go to UNSW home page
UNSW logo UNSW Library Website Banner Picture

Contacts | Help
  
UNSW Library
Subject Guides
 
Art & Design
Arts & Social Sciences
Built Environment
Commerce & Economics
Engineering
Law
Medicine
Science
Subject Guides

Man
Geriatric Medicine Subject Guide

 Key Resources | Databases | Journals | Reference Resources 
 Internet Links | Organisations |  Current Awareness  

Databases

AMI
  Australasian Medical Index (AMI), produced by the National Library of Australia, indexes and abstracts articles from over 160 Australasian health and medical serials. Most of these are not indexed for MEDLINE.  Subject coverage includes all aspects of health and medicine, with an emphasis on clinical medicine and paraprofessional fields. Source documents include journals, conference proceedings, government reports, selected monographs and National Health and Medical Research Council (NHMRC) session reports. 1968+
APAIS-Health
  Australian Public Affairs Information Service - Health (APAIS-Health), produced by the National Library of Australia, is a bibliographic database that indexes articles from published material. APAIS-Health covers health and medicine in Australia and in particular the legal, social, economic and ethical aspects of health. Clinical articles are not indexed for APAIS-Health. This database is a subset of the APAIS database. 1978+
CINAHL
CINAHL is the definitive reference tool covering the English language journal literature for nursing and allied health disciplines. Covers topics such as aging, geriatric nursing, rehabilitation and physiotherapy.
EMBASE
  The Excerpta Medica database (EMBASE) produced by Elsevier Science, is a major biomedical and pharmaceutical database indexing over 3,500 international journals in the following fields: drug research, pharmacology, pharmaceutics, toxicology, clinical and experimental human medicine, health policy and management, public health, occupational health, environmental health, drug dependence and abuse, psychiatry, forensic medicine, and biomedical engineering/instrumentation. There is selective coverage for nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, psychology, and alternative medicine. 1988+
Medline via OVID
  Medline is produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine. It is the electronic counterpart of Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature, and the International Nursing Index. Medline contains bibliographic citations and author abstracts from more than 4,600 biomedical journals. An Online tutorial for Medline is also available. 1966+

Related Databases

Ageline
  Ageline is produced by the AARP (American Association of Retired Persons) Research Center. It indexes and abstracts the literature of social gerontology as well as aging-related research from psychology, sociology, social work, economics, public policy, and the health sciences. 1966+
Biomed Central
  Biomed Central is an alternative publishing consortium that promotes open access in scholarly fulltext electronic publishing. Fully peer reviewed. Covers research articles, hypotheses papers, case reports, debates, study protocols, methodology articles, clinical trials, current reports, meetings.
Cochrane Library 
The Cochrane Library consists of a regularly updated collection of evidence-based medicine databases, including The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews - evidence based systematic reviews prepared by the Cochrane Collaboration which provide high quality information to people providing and receiving care and those responsible for research, teaching, funding and administration at all levels.
Current Contents
Current Contents is a multidisciplinary current awareness resource, providing access to complete bibliographic information from over 8,000 of the world's leading scholarly journals and more than 2,000 books.
Health and Society
Health & Society Database (H&S) is a subset of Australian Family & Society Abstracts (FAMILY), produced by the Australian Institute of Family Studies. FAMILY is a bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts articles from published and unpublished material on research, policy and practice issues about, or of relevance to, Australian families. Health policy and services and the social, psychological, legal and ethical issues associated with health are of direct importance to Australian people and families, and are a core subject area of the database. 1980+
Journals@OVID
This database is one of the largest single-database aggregations of searchable scientific, technical and medical full text journals in the world. It contains the electronic full text and graphics of every full text journal offered by Ovid - currently 396 titles from dozens of publishers. Full text articles are seamlessly integrated with bibliographic databases via millions of links and journals are linked to each other through their references.
Journal Citation Reports
Journal Citation Reports (JCR), published by ISI, is a resource tool for journal evaluation, using citation data drawn from over 8,400 journals from over 3,000 publishers worldwide. Useful for finding out which journals are making an impact on the literature of a particular subject area.
Proquest Science Journals
Search other Proquest databases, including ABI/INFORM Global, by using the Select Multiple Databases option.
PsycINFO
  PsycINFO contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations, and technical reports, all in the field of psychology and the psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business and the law. 1887+
Scopus
Scopus is an abstract and citation database of research literature including peer-reviewed titles, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, patent records, scientific web pages, and seamless links to full text articles and other library resources. It is updated daily.
Sociological Abstracts
CSA Sociological Abstracts abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,700 serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers.
Social Work Abstracts 
Social Work Abstracts, produced by the US National Association of Social Workers, is the primary index to journal articles published in the social work and social welfare field. Included are topics such as homelessness, AIDS, child and family welfare, aging, substance abuse, legislation, community organisation. 1977+