go to UNSW home page
UNSW logo UNSW Library Website Banner Picture

Contacts | Help
  
UNSW Library
Subject Guides
 
Art & Design
Arts & Social Sciences
Built Environment
Commerce & Economics
Engineering
Law
Medicine
Science
Subject Guides

History of Medicine image
History of Medicine Subject Guide



Internet Links


Medical Gateways to Historical Information

History of Biomedicine by Karolinska Institutet, Library
 
A list of resources related to History of Medicine from various sources.
History of the Health Sciences by VCU Libraries
A subject gateway provided by the Virginia Commonweath University Library, US.
MedHist
MedHist offers free access to a searchable catalogue of Internet sites and resources covering the history of medicine. MedHist is supported by BIOME, which is a free catalogue of hand-selected and evaluated Internet resources for students, lecturers, researchers and practitioners in the Health and Life Sciences, based at the University of Nottingham, UK.
Institute of the History of Medicine: electronic resources in the internet
Electronic Resources in History of Science, Medicine and Technology prepared by Christine Ruggere, Curator, Historical Collection.
Medical History On the Internet
created by A.J. Wright, MLS, Department of Anesthesiology Library, University of Alabama at Birmingham. Some useful links although the creator had stopped updating the page.

Resources on Specific Subjects

19th Century Scientific American Online (1845)
The website recorded the historical magazine published in 1845 is provided by the Electronic Historical Publications. It consists of Volume I, Volume II and Volume 3 - IXV online index database.
A Scandalously Short Introduction to the History of Pharmacy
by Geoff Miller F.P.S.
Anesthesia History Files
University of Alabama at Birmingham. Department of Anesthesiology Library.
Anesthesia and Pain History on the Internet
UAB (University of Alabama at Birmingham) Department of Anesthesiology
Cyber Museum of Neurosurgery
provided by American Association of Neurological Surgeons (AANS). The Museum displays materials readily available in the AANS Archives.
History of clinical trials: How it all began
published by HealthandAge.com. The website was created by the Novartis Foundation for Gerontology in 1998, sponsored by the Web-based Health Education Foundation (WHEF), an independent non-profit organization.
The History of Hepatitis C
by Janis & Friends Hepatitis Support Web Site
History of Malaria
provided by the Division of Laboratory Medicine at Royal Perth Hospital.
History of Pediatric Liver Transplantation
authored by Beth A Carter, MD et al. , emedicine.com
Jameslindlibrary.org
The James Lind Library has been created to introduce people to the characteristics of fair tests of treatments in health care.
The Literature, Arts, & Medicine Database
The database, produced and maintained by the Hippocrates Project at New York University School of Medicine, contains "annotated bibliography of prose, poetry, film, video and art which was developed to be a dynamic, accessible, comprehensive resource in Medical Humanities, for use in health/pre-health and liberal arts settings."
Whatever happened to Polio? (US)
created by the Smithsonian National Museum of American History. It outlines the epidemics of polio in America, including some historical photos.