go to UNSW home page
UNSW logo UNSW Library Website Banner Picture

Contacts | Help
  
UNSW Library
Subject Guides
 
Art & Design
Arts & Social Sciences
Built Environment
Commerce & Economics
Engineering
Law
Medicine
Science
Subject Guides

History of Medicine image
History of Medicine Subject Guide

Key ResourcesDatabases | Journals | Reference Resources | Internet Links


Reference Resources


Dictionaries

Biographical dictionary of medicine / Jessica Bendiner and Elmer Bendiner. 1990
PRINT only: MBREF610.922/13
Cambridge historical dictionary of disease
PRINT only: MBREF 616.009/3
Dictionary of medical eponyms / B.G. Firkin and J.A. Whitworth. 2nd ed. 1996.
  PRINT only: MBREF 610.3/102 C
Encyclopedia of medical history / Roderick E. McGrew. 1985.
PRINT only: MB 610.9/109
Medical discoveries: medical breakthroughs and the people who developed them / Bridget Travers and Fran Locher. 1997
  PRINT only: MBREF 610.9/136/(3)
Medical discoveries: who and when / Schmidt, J. E. 1959
  PRINT only: MBREF610.903/1
 
Note: Please check Quick Link  for more History of Medicine references held in the UNSW Library.

Other Reference Resources

Open Access reference materials in the Internet
A bibliography of Greek and Roman medicine from prehistory to the Byzantine world
Compiled by Robert Arnott, Centre for the History of Medicine, School of Medicine, University of Birmingham.
A Science Odessey - People and Discoveries
  See especially the topic categories "Human Behavior" and "Medicine and Health".
Anomalies and Curiosities of Medicine: by George M. Gould and Walter L. Pyle.
  Interesting coverage of anomolies and curiosities of medicine over time. E-text also available at Project Gutenberg website.
(CDC) The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (US)
CDC is a federal agency for protecting the health and safety of people, it provides a rich collection of health information for public access.  Selected resources in the CDC website includes:
De Humani Corporis Fabrica (On the Fabric of the Human Body)
  Andrea Vesalius' Renaissance anatomical atlas (1543, 1555)
Evolution of Modern Medicine by Sir William Osler
E-text. A series of lectures delivered at the Yales University on the Silliman Foundation in April 1913. Also Available at the Project Gutenberg website.
Hippocratic Oath
classical and modern versions
History of Medicine Digital Library  by John P. McGovern Histroical Collections & Research Center
Includes illustrated catalogs of surgical instruments, scanned historical texts, personal accounts, historical images.
John George Hohman's Pow-Wow  
A collection of mysterious and invaluable arts and remedies for man as well as animals. E-text.
John Snow on Cholera 
A biography, a prominent doctor in the history of public health, epidemiology and anaesthesiology.
Journal of the Plague Year by Daniel Defoe
An account of the Great Plague of London(1664-65), first published in 1722. Defoe describes the daily events in London city as it was besieged by bubonic plague.
Project Gutenberg publications
Project Gutenberg is the oldest producer of free electronic books (eBooks or etexts) on the Internet. Most of the Project Gutenberg eBooks are older literary works that are in the public domain in the United States.
Note: Search the database by LoCC (Library of Congress Class) and select categories start with medicine.
Selected historical publications from Project Gutenberg:
The Asclepion
The website presents the study of ancient medicine in a manner that is both accessible and useful to the general public and to students in the history of medicine courses at Indiana University Bloomington.
The Making of a Social Disease : Tuberculosis in Ninteenth Century France (c.1995)
by David Barnes. This is the University of California Press eScholarship Editions published by the eScholarship, the California Digital Library.
"We have conquered pain." A Celebration of Ether 1846-1996
  provided by Neurosurgery Services at the Massachusetts General Hospital and Harvard medical School.