go to UNSW home page
UNSW logo UNSW Library Website Banner Picture

Contacts | Help
  
UNSW Library
Subject Guides
 
Art & Design
Arts & Social Sciences
Built Environment
Commerce & Economics
Engineering
Law
Medicine
Science
Subject Guides

History of Medicine image
History of Medicine Subject Guide



Databases

AMI (Australasian Medical Index)
Australasian Medical Index (AMI), produced by the National Library of Australia, indexes and abstracts articles from over 160 Australasian health and medical serials. Most of these are not indexed for MEDLINE.  Subject coverage includes all aspects of health and medicine, with an emphasis on clinical medicine and paraprofessional fields. Source documents include journals, conference proceedings, government reports, selected monographs and National Health and Medical Research Council (NHMRC) session reports. (1968+)
Expanded Academic ASAP
  provides a combination of indexing, abstracts, images, and full text for scholarly and general interest journals embracing all academic disciplines.
EMBASE 
  The Excerpta Medica database (EMBASE) produced by Elsevier Science, is a major biomedical and pharmaceutical database indexing over 3,500 international journals. (1988+)
Tips: Complete your subject search in EMBASE and combine with the EMTREE terms "History of Medicine" or "History" (exploded)
General Science Full Text
  General Science Full Text, published by WilsonWeb, indexes literature from a broad range of scientific subject areas including: Astronomy; Atmospheric Science; Biology; Botany; Chemistry; Conservation; Earth Science; Environment; Food & Nutrition; Genetics; Health & Medicine; Mathematics; Microbiology; Oceanography; Physics; Physiology; Zoology. (1984+)
History of Science, Technology and Medicine
History of Science, Technology & Medicine describes journals articles, conference proceedings, books, book reviews, and dissertations in the history of science, technology, and medicine and allied historical fields.
JSTOR
JSTOR maintains a trusted archive of important scholarly journals, it covers historical publications primarily in the humanities and social sciences, but extended to across almost all disciplines.
Search tips:  Follow the JSTOR link to get into the JSTOR site. Ignore the first JSTOR screen contents and click on Search (on the top left of screen), then, select Advanced Search. Scroll down and nominate your subject areas e.g. Health Policy, Psychology, History of Science & Technology, etc.on the advanced search page. As JSTOR citations before the 1960s do not have an abstract to search in, you may have to search on the full-text contents for more fruitful results.
Medline via OVID
 
Medline is produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine, it contains bibliographic citations and author abstracts from more than 4,600 biomedical journals. An Online tutorial for Medline is also available. (1966+)
Tips: Complete your subject search in Medline and then click on the LIMIT button. "History of Medicine" is available as a limit on the Journal Subset scroll-down menu.
Alternatively, complete your subject search in Medline and combine with the MeSH terms "History of Medicine" or "History" (exploded)

Related Databases

America: History and Life
America: History and Life provides historical coverage of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Includes information abstracted from over 2,000 journals published worldwide.
Historical Abstracts
Historical Abstracts is your complete reference guide to the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life).
Sociological Abstracts
  Sociological Abstracts, published by CSA, abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Subject coverage includes: Demography and human biology; Health and medicine and law; Social psychology; Substance abuse and addiction. (1963+)
Scopus
Scopus is an abstract and citation database of research literature including peer-reviewed titles, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, patent records, scientific web pages, and seamless links to full text articles and other library resources. It is updated daily.
Web of Science
Web of Science, published by Thomson ISI, provides access to current and retrospective multidisciplinary information from approximately 8,700 journals. This database also provides a unique search method, cited reference searching. It is made up of a suite of databases, including Science Citation Index (1945+)
 
Open access database
Entrez - the life science search engine
  Entrez, produced by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), provides searching across a collection of Medical & Life Science databases similtaneously. Results in the sections PubMed/MEDLINE, Pub Med Central, Journals and the National Library of Medicine Catalogue would be most useful to this topic.