go to UNSW home page
UNSW logo UNSW Library Website Banner Picture

Contacts | Help
  
UNSW Library
Subject Guides
 
Art & Design
Arts & Social Sciences
Built Environment
Commerce & Economics
Engineering
Law
Medicine
Science
Subject Guides

General Medicine Image
General Medicine Subject Guide

Key Resources | Databases | Journals | Reference Resources | Internet Links
Current Awareness | Texts | Images & Multimedia


Texts

 Australia's Health 2006 
  The tenth biennial health report of the Australian Institute of Health and Welfare. It is the nation's authoritative source of information on patterns of health and illness, determinants of health, the supply and use of health services, and health services expenditure. The report also includes a special chapter on the health of older Australians.
 Australian Immunisation Handbook. (2003) 8th ed.
  The Australian Immunisation Handbook 8th Edition 2003 was approved by the National Health and Medical Research Council (NHMRC) on 18 September 2003.
AccessMedicine
 
Includes the following full-text titles:
  • Brooks:Jawetz, Melnick, & Adelberg's Medical Microbiology
  • Chandrasoma:Concise Pathology
  • Crawford:Current Diagnosis & Treatment in Cardiology
  • DeCherney:Current Obstetric & Gynecologic Diagnosis & Treatment
  • Ebert:Current Diagnosis & Treatment in Psychiatry
  • Ganong:Review of Medical Physiology
  • Gomella:Clinician's Pocket Reference
  • Greenberg:Medical Epidemiology
  • Greenspan:Basic & Clinical Endocrinology
  • Hay:Current Pediatric Diagnosis and Treatment
  • Junqueira:Basic Histology
  • Katzung:Basic & Clinical Pharmacology
  • Murray:Harper's Biochemistry
  • McPhee:Pathophysiology of Disease, An Introduction to Clinical Medicine
  • Skinner:Current Diagnosis & Treatment in Orthopedics
  • Tanagho:Smith's General Urology
  • Vaughan:General Ophthalmology
  • Waxman:Correlative Neuroanatomy
  • Way:Current Surgical Diagnosis & Treatment
  • Wilson:Histology Image Review
Books@OVID
 
Includes the following Full-text titles:
  • Adams & Victor's Principles of Neurology
  • DeVita: Cancer: Principles & Practice of Oncology
  • Danforth's Obstetrics and Gynecology
  • Kaplan & Sadock's Comprehensive Textbook of Psychiatry
  • Modern Nutrition in Health and Disease
  • New Oxford Textbook of Psychiatry
  • Oski's Pediatrics
  • Oxford Handbook of Clinical Examination and Practical Skills
  • Oxford Handbook of Clinical Medicine
  • Oxford Handbook of Clinical Surgery
  • Oxford Textbook of Clinical Nephrology
  • Oxford Textbook of Critical Care
  • Oxford Textbook of Endocrinology and Diabetes
  • Oxford Textbook of Geriatric Medicine
  • Oxford Textbook of Medicine
  • Oxford Textbook of Oncology
  • Oxford Textbook of Orthopedics & Trauma
  • Oxford Textbook of Palliative Medicine
  • Oxford Textbook of Primary Medical Care
  • Oxford Textbook of Public Health
  • Oxford Textbook of Surgery
  • Sports Injuries: Mechanisms, Prevention, Treatment
Clinical Evidence
  Clinical Evidence is produced by the BMJ Publishing Group and is frequently updated. It provides a concise account of the current state of knowledge, ignorance, and uncertainty about the prevention and treatment of a wide range of clinical conditions based on thorough searches and appraisal of the literature.
Clinical Methods: The History, Physical, and Laboratory Examinations. 3rd ed. Walker, H.K.; Hall, W.D.; Hurst, J.W., editors Stoneham (MA): Butterworth Publishers; c1990.
Available from NCBI Bookshelf, National Center for Biotechnology Information
Gray's Anatomy of the Human Body
  The Bartleby.com edition of Gray's Anatomy of the Human Body features 1,247 vibrant engravings - many in color - from the classic 1918 publication, as well as a subject index with 13,000 entries ranging from the Antrum of Highmore to the Zonule of Zinn.
Harrisons Online
  Updated daily, the site delivers the complete text, illustrations, and expanded features from the 15th edition of Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine, including additional references, many links to MEDLINEâ„¢® abstracts, and important information from emerging fields.
HIV Medicine
HIV Medicine is a medical textbook that aims to provide a comprehensive and up-to-date overview of the treatment of HIV Infection.
Hurst's the heart
  Online access to this classic cardiology text, covering cardiovascular health and disease, the anatomy of the heart and current cardiovascular medicine.
Merck Manuals
  This website covers Merck Manual of Medical Information, Merck Manual of Diagnosis and Therapy, Merck Manual of Geriatrics, Merck Veterinary Manual, Merck Index.
 Manual of Use and Interpretation of Pathology Tests.
  4th ed. 2004. Royal College of Pathologists of Australasia.
SARSReference
  A medical textbook that provides a comprehensive and up-to-date overview of severe acute repiratory syndrome (SARS)

Online Companion Sites

 Online Companion to Kuby Immunology , 4th edition.  Richard A. Goldsby, Thomas J. Kindt and Barbara A.Osborne. W.H. Freeman, 2000.
  - This website is designed to help students review key concepts from the textbook through interactive exercises and learning tools.
 Online companion to Essentials of Clinical Immunology, 4th edition. Helen Chapel, Mansel Haeney, Siraj Misbah and Neil Snowden. Blackwell Science, 1999.
  - This site contains, further case histories and reference together with short commentary on the evidence for new or controversial statement in the text, further reading, multiple choice self-assessment question, and an image archive.
 Online Companion to Larson, W. Human Embryology. 2001(3rd edition) . Churchill Livingstone and Larson, W.(1998) Essentials of Human Embryology. Churchill Livingstone.
  - This website contains supplemental materials for William Larsen's Human Embryology textbooks. Contents include: Animations of developmental processes;  Updates and links ;  Self-testing exercises ; Glossaries and an Instructor's Manual.
 

Text Collections

 FreeBooks4Doctors
  - approx 600 books listed by specialty. FreeBooks4Doctors! is dedicated to the promotion of free access to medical books over the Internet.   
National Academies Press Online Books  
  NAP publishes over 200 books a year on a wide range of topics in science, engineering, and health, capturing the most authoritative views on important issues in science and health policy.
NCBI BookShelf
  - a collection of searchable online biomedical books. Titles include: Medical Microbiology, Surgical Treatment - Evidence Based and Problem-Oriented, The Cell - A Molecular Approach, etc.
 Virtual Hospital Multimedia Textbooks 
  The Virtual Hospital digital library contains thousands of textbooks and booklets for health care providers and patients.