, and William Detmer.
  3. Practice Guidelines in Primary Care, by Drs. Ralph Gonzales and Jean S. Kutner.
Guidelines from the RACGP
  The RACGP publishes a wide range of guidelines to assist general practitioners in their work
National Guideline Clearinghouse (NGC)
  A comprehensive database of evidence-based clinical practice guidelines and related documents
Medicare Benefits Schedule
  Commonwealth Deptartment of Health and Aging
eTG Complete - Therapeutic Guidelines
   Therapeutic Guidelines has been used by health professionals for aver 20 years as a valuable second opinion in the management of patients with common clinical conditions.

Other Reference

Australian Health Map
  A state-by-state guide to health resources, statistics and information. .
Area Health Services
  NSWHealth. An online map of all NSW Area Health Services.
BrightSparcs
  A register of more than 4,100 people involved in the development of science, technology and medicine in Australia, including references to their archival materials and bibliographic resources.
Manual of Use and Interpretation of Pathology Tests
  3rd ed. (2001). Royal College of Pathologists of Australasia. (free plugin required-download from site)
MIMS Online
  MIMS offers convenient access to essential information on over 2,300 prescription and non-prescription drugs.
Multilingual Health Information
  Patient information in community languages, Multilingual Health Communication Service, NSWHealth.
New York Academy of Medicine Grey Literature Report
  Quarterly publication of The New York Academy of Medicine Library alerting readers to new grey literature publications in public health as they are acquired.
NIH Clinical Alerts and Advisories.
  Clinical alerts are provided to expedite the release of findings from the NIH-funded clinical trials where such release could significantly affect morbidity and mortality.
World Health Report.
  World Health Organization. Includes Reports from 1995 onwards.