go to UNSW home page
UNSW logo UNSW Library Website Banner Picture

Contacts | Help
  
UNSW Library
Subject Guides
 
Art & Design
Arts & Social Sciences
Built Environment
Commerce & Economics
Engineering
Law
Medicine
Science
Subject Guides

History of Medicine image
History of Medicine Subject Guide


Organisations | Images & Multimedia

Images & Multimedia


Images & Atlases

Artificial Anatomy: Papier-mâché Anatomical Models
provided by Smithsonian National Museum of American History.  The collection based on a three-dimensional exhibition in the Museum which showcases the history and use of papier-mâché anatomical models, and, then focuses on their construction, conservation, and preservation.
The Gillies Archives of plastic surgery
provided by Queen Mary's Hospital, Sidcup, UK. The pictorial collection presents images based on the plastic surgeries of the face performed between 1917 and 1925 in the Hospital.
Images from the History of Medicine
  A database of the nearly 60,000 images in the National Library of Medicine's (NLM) historical prints and photographs collection.
Panadora Word Box
Word Origins by Pandora Word Box linking Medicine and Biology with Humanism, Arts and Sciences. The goal is to stress "Ideas in Words", to be entertaining and replace memorization by a better grasp of meanings. (Free Subscription) Note: start with the overview of History of Medicine, then click on "word search" for other words of your interests.
Philadelphia Historical Digital Image Library
  PHDIL include approximately 750 pre-1945 portraits of alumni, faculty, and trustees; scenes from Blockley and Children's Rehabilitation Hospitals and military hospitals; views of 19th and early 20th century anatomy/dissection labs; nurses in practice; as well as medical society and class portraits.
PICMAN database (Medicine)
The PICMAN database contains records of the pictures, manuscripts, oral history and printed posters collections of the Mitchell Library, Sir William Dixson Library and Dixson Galleries. Only SOME digitised pictures in the catalogue are open for viewing online, others are retained in the collection located at the State library of New South Wales, and only accessible in-person.
UCLA Louise Darling Biomedical Library: History & Special Collections
The Online Exhibits and Projects in the Library contains a few valuable collections including:
Various relevant topics under the Exhibits Online in Medicine and Natural History section (Note: scroll down towards the end of the page).
Wellcome Library: Medical Photographic Library (UK)
A databases of over 160,000 images from the Historical Collection in the Library, provided by The Wellcome Trust, UK.

Online Museums

AAO-HNS Vitual Museum
  The (American Academy of Otolaryngology--Head and Neck Surgery) virtual museum is an extension of the John Q. Adams Center for the History of Otolaryngology--Head and Neck Surgery. Valuable online exhibits.
Athena's Heir: Exploring Four Centuries of Canadian Science and Medicine
It introduces a few of the historical scientific instruments held in Canadian collections, and the stories they can tell. Provided by Virtual Museum Canada.
Dittrick Museum of Medical History
supported by the Dittrick Medical History Center. The collection ranges from the late 14th century to the 20th century. There are a small collection of digitised images available online and a section of Online Exhibits.
Disability History Museum
A theme-based, searchable collection of primary source materials that will help expand knowledge and understanding about the historical experience of people with disabilities in the United States.
Gateways to the History of Medicine at the University of Melborne
The Gateway consists of 5 sections web resources which include the Online Medical and Dental Museum Catalogues supported by the Johnstone-Need Medical History Unit, Univeristy of Melbourne. Some items in the catalogue contains digital images and are accessible online. The Australian Nursing History Project is devoted to the conservation of nursing historical resources, especially internet accessible resources.
Medicine and Madison Avenue Project
explores the complex relationships between modern medicine and modern advertising in US. It contains approximately 600 health-related advertisements printed in newspapers and magazines from the 1910s through the 1950s.
A project of the National Humanities Center, the Digital Scriptorium, the John W. Hartman Center, and the Rare Book, Manuscript, and Special Collections Library of Duke University.
Online Exhibitions and Digital Projects by NLM (US)
A collection of online exhibitions created by the Exhibition Program Team of the US National Library of Medicine, National Institutions of Health. The team "interprets the art and science of medicine throughout history, creating original exhibitions using artifacts, images, and audiovisuals." Selected exhibitions:
and many more....
Profiles in Science by NLM (US)
The US National Library of Medicine also has a collection of selected scientist profiles available for public access online.
VitualMed Online Medical Museums Directory
A list of Medical Museum in the internet selected by Vinod Scaria, the owner of VirtualMed - the internet medical gateway.
The Wellcome Library Exhibitions -- Online records
An Archive of exhibitions held in the Wellcome Library in digital formats. Online information of the current exhibitions are posted here as well.