go to UNSW home page
UNSW logo UNSW Library Website Banner Picture

Contacts | Help
  
UNSW Library
Subject Guides
 
Art & Design
Arts & Social Sciences
Built Environment
Commerce & Economics
Engineering
Law
Medicine
Science
Subject Guides

history of medicine image
History of Medicine Subject Guide



Journals

High Impact Journals
These journals have been selected using Journal Citation Reports (JCR), a resource tool for journal evaluation. According to JCR, these journals have a high impact on the literature of this particular subject area when compared with other journals in the field.
Social studies of science
  Print: PJ 500/S450 Vol. 5 (1975)-v.33, no.6 (Dec. 2003);
Fulltext available online from 1975 onward.
Perspectives in biology and medicine
  Print: MB Vol. 1 (1957/58)-v. 44, no. 4 (autumn 2001); S 610.5/124 Vol. 45, no. 1 (winter 2002)-v. 45, no. 4 (autumn 2002);
Fulltext available online from 1997 onward
The British journal for the philosophy of science
  Print: PJ 500/B500 Vol. 1 (1950/51)-v. 53, no. 4 (Dec. 2002);
Fulltext available online from Vol 1, no.2 (1950) onward
Studies in history and philosophy of science
Print: PJ 500/S925 Vol. 1 (1970)-v. 26, no. 4 (Dec. 1995);
Fulltext available online from Vol 26, no.1(1995) onward
Biology & Philosophy
S 574.0105/1 Vol. 1, no. 1 (1986)-v. 17, no. 5 (Nov. 2002);
Fulltext available online from Vol 12, no.1 (1997) onward
BMJ (History collection)
Fulltext available online from Feb 1998.
 
Other Useful E-journals
Social History of Medicine
Print: MB Vol. 3, no. 1 (Apr. 1990)-v. 15, no. 3 (Dec. 2002);
Fulltext available online from  Vol. 9, no.1 (1996) onward
Bulletin of the History of Medicine 
It is the official publication of the American Association for the History of Medicine and the Johns Hopkins Institute of the History of Medicine. Each issue spans the social, cultural, and scientific aspects of the history of medicine worldwide and includes reviews of recent books on medical history. Available via Project Muse, i.e. free access on campus only.
Journal of the History of Medicine and Allied Sciences 
It covers a broad range of topics in medical history and related subjects. Available via Project Muse, i.e. free access on campus only.
 
Open Access E-Journals
Hygiea Internationalis
 
The official journal of the International Network for the History of Public Health
History of medicine online
A peer-reviewed publication provided by the Priory Medical Journals.
Medical Journals Backfiles Digitization Project by the Wellcome Library
 
The Wellcome Trust, in partnership with the Joint Information Systems Committee (JISC), and the National Library of Medicine (NLM) are working together on a project to digitize the complete backfiles of a number of important and historically significant medical journals. These journals are also available free via PubMed Central

Journals held in the UNSW Library Collection

Specific Journal Title
Search the UNSW Library Resources Database by entering the journal title in the Keywords box, changing the drop-down menus from All Fields to Title and Material Type to Serials.
 
Journals by Subject Area
Search the UNSW Library Resources Database by entering appropriate subject terms in the Keywords box, changing the drop down menu from All Fields to Subject and Material Type to Serials.
 
Quick Link to History of Medicine journals held by UNSW Library.
 
Please note: The Library Resources Database will give you a list containing a brief display of each record. The record will tell you the location and which issues of the journal are held, as well as whether the journal has electronic access. Click on the Title and then "Electronic access" hyperlink to go directly through to the e-journal.

Journals not held in the UNSW Library

Search Serials in Australian Libraries (SIAL), by title for specific journals held in other Libraries. Location codes are listed in the Interlibrary Resource Sharing (ILRS) Directory
 
Please note: Staff and postgraduate students may request interlibrary loans for materials not held by UNSW Library